Air absorption in spring - Page 3

Air absorption in spring

Discuss sound effects, game music, and the creation thereof.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by hoijui »

hello??
waers mai reolts!!!
User avatar
CarRepairer
Cursed Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: 07 Nov 2007, 21:48

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by CarRepairer »

Pako wrote:Who is stupid enough to say there is no sound in space, most of people apparently.

Of course human ear is well insulated from conductive sounds but *A is not humans fighting but highly dedicated robots, also air as a sound conductor is very slow and lossy compared to more dense materials like sand, stone and steel. Also planes can emit sound and it can be fast as light too. Every unit have atleast a radio as well.
Yo dawg, I heard you like sounds so I put conductors in your conductors so you can hear while you hear.
User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by hoijui »

stop offtopic, and GET ME ME RESOLTS!!!1
User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by knorke »

havent played that much yet and then with sound low because of music listening.
but it seems to be better.
for example if you finished loading and someone had previously placed his startmarker 100 times the "bing" of the marker would sometimes be played 100 times at the same time resulting in BIIIING. at least that i didnt experience so far.
User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by hoijui »

that is fine, though this thread is about air absorption, which is what i am most interested in ...
xyz
Posts: 152
Joined: 29 Nov 2008, 16:06

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by xyz »

Hi hoijui,
I tried to test this feature but for me the 81 branch is unusable, meaning because I can't have any units on the map.
This is the latest version I have tried:
[no_new_cpp_ais]pureint_spring_0.81.0-773-g2869e7e.exe
User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by hoijui »

thanks for trying!
what you tested was the pureint branch. the idea was to test master branch, though by accident, it does not really make a difference here, as pureint is based on a recently enough version of master.

in short, the problem you are seeing (no units) is this:
http://springrts.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=21883

Recent enough mods should fix this. which mod did you try?
an alternative would be, to /cheat and /give corcom when ingame.
xyz
Posts: 152
Joined: 29 Nov 2008, 16:06

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by xyz »

I've tried with BA7.12 and latest CA 7613 or something (the CA guys update the stable version way to often), both of them didn't gave me any units, as for the /cheat and /give the testing is going to take a while (instead of just setting up an AI vs AI test and listen to the sounds it makes).
Ill let you know when I'm done testing.
xyz
Posts: 152
Joined: 29 Nov 2008, 16:06

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by xyz »

Well this is what i got:

Infolog (sound related part)

Code: Select all

[      0] Sound: OpenAL info:
[      0] Sound:   Vendor:     Creative Labs Inc.
[      0] Sound:   Version:    1.1
[      0] Sound:   Renderer:   Software
[      0] Sound:   AL Extensions: EAX EAX2.0 EAX3.0 EAX4.0 EAX5.0 EAX3.0EMULATED EAX4.0EMULATED AL_EXT_OFFSET AL_EXT_LINEAR_DISTANCE AL_EXT_EXPONENT_DISTANCE
[      0] Sound:   ALC Extensions: ALC_ENUMERATE_ALL_EXT ALC_ENUMERATION_EXT ALC_EXT_CAPTURE ALC_EXT_EFX
[      0] Sound:   Device:     Generic Software
[      0] Sound:   Available Devices:  
[      0] Sound:                       DirectSound Software
[      0] Sound:                       Generic Software
[      0] Sound: air absorption enabled, value: 0.1
[      0] Sound:  parsed 25 sounds from gamedata/sounds.lua
Results:
The volume of sounds made by units when selected, starting building finishing building etc is depended on zoom level but the high pitch sounds can still be heard when zoomed out, as for explosions and weapons sounds there is no difference between being zoomed in or out.
In other words I don't think the air absorption works.
User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by hoijui »

hmm :/
shit
well.. thanks for the testing! :-)

this is not really relevant anymore now i guess, but when cheating, you can also give units to other teams like this:

Code: Select all

/give <unitname> <teamId>
as you possibly found out, the units appear on the mouse cursor position. so you can set up a game with AIs, and then give them commanders manually to each team.
good you reported the mods still not popping out the commanders themselves!

edit: cheat -> give
xyz
Posts: 152
Joined: 29 Nov 2008, 16:06

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by xyz »

Well playing with the AI's is another problem. All of them are crashing the engine after the 3 seconds countdown.
Anyway if you need anything else tested let me know.
User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by hoijui »

air-absorption can now be changed through spring config (latest master):
snd_airAbsorption=...
valid: 0.0f - 10.0f
recommended: 0.01f - 0.5f
default: 0.1f
off: 0.0f
User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6235
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by FLOZi »

Has there been any further feedback on testing this?
User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by hoijui »

there was not more testing then what you see in here.
i now tested on my old win machine, and i too got the false positive on it being supported, while it did not work.

i tested setting it to 1.0 instead of 0.1, and then it works under windows too (is much too heavy though). so that might just be a similar issue with Open AL (Soft?) not working well with low values under windows, like it was discovered for volume too.
will test some more, to see which is the lowest value that still works.
User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by hoijui »

air absorption value is now in-game changeable with:

Code: Select all

/set snd_airAbsorption 0.1
You may try values from 0.0 (off) to 10.0 (insanely high).

use this installer to test, or get at least 0.81.2.1-1197-g33c60d2:
http://springrts.com/dl/buildbot/defaul ... 3c60d2.exe
xyz
Posts: 152
Joined: 29 Nov 2008, 16:06

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by xyz »

It works for me, nice job.
User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by hoijui »

it works out of the box? cause i did not change the default value (still is 0.1), and neither changed anything else that could make it work better or worse.
but well... i accept it anyway. ;-)
thanks for testing
xyz
Posts: 152
Joined: 29 Nov 2008, 16:06

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by xyz »

yes, it works out of the box. The LT sounds change their pitch really nice as you go further away.
The only sound that was distorted really bad was the sound of the commander exploding.
User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by hoijui »

well.. nice! :D
maybe try setting it to 0.0 then, and see if the commander explosion is also distorted. i personally have a lot of sounds distorted, especially when the game is laggy, and it always lags when the commander explodes, no matter how low the settings and how good the HW.
User avatar
IceXuick
Posts: 514
Joined: 14 Mar 2006, 01:46

Re: Air absorption in spring

Post by IceXuick »

Did anybody in the meantime get this to work?
We / I can't get it to work in BAR on latest 104.0.1-1464 maintenance engine.
Post Reply

Return to “Sound Effects & Music”