New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r321 - Page 19

New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r321

Tutorials & Resources For Mappers

Moderator: Moderators

Sprang
Posts: 36
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 15:05

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by Sprang » 05 May 2011, 12:17

So, is this the reason why the terrain looks like this, when viewed not from up real close:
Attachments
1.jpg
(1.52 MiB) Downloaded 2 times
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4932
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by Beherith » 05 May 2011, 12:22

Make sure you dont have multiple versions of the smf or smt file or the map anywhere.
If in doubt, try a fresh install in a temp folder while renaming my documents/my games/spring to something else.

Does it look ok in SME when you reload the map in SME after saving?
0 x

Sprang
Posts: 36
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 15:05

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by Sprang » 06 May 2011, 18:54

Ok, I tried your suggestion, but there was no effect.

All maps looks okay in SME, however when I compile them with SME and play, the texture is always like that when not viewed from very near. Also, the minimap is odd.
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4932
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by Beherith » 06 May 2011, 19:14

Does it look ok in SME when you import the map in SME after compiling in SME?
0 x

Sprang
Posts: 36
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 15:05

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by Sprang » 06 May 2011, 22:44

Ahh, so that's what you meant! Yes, the map looks perfectly fine when in SME.

I'm using Windows 7 and a Radeon HD 6800 card.
0 x

Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by Frostregen » 06 May 2011, 23:29

I think its the ATI opengl driver issue again :-/

If I find time this weekend,
I try to add an option to use nvcompress.exe commandline tool for ati users. (Try because my visual studio won't let me compile c++ projects right now, which I need for nvidia-texture-tools/nvcompress)
This will likely be slower when compiling, but should create identical results regardless of drivers used.

There is already a workaround for ATI users:
Settings->SM2 Compile Settings
There you are able to specify .dds files for Minimap and Texturemap.
So you just need a way to turn your exported Texturemap.png into a .dds (DXT1 compressed, with mipmaps included)
0 x

Sprang
Posts: 36
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 15:05

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by Sprang » 07 May 2011, 22:11

Being slower isn't really a problem. It's lightning fast as it currently is, but at least I can wait longer too.

Cheers for your effort!


Editation: I spectated a game on this map, and saw it had this same bug - if you want to see how it looks in action. http://www.zero-k.info/Maps/DetailName? ... nySkirmish
0 x

Sprang
Posts: 36
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 15:05

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by Sprang » 13 May 2011, 22:36

I tried the workaround you suggested a few times, and for some reason, the minimap looked allright, but the map texture was still the same.
0 x

PTTG??
Posts: 17
Joined: 09 Apr 2008, 06:54

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by PTTG?? » 14 Jul 2011, 04:21

This is unusable!

First off, your bat file points to nowhere- there is no java.exe in system32! I had to rewrite it to this:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\java.exe" -classpath springmapedit.jar;lib_win32/gluegen-rt.jar;lib_win32/jogl.jar;lib_win32/swt.jar -Xms128m -Xmx1024m -Djava.library.path=lib_win32 application.SpringMapEditApplication

When I finally got it working, I had framerates that were listed as being in the hundreds or thousands, but in practice appeared to be less than 1. It freezes when I click on the landscape, such as when I want to edit it.

And if I don't click on anything, it freezes after a couple seconds.
0 x

User avatar
oksnoop2
Posts: 1207
Joined: 29 Aug 2009, 20:12

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by oksnoop2 » 14 Jul 2011, 05:47

I had this problem running in windows 7. Trying running it in a basic theme. IE turn aero off and stuff. My frames came back when i did this. I can explain in greater detail if need be.
0 x

PTTG??
Posts: 17
Joined: 09 Apr 2008, 06:54

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by PTTG?? » 14 Jul 2011, 06:01

oksnoop2 wrote:I had this problem running in windows 7. Trying running it in a basic theme. IE turn aero off and stuff. My frames came back when i did this. I can explain in greater detail if need be.
...

YOU FIXED IT.

I LOVE YOU.
0 x

User avatar
oksnoop2
Posts: 1207
Joined: 29 Aug 2009, 20:12

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by oksnoop2 » 14 Jul 2011, 08:42

Don't thank me.

Image

I'm just doing my job.
0 x

Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by Frostregen » 20 Jul 2011, 20:27

The default java setup installs a java exe into system32.
Maybe they changed this sometime inbetween.
(Normally java.exe should be in PATH anyway - but it is not consistently)
So there is no "one" way to find java.exe...

The aero/opengl problem is also a well known problem of vista/7.
http://saddam.ath.cx:8085/sme/wiki/FAQ# ... o3DDesktop
So do not blame me ;)

Greetings,
Frostregen
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by knorke » 10 Aug 2011, 18:21

when painting typemaps, does the Brush Strength correspond to the terrain number as used in the .smd?

[TERRAINTYPE0]
{
name=bla;
hardness=9000;
}

[TERRAINTYPE25]
{
name=blub;
hardness=9001;
}
0 x

Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by Frostregen » 12 Aug 2011, 20:59

I guess you figured it already out by yourself: yes

Your problem may be:
I added only distinct colors for the first 9 values (strength 1-10).
The rest is just a gradient from black to red, so it may be difficult to spot.

Greetings,
Frostregen
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by knorke » 20 Sep 2011, 18:28

the prefabs things are possibly quite nice for making roads.
But how do you build stuff on higher levels like on this picture: http://frostregen.darkstars.co.uk/springedit43.jpg ?
ie there is a "upwards ramp" piece but no "high road" blocks, only "flat road."

/fakeedit:
just found it, one has to use BrushStrength.
strange thing is if you put it >5 prefabs with slopes (ramps) become completly flat?

Something else:
When I try to adjust brush size it goes like this:

########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 64x64: 1 ms
Done scaling Texture from 1024x512 to 1024x512: 7 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 1024x512 to 64x32: 1 ms
Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 512x512: 3 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 64x64: 1 ms
Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 512x512: 3 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 744x744: 462 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 856x856: 604 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 976x976: 791 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 1088x1088: 971 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 1208x1208: 1202 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 1440x1440: 1652 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 1560x1560: 1883 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 1792x1792: 2484 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2024x2024: 3252 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2264x2264: 3954 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2376x2376: 5088 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2616x2616: 5314 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2728x2728: 6703 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2848x2848: 8595 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2848x2848: 6858 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2848x2848: 7096 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2728x2728: 6256 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2616x2616: 5584 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2496x2496: 5783 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2376x2376: 5088 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2264x2264: 4224 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2144x2144: 3605 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 2024x2024: 3126 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 1912x1912: 2889 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 1792x1792: 2457 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 1680x1680: 2140 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 1560x1560: 1878 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 1440x1440: 1623 ms
########## Done scaling Texture from 512x512 to 1328x1328: 1386 ms

It takes forever and there is no way to cancel it, but crtl-c which closes the program.
0 x

Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by Frostregen » 21 Sep 2011, 22:58

@knorke:
level > 5:
Each prefab set has a settings file "category.tdf"
There is a Height variable, which tells SME the height of one prefab tile.
This is set to 0.25 (for default prefab sets), which explains the total of 4 available levels.
You could change this value, but you would need to change the LevelOverlap value too, to make tiles from adjacent heightlevels fit to each other. (This is needed to fit an upwards road ramp in level 0 to a flat road piece on level 1).

brushsize problem:
This is a feature/bug ;)
It immediately scales the brushes on every change of the slider.
If you move it from 10 to 500, it calculates each single step between 10 to 500, which takes extremely long for the higher sizes.
A fix would be if I would actually do the scaling only if the value does not change for some seconds.
In the meantime, just do not move the slider directly, but click to the left/right of it. This skips like 10 steps at once, which is way faster, especially at high brushsizes. (I did not feel like fixing this yet, because prefabs this large did not make much sense up to now. Especially once you set the prefab size, you will not change it anymore for the whole map)
(Actually this is not all too slow. scaling from 512x512 to 2848x2848 on my pc takes 338ms in SME, and nearly 3 seconds in gimp ;) )

Hope this helps,
Frostregen
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by knorke » 22 Sep 2011, 02:46

ok, makes sense.
more questions:
is the waterlevel preview correct to what it will look ingame?
it always seems to be lower ingame but maybe i am fooled.

is loading/importing maps in the "Spring SM2" lossless?
I think not because maps get compressed with tiling textures etc?
So it is probally better to always work from the original sourcefiles?

there should be a version number in the program. maybe there is but i can not find it.

After "working" with it more I think SME is quite good actually, similar to the editor from C&C Generals maybe which also had its problems.
Including some better textures would work wonders, if you look around springfiles.com there are many maps with the default textures which look quite terrible.

A few times the camera was moving in random directions despite no keys being pressed. Sometimes I was able to stop it by buttonmashing space + L and click menus but most times the map floated away from me :shock: (and i was left with a completly blue screen)
0 x

User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4342
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by hoijui » 22 Sep 2011, 09:47

GUI libraries usually have measures to solve this problem (in s standard way). SWING does, and i am pretty sure that SWT would have that too. You either have to listen to different events, or check a special property of the event, which might be called something like isAdjusting. you then start the actual value change (in this case, rescaling) only after the value is not adjusting anymore/the user stopped dragging the slider. This is more simple (needs no timer or the like), standard (and thus more intuitive) and it leaves the user all the flexibility. if he wants to scale big time at once, he just drags the slider (as knorke did) and it scales only once. if he wants to scale in little steps, he can focus the slider, and then use the keyboard arrows.
0 x

Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r1335

Post by Frostregen » 22 Sep 2011, 22:33

I think the waterlevel may differ slightly, because i just draw the plane exactly at specified height value, but I do not know if spring does it slightly different.

Yes Spring SM2 is lossy. but only because it stores the texture in DXT1 compressed format. The tiling itself does not produce any losses.
So yes, store the files in original sourcefile mode, and only export to sm2 when compiling a final map for spring.

Currently there is no version number, but I'll check out a way to integrate it automatically somehow.
Maybe this weekend I'll do some quick fixes.

If you have better textures, I would be glad to include them :)

Camera movement:
Maybe some key-up event got lost, so it thought the key was still pressed?
In this case it should help to just press all of the arrow keys once.

@hoijui:
I will check out if SWT provides some better suited event than "value changed".
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Map Tutorials & Resources”