Page 1 of 1

Can't Get Unit To Speak

Posted: 11 Aug 2011, 17:16
by Machinesrocks
I've encountered another problem that I cannot move past. My unit won't play the sounds I tell it to. First of all, my sound is in the correct directory, "sounds." Second, I'm not sure if I should have done this, but I have also tried putting the sound in "sounds.lua." Here is my current code for the sound:

Code: Select all

sounds = {
select = {
    { file = 'Gt_SEL_3.wav', volume = 2.0 },
  },
}
This is within my unitdefs.

Thanks for your time. 8)

Re: Can't Get Unit To Speak

Posted: 12 Aug 2011, 07:32
by knorke
This works for me, in the unitDef:

Code: Select all

  sounds			= {
	  select = {
	"yea", --this is sounds\yea.wav
	},
	  ok = {
	"samples/fire.ogg", --this is sounds\samples\fire.ogg
	},
  },
Did not need to use sounds.lua for that.

Re: Can't Get Unit To Speak

Posted: 12 Aug 2011, 22:24
by Machinesrocks
Thanks a bunch, it works.

How would I raise its volume though?

Re: Can't Get Unit To Speak

Posted: 19 Dec 2011, 11:41
by Cheesecan
Dabo, zugzug

Re: Can't Get Unit To Speak

Posted: 19 Dec 2011, 17:23
by knorke
Machinesrocks wrote:How would I raise its volume though?
http://springrts.com/wiki/Units-UnitDefs#sounds
see methode 3

Re: Can't Get Unit To Speak

Posted: 19 Dec 2011, 18:53
by Beherith
How is the Machines port coming along? Are you using the original models (I'll admit, I tried to rip them from its binary, with 0 success :( ) or remakes?

Re: Can't Get Unit To Speak

Posted: 19 Dec 2011, 18:57
by knorke
Last visited: Thu Nov 10, 2011
But he/they have a site http://dev.wiredforwar.org/ with links to svn & youtube.