New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r321 - Page 14

New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r321

Tutorials & Resources For Mappers

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
KaiserJ
Community Representative
Posts: 3113
Joined: 08 Sep 2008, 22:59

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r844

Post by KaiserJ » 23 Sep 2009, 18:52

Image

i should have all of my tiles in the form you'd like by the end of the week, latest probably next monday.
0 x

User avatar
kburts
Posts: 134
Joined: 22 Mar 2009, 00:36

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r844

Post by kburts » 29 Sep 2009, 06:03

thanks, i'm just dropping bye, good to see you put in that good ole feature i wanted :D
0 x

User avatar
PtaQ
Posts: 158
Joined: 15 Sep 2009, 10:40

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r844

Post by PtaQ » 30 Sep 2009, 17:53

While instaling i always get the following problem:

Image

I have jogl and swt, so I dont know what makes the bug.
0 x

Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r844

Post by Frostregen » 30 Sep 2009, 20:21

What Windows version are you using?

Maybe this helps:
http://springrts.com/phpbb/viewtopic.ph ... 95#p359395

-Frostregen
0 x

User avatar
BrainDamage
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1164
Joined: 25 Sep 2006, 13:56

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r844

Post by BrainDamage » 07 Oct 2009, 23:49

what is the username to fetch from your svn repo? the one on darkstars only contains 6 revisions

edit: got small exception while loading:

bash start_lin_x64.sh
8-ott-2009 0.43.23 com.sun.corba.se.impl.ior.IORImpl getProfile
AVVERTENZA: "IOP00511201: (INV_OBJREF) IOR must have at least one IIOP profile"
org.omg.CORBA.INV_OBJREF: vmcid: SUN minor code: 1201 completed: No
at com.sun.corba.se.impl.logging.IORSystemException.iorMustHaveIiopProfile(IORSystemException.java:473)
at com.sun.corba.se.impl.logging.IORSystemException.iorMustHaveIiopProfile(IORSystemException.java:495)
at com.sun.corba.se.impl.ior.IORImpl.getProfile(IORImpl.java:334)
at com.sun.corba.se.impl.encoding.CDRInputStream_1_0.read_Object(CDRInputStream_1_0.java:787)
at com.sun.corba.se.impl.encoding.CDRInputStream_1_0.read_Object(CDRInputStream_1_0.java:761)
at com.sun.corba.se.impl.encoding.CDRInputStream.read_Object(CDRInputStream.java:231)
at com.sun.corba.se.impl.resolver.INSURLOperationImpl.getIORFromString(INSURLOperationImpl.java:120)
at com.sun.corba.se.impl.resolver.INSURLOperationImpl.operate(INSURLOperationImpl.java:130)
at com.sun.corba.se.impl.orb.ORBImpl.string_to_object(ORBImpl.java:836)
at org.GNOME.Accessibility.AccessUtil.getRegistryObject(AccessUtil.java:143)
at org.GNOME.Accessibility.JavaBridge.registerApplication(JavaBridge.java:1099)
at org.GNOME.Accessibility.JavaBridge.<init>(JavaBridge.java:364)
at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.java:57)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.java:45)
at java.lang.reflect.Constructor.newInstance(Constructor.java:532)
at java.lang.Class.newInstance0(Class.java:372)
at java.lang.Class.newInstance(Class.java:325)
at java.awt.Toolkit.loadAssistiveTechnologies(Toolkit.java:786)
at java.awt.Toolkit.getDefaultToolkit(Toolkit.java:875)
at application.SpringMapEditApplication.main(SpringMapEditApplication.java:45)

and:
** (SWT:13550): CRITICAL **: giop_thread_request_push: assertion `tdata != NULL' failed

none of them critical since the program works, but the tools window hasn't got any decoration ( which makes it kinda frustrating )
0 x

Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r844

Post by Frostregen » 08 Oct 2009, 08:26

About the Error:
After searching quite a bit, this error might have to do with folder permissions.
Could you try to check if your current user has permissions to read/write its own directory?
Alternatively, check if it runs with root privileges.

Are you using Sun jvm?


About SVN:
Anonymous access to my repository should work now. Was a configuration issue on my side.

The darkstars repository just contains the release codebase.
So currently it is quite outdated.
0 x

User avatar
BrainDamage
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1164
Joined: 25 Sep 2006, 13:56

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r844

Post by BrainDamage » 08 Oct 2009, 21:14

thanks for fixing the svn

yes, I checked I have RW permissions, the java I use is:

java -version
java version "1.6.0_0"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.4.1) (6b14-1.4.1)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 14.0-b08, mixed mode)
0 x

Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r844

Post by Frostregen » 08 Oct 2009, 22:01

Hmm, if it is possible, could you test with Sun's JRE?
Just a local unpack + adjusting the startup script?

Since this is some error deep inside Java, it may be OpenJDK...


EDIT:

NEW RELEASE: r893

-added Texture scaling progress bar
-new prefab.tdf setting: LevelOverlap. Needs to be adjusted to something else than 0, if your tiles do not meet at "Level1, Height1" and "Level2, Height0"
-added UnAlign prefab
-added brush height alignment. (brushStrength now refers to level instead of real height)
-added brush mirror
-added brush rotate
-added option to keep brushes inside RAM again. (may be switched on/off via keepBruhesInRam in settings.cfg)
-improved texture/pattern scaling speed
-increased GUI maxheight to 500
-added Prefab alignment (horiz/vert)
-added Prefabs
-made GUI animation an option (settings.cfg: animateGUI)
-added support for non square brushes/textures
-unloading last used BrushData on getScaledChild() now.


NEW RELEASE: r910

-"save All" defaults to 16bit PNG for heightmap now. (instead of 16bit RAW+SH)
-added heightmap saving 16bit PNG
-added heightmap loading of PNG and other formats
-upgraded most brush patterns to 16bit
-added 16bit PNG support to brush patterns
0 x

imbaczek
Posts: 3629
Joined: 22 Aug 2006, 16:19

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r911

Post by imbaczek » 13 Oct 2009, 14:53

what is needed is support for several texture tiles under one texture brush, so you can easily avoid obvious tiling. naturally it requires several tiled textures...
0 x

Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by Frostregen » 13 Oct 2009, 17:35

Do you have an example (image)? I don't really understand what you need O:-)


Small update: r913

-don't delete .smd on export to sm2, as long as we do not handle it anyway...
-Allow New Maps up tp 64x64 (Will crash with "out of memory" without 64bit support and enough RAM. Still allows for strips (e.g. 64x8) on 32bit systems)
0 x

imbaczek
Posts: 3629
Joined: 22 Aug 2006, 16:19

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by imbaczek » 13 Oct 2009, 20:17

yeah, i've got plenty, but they are entirely from starcraft's map editor ;p see e.g.

Image

all those different gray plate tiles are a single terrain type. my request is to make a texture tool that can place multiple textures at random at a tile instead of blitting always the same image.
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20669
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by AF » 14 Oct 2009, 01:31

Suggestions:
  • An overhead camera, that behaves like the one in spring
  • A minimap in the corner
  • Use xml instead of tdf for the prefab components
  • Add a reload button for prefabs
  • The 128x128 prefab tiles and the 64x64 tiles have the same filenames, I'd like to have both available at the same time if possible
  • Show the prefab to be placed under the mouse translucent so you can see what it would do if you clicked
  • Grid overlay
  • Merge all windows into a single window with toolbars and panels
  • Save as a zip file
What potential is there for implementing a Swing UI other than your personal experience?
0 x

Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by Frostregen » 17 Oct 2009, 14:32

@imbaczek:
I understand (used that editor myself about 10 years ago to create some RPG style maps. Unit Shops, character developement, etc.).

This will be possible,
but it would require a setup-file for each brushtexture,
where you can specify which textures are used for given brush,
including the probability of each texture appearing.

Maybe it would be better to treat this as prefabs:
-Grid alignment already implemented
-Setup file already existing
-Could be used for random heightmap selection too
-Does not add complexity to simple texture adding

@AF:
Quite a bunch ;)

-Cam: I'm thinking about a way to externalize camera controls,
so each user may create one he likes best.

-Minimap: You get lost in your own map? :)
It would be no problem. Still, could you give me an idea, why you need this?

-xml/tdf: Why?
Everyone using spring knows about tdf. XML would just add unnecessary complexity, especially for manual-editing.
If you need a java tdf parser, I could make mine more robust (comments are not supported right now) and you could just use it.
But anyway, just explain why you want it. I do not know everything ;)

-Prefab Reload: Good idea, will be useful for prefab creators. (Will be added for patterns and textures too)

-128x128 + 64x64: This will be implemented after adding categories. (Right now it would be confusing). You could help yourself now by doing a bulk rename, together with search&replace inside the tdf's.

-Prefab Preview: This is already on my todo-list.
But not very high priority, as it is much work, for low gain. -> Just place it on your map. If it was wrong, rotate and place again. You do not destroy anything thanks to grid alignment.

-Grid overlay: Might be useful, will be added. (Keeps you from manually counting distances with brush). Additionally a simple brush position output would be good too. (Just X/Y expressed in aligned tiles)

-Window merge:
While it may look nice, it has also other implications:
While some GUI component is beeing used, all other GUI components stop doing their work. (If you open a pulldown menu, the rendering window pauses. If you grab a slider and move it: no updates to render window. E.g.: You could not move the waterheight slider and have the waterplane updated in realtime)

But as the GUI will change anyway, I'll re-investigate those issues.

-Save as zip:
For SM2 export this does not make sense right now, as you would need to manually add the .smd and possible features afterwards anyway.
What else could you mean?
---
I use a simple batchfile for this process:

Code: Select all

F:\Programme\7-Zip\7z a -r -mx9 -t7z -ms=off DistrictWar_v2.sd7 maps
move /Y DistrictWar_v2.sd7 E:\Games\Spring\maps\DistrictWar_v2.sd7
-Swing:
Pro:
1. Java only, no native dll/so

Con:
1. OpenGL uses a native dll/so anyway. (kills Pro 1.)

Besides those arguments, it would indeed be possible to switch the GUI Framework. But it is work without any gain. So why?
If you really need this, I could try to fully separate GUI & functionality, so _you_ could add a Swing gui. (Would reside in same .jar, just another startup class)

Do not take those questions offensive. I just need those answers to motivate myself ;)

-Frostregen
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20669
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by AF » 19 Oct 2009, 18:52

I know a lot of swing UI APIs and such. I can fix UI issues and help!!!
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22298
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by smoth » 21 Oct 2009, 22:54

Where do I get the jre for 64 bit machines? When I go through their site they take me to some fucking page about IE.
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22298
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by smoth » 21 Oct 2009, 23:05

.....\Spring\springmapedit_913>C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java.exe -classpa
th springmapedit.jar;lib_win64/gluegen-rt.jar;lib_win64/jogl.jar;lib_win64/swt.j
ar -Xms128m -Xmx1024m -Djava.library.path=lib_win64 application.SpringMapEditApp
lication
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: Cannot load 64-bit SW
T libraries on 32-bit JVM
at org.eclipse.swt.internal.Library.loadLibrary(Library.java:172)
at org.eclipse.swt.internal.Library.loadLibrary(Library.java:151)
at org.eclipse.swt.internal.C.<clinit>(C.java:21)
at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:130)
at frontend.gui.SpringMapEditGUI.<init>(SpringMapEditGUI.java:113)
at application.SpringMapEditApplication.main(SpringMapEditApplication.ja
va:61)

.....\Spring\springmapedit_913>pause
Press any key to continue . . .
when I run the 64bit version

what do I do with the prefabs?
0 x

Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by Frostregen » 21 Oct 2009, 23:44

smoth wrote:Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: Cannot load 64-bit SW
T libraries on 32-bit JVM
This means you are still using the 32bit jvm ;)

java -version
should show you which version is used.

JRE 64bit:
https://cds.sun.com/is-bin/INTERSHOP.en ... _Developer
Select Windows x64.

Did you install both versions? 32bit and 64bit?

Prefabs are placed into SME/prefabs.
Just look here:
http://saddam.ath.cx:8085/sme/wiki/Tuto ... ingPrefabs
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20669
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by AF » 22 Oct 2009, 00:38

64bit JRE + 32bit Unitsync == eurgh

For the moment until win64 builds of sprign are pushed out at release, use a 32bit Java runtime and 32bit versions of spring java tools
0 x

User avatar
PtaQ
Posts: 158
Joined: 15 Sep 2009, 10:40

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by PtaQ » 05 Nov 2009, 15:49

What Windows version are you using?

Maybe this helps:
viewtopic.php?p=359395#p359395

-Frostregen

About the bug. I have just opened the bat file witch xp compatibility settings (don't rly know how its called in English :P) U can find it in the aplication settings menu.
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22298
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by smoth » 01 Dec 2009, 10:47

problems.

First:
Prefabs are stored all in the base directory. This causes issues with clutter and sorting our stuff out.

Second:
Only one prefab per tdf means we have a lot of files to edit.

instead of
tdf file wrote:[PREFAB]
{
Name=Ramp Up NE;
Category=test;
Heightmap=heightmap021.png;
Texturemap=texturemap021.png;
Featuremap=features1.fmf;
Height=0.5;
LevelOverlap=0.04;
}
Would it be possible to get the following thusly:
+ The name would actually be the texture name: "Ramp Up NE_tex.png"
+ the category would be the subdirectory it is stored in.
+ the heightmap would be: "Ramp Up NE_height.png"
+ texturemap already got it...
+ featuremap: "Ramp Up NE.fmf", If none is found it doesn't bother
+ height would be set in the ui but default to what you already have.
+ same as height set in ui.


that way we could merely place files in a directory and run sme
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Map Tutorials & Resources”

cron