New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r321 - Page 15

New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r321

Tutorials & Resources For Mappers

Moderator: Moderators

Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by Frostregen »

1. Makes sense. (I think I left it out on purpose for easy testing stuff back then)

2. This was my first approach,
but it is quite limiting:
-does not allow reuse of heightmap/texturemap/featuremap

Main problem is Height and LevelOverlap:
Those values are valid for a single batch of tiles only. Each and every different tileset NEEDS those values adjusted differently.

An additional Height-Modifier in GUI could be added though.

How long does it take to actually create a useful prefab compared to creating this file by copy&paste&editing 3 lines?


Edit:
Maybe in combination with category subdirectories this could be done:
-One .tdf with Height/LevelOverlap per directory, which is used for all hmap/texmap/fmaps inside this dir.
Still I do not like this limitation somehow :-/
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by Beherith »

After about 512 features, the menu render stops.
Image

Also, 3do feature support would be awesome:

Code: Select all

java.io.IOException: .S3O load: Did not find magic "Spring unit" marker
        at frontend.render.features.FeatureLoader.loadHeader(FeatureLoader.java:
204)
        at frontend.render.features.FeatureLoader.loadFeature(FeatureLoader.java
:81)
        at frontend.render.features.FeatureManager.loadFeature(FeatureManager.ja
va:155)
        at frontend.render.MapRenderer.getFeatureImageData(MapRenderer.java:2172
)
        at frontend.gui.FeatureSelectionDialog.animate(FeatureSelectionDialog.ja
va:169)
        at frontend.gui.SpringMapEditDialog.animate(SpringMapEditDialog.java:184
7)
        at frontend.gui.SpringMapEditGUI.run(SpringMapEditGUI.java:686)
        at application.SpringMapEditApplication.main(SpringMapEditApplication.ja
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by smoth »

Frostregen wrote:How long does it take to actually create a useful prefab compared to creating this file by copy&paste&editing 3 lines?
The tdf creation is the tedious part. photoshop+slices means I can generate tile images within seconds after I have made the prefabs.

the fact that they are all stored right now in a common dir also causes conflict issues.
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by smoth »

another bug, sme rejects a tdf with whitespace...

so say:

Description = I like to punch babies;

will make the tdf invalid in sme.
User avatar
Jonny5isalivetm
Posts: 186
Joined: 04 Jul 2006, 02:43

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by Jonny5isalivetm »

Hi folks im running windows 7 64 and when i click on the "start_win64.bat" bad things happen..
Attachments
fail.jpg
(40.84 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
User avatar
Beherith
Posts: 5145
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by Beherith »

edit .bat file to contain the path to java.exe (yes you need java installed)

Code: Select all

%WINDIR%\system32\java.exe -classpath springmapedit.jar;lib_win64/gluegen-rt.jar;lib_win64/jogl.jar;lib_win64/swt.jar -Xms128m -Xmx1024m -Djava.library.path=lib_win64 application.SpringMapEditApplication
User avatar
Jonny5isalivetm
Posts: 186
Joined: 04 Jul 2006, 02:43

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by Jonny5isalivetm »

cheers behe yea java is installed

Jonny
erandur
Posts: 9
Joined: 13 Jan 2010, 16:14

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by erandur »

I fixed the "can't find java.exe" problem by just copy/pasting java.exe to system32. :) Probably not the best way to fix it, but it works...
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by AF »

ahk thats very bad

What you need to do is put the folder java is in on the end of your pATH variable

Didnt anybody bother to google this?!
User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by TradeMark »

oh no, another path-variable-a-must -program

windows != linux, when do you learn that guys... dont expect windows users know how to do anything else than copy/move files
User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6240
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by FLOZi »

I thought Java added itself to PATH when it installs? Maybe its only the jdk that does that. :(
User avatar
KaiserJ
Community Representative
Posts: 3113
Joined: 08 Sep 2008, 22:59

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by KaiserJ »

one funny thing i've noticed using SME on vista

if i dont have "classic windows" style set, it loads up and seems to be rendering using my graphics card (landscape looks nice) but it doesnt respond or refresh... unable to change camera angle etc.

if i start it in classic mode, it works normally, but the rendering looks pretty crappy, i think its using my software renderer.

so yeah; if anyone failed to get it to work on vista; try classic mode.

and where is the defenition for what rendering method to use; what file is it hidden in?
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by AF »

Vista + SME + Aero == uber slowness freezing
User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by TradeMark »

SME + nothing = uber slowness freezing
User avatar
KaiserJ
Community Representative
Posts: 3113
Joined: 08 Sep 2008, 22:59

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by KaiserJ »

did you try classic windows style?
Frostregen
Posts: 179
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 00:52

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by Frostregen »

Aero sucks quite massive fps from SME, this is true.

Please supply some more information about cpu/ram/gfxcard/mapsize/fps, rather than just "its slow".

And what about freezing? When, where?
(There is a progress bar sometimes within the black commandline)

Currently are exams again, so very little love for SME, but it will be worked on again definitely.
User avatar
Jazcash
Posts: 5309
Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 17:39

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by Jazcash »

AF wrote:Vista + SME + Aero == uber slowness freezing
Vista = Uber slowness freezing.
User avatar
SirArtturi
Posts: 1164
Joined: 23 Jan 2008, 18:29

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by SirArtturi »

Are you still developing this program?

I'd like add few suggestions which would increase the usability and easiness a lot.

1. Not only that SME featureplacer is very picky about tdfs, it actually shouldnt be depended of tdfs at all... (At least add lua support)
2. Featureplacer rotation is not working
3. Feature deleter or eraser could be handy (Actually more than handy, IT IS CRUCIAL, because if you miss it, then its fail and you need to do the whole thing again)
4. Save map tool should export pure rgb image, feature map so to say in png or bmp format. Not .fmf - What is that anyway? What can I do with it?
5. Maybe you could add Compiling options/panel and use Beherits latest mapconv and maybe implementation of Das Bruces GUI for it.
http://springrts.com/phpbb/viewtopic.ph ... 8&start=60
SeanHeron
Engines Of War Developer
Posts: 614
Joined: 09 Jun 2005, 23:39

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by SeanHeron »

On 1-3: Features, it could be argued, are perhaps addressed better in other frameworks anyhow... Sure it's nice to have all in one functionality, and I'm not trying to say it wouldn't be good to add/improve the things your saying SirArturri. But I'd argue that the time may be better spent on other functionality, since "after compile" feature editing is a pretty big bonus (and adding that kind of functionality would require some kind of standard between Worldbuilder and FeaturePlacer, I would have thought).

So I would suggest going for 4+5 first :).
User avatar
Erik
Posts: 283
Joined: 20 Aug 2009, 20:49

Re: New Mapping Tool - "SpringMapEdit" - r913

Post by Erik »

How to get a map to work in Spring?
I exported it into the map folder but it said sth about missing archieves? What else do i have to do?
Post Reply

Return to “Map Tutorials & Resources”