P.U.R.E. 0.55 - Page 60

P.U.R.E. 0.55

WolfeGames and projects headed by Argh.

Moderators: Moderators, Content Developer

Locked
User avatar
clericvash
Posts: 1394
Joined: 05 Oct 2004, 01:05

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by clericvash » 26 Aug 2008, 19:21

Maybe have it semi transparent when units are not selected, so you know whos units are whos.
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by Argh » 26 Aug 2008, 19:28

Maybe have it semi transparent when units are not selected, so you know whos units are whos.
That's a good idea- cut down the alpha levels quite a lot for stuff that isn't selected. I'll do that.
Looks cool too, having constantly glowing units sounds a bit wierd in theory but I reckon this would look quite nice and be very practical once you got used to it.
Well, basically, I wanted to solve the "I can't see my soldiers" problem that beta-testers reported, when zoomed out. The Resistance troops are quite small, and that makes them a bit hard to see against a terrain, no matter how much teamcolor I put on them (I tried teamcolor on the helmets, etc., but it just looked horrible, tbh).

I've already written the option to do either selected or all the time, and they'll cancel each other out, so that you can't accidentally activate both at once. As I said, that was trivial, and gives people a choice. And of course, people can turn this stuff completely off, if they wanna.

The next thing on my list is a new way of displaying unit health / build-status, etc., that I've been thinking about for awhile.
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14571
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by Forboding Angel » 26 Aug 2008, 19:48

Excellent work argh. Looking very spiffy. I'm glad you took the time to look into that code for me, cause I was really hoping to see it in pure.

/me does happiiiee dance

And yes, lot of transparency on units not selected would be 100% JAWSOME.
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by Argh » 26 Aug 2008, 19:55

I'm glad you took the time to look into that code for me, cause I was really hoping to see it in pure.
For the record, that's not "that code" at all. I did a complete re-write from scratch, after playing with it a bit and realizing that it was never going to be satisfactory.
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14571
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by Forboding Angel » 26 Aug 2008, 19:56

Hey, that's fine with me :-) Nice to see it done better-er from the get go tbh.
0 x

User avatar
clericvash
Posts: 1394
Joined: 05 Oct 2004, 01:05

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by clericvash » 26 Aug 2008, 21:53

Woo you are using one of my ideas, i rule lol, and i will feel just that bit more cool when i play it lmao.
0 x

Google_Frog
Moderator
Posts: 2434
Joined: 12 Oct 2007, 09:24

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by Google_Frog » 27 Aug 2008, 09:05

Could you make the resource bar display input and output not just net gain? Net gain isn't particularly useful because there's no way to see what level your economy is at and if both E and M are being stalled you can't see which one is being stalled the most.
0 x

User avatar
1v0ry_k1ng
Posts: 4656
Joined: 10 Mar 2006, 10:24

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by 1v0ry_k1ng » 27 Aug 2008, 10:13

that looks pretty damn sweet

when the balance tests begin i reckon you want to start small and make sure combat shells/resistance infantry combat is interesting and fun, then build up from there. in the last publicly released version combat shells were absolutely useless.
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20667
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by AF » 27 Aug 2008, 10:21

Google_Frog wrote:Could you make the resource bar display input and output not just net gain? Net gain isn't particularly useful because there's no way to see what level your economy is at and if both E and M are being stalled you can't see which one is being stalled the most.
omg I did not know this, please fix
0 x

User avatar
KDR_11k
Game Developer
Posts: 8293
Joined: 25 Jun 2006, 08:44

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by KDR_11k » 27 Aug 2008, 11:18

With that huge res bar I was expecting a list so detailled that you can see production by unit type...
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by Argh » 27 Aug 2008, 18:01

Could you make the resource bar display input and output not just net gain? Net gain isn't particularly useful because there's no way to see what level your economy is at and if both E and M are being stalled you can't see which one is being stalled the most.
Done, it's in the next beta. Sorry, I just plain forgot about it, adding it was trivial. Now it displays net and real income like this: -10 / 100, so that you know that you're using 110, for example.

Also about halfway done with a new way of showing unit status- health, build, etc., using some new ideas. I could show a screen, but it still looks pretty crude atm. When it's presentable, I'll put up some shots.
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by Argh » 28 Aug 2008, 23:50

P.U.R.E. RC1 has been sent to the beta-testers.

Oh, and 1v0ry_k1ng... you are being sent this beta. Have fun, and send me feedback.
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by Argh » 29 Aug 2008, 06:29

Got a new feature done today- a different way of displaying unit status.

There are a lot of different ways to skin this cat, of course. I tried doing some fancy texture-coordinate stuff and some other things, and it looked awesome up close, but terrible at a distance.

So, long story short, after a lot of experimentation, I settled on this:

Image
Up close.
Image
Far away.

Both shots are at actual testing resolution, and like most things in my UI, it all sizes dynamically. So it's not huge, even if you're at a lower resolution, basically.
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20667
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by AF » 29 Aug 2008, 10:39

What do the little letters mean? Where possible could you replace them with symbols so no explanation is required?
0 x

User avatar
clericvash
Posts: 1394
Joined: 05 Oct 2004, 01:05

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by clericvash » 29 Aug 2008, 12:57

To be honest i don't really like that way of display it.
0 x

User avatar
Guessmyname
Posts: 3301
Joined: 28 Apr 2005, 21:07

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by Guessmyname » 29 Aug 2008, 14:35

If you made the bars 2-3 times wider, that would be better. Given that they provide info at a glance, the wider the bar the more accurate the information it can give you
0 x

Warlord Zsinj
Imperial Winter Developer
Posts: 3742
Joined: 24 Aug 2004, 08:59

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by Warlord Zsinj » 29 Aug 2008, 14:50

I'd also say that from a minimalist point of view, you don't need the 'status' text there, as it's self-evident, and just taking up space.
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20667
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by AF » 29 Aug 2008, 15:54

I would suggest onyl showing those bars thata re relevant, such as only showing construction or capture when there si an ongoing process that has started. But I know you prefer strict rigid GUIs Argh. For an example of what I mean look at JKs health bar widget which only shows certain bars within the right context so as nto to clutter the screen with unnecessary bars.
0 x

User avatar
rattle
Damned Developer
Posts: 8278
Joined: 01 Jun 2006, 13:15

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by rattle » 29 Aug 2008, 19:08

I can hardly read the text on your info panel. White on gray isn't the best idea.
0 x

User avatar
Argh
Posts: 10920
Joined: 21 Feb 2005, 03:38

Re: P.U.R.E. 0.55

Post by Argh » 29 Aug 2008, 20:05

I'll fix the contrast and ditch the letters, and go for a symbolic approach (little "jewel" boxes with differentiated color ranges), and make the bars as wide as will fit into the native resolution of the background- those are all good ideas. Lemme get that done and re-code the spacing, etc, and see how it feels.
0 x

Locked

Return to “Argh's Projects”