New AA load screen

New AA load screen

[ARCHIVED]

Moderators: Caydr, Moderators, Content Developer

Locked
User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

New AA load screen

Post by Caydr » 04 Aug 2009, 17:55

Based on the replies to my "poll" ( http://springrts.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19673 ) I've designed a new load screen.

Like the old AA one, it will not feature any ingame elements because of the crazy number of different screen resolutions and aspect ratios that people use. I was hoping that there would at least be a majority of people using a widescreen 16:9 or 16:10 resolution, but it seems people play windowed or have a 4:3 screen just as often.

I didn't wait long enough to get definitive results but TBH if more than 10% of the people who see the AA load screen see everything distorted, I'd rather just go with something safe. Besides, I've never needed to use flashy load screens in the past.

Comments are welcome.
start1.jpg
(144.89 KiB) Downloaded 106 times
It will look best on widescreen monitors, which I believe are only going to get more popular. On 4:3 it will look a little mushed, but it's only text so that's OK.

"Beta" will of course be replaced with an actual version number. I also plan on adding a very dark metal texture to the background, nothing fancy.
0 x

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: New AA load screen

Post by Caydr » 04 Aug 2009, 18:03

Here's the original, which will also be in rotation.

Nostalgia cannon... FIRE
start2.jpg
original
(141.91 KiB) Downloaded 87 times
Good times, good times...
0 x

pintle
Posts: 1762
Joined: 19 Dec 2005, 16:01

Re: New AA load screen

Post by pintle » 04 Aug 2009, 18:04

Shite font, and why highlight only part of "Annihilation"?
Otherwise its a black screen with Arm and Core logos... epic.
0 x

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: New AA load screen

Post by Caydr » 04 Aug 2009, 18:06

It's glowing because it's being nano'd, of course. Really think the font's no good? Maybe I should go back to Haeten..shcheilllwwwerlslerrr however you spell it.
0 x

User avatar
NOiZE
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 3984
Joined: 28 Apr 2005, 19:29

Re: New AA load screen

Post by NOiZE » 04 Aug 2009, 20:03

I like the black with the icons, but the text doesn't look good, sorry.
0 x

imbaczek
Posts: 3629
Joined: 22 Aug 2006, 16:19

Re: New AA load screen

Post by imbaczek » 04 Aug 2009, 20:07

it'd look good around 1999, yeah.
0 x

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: New AA load screen

Post by Caydr » 04 Aug 2009, 20:19

Hmm... so is it the font? If I applied a similar effect to a the standard TA font (as seen in the second post) would it look better?

I've allowed my photoshop skills to degrade...
0 x

pintle
Posts: 1762
Joined: 19 Dec 2005, 16:01

Re: New AA load screen

Post by pintle » 04 Aug 2009, 20:20

There was a screenie floating around back in the day, of a scene with 1 of every aa (may have been ba by that time) unit in the game on it.

Use a placeholder for now, and do something like that when you have everything in place. Its kinda representative of the "all options viable" approach you seem to be aiming for with AA, and that old screenie looked awesome.
0 x

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: New AA load screen

Post by Caydr » 04 Aug 2009, 20:22

I think it's still on the wiki page for AA. I'd have to make a new one though, too many units have been added/removed since then.
0 x

User avatar
1v0ry_k1ng
Posts: 4656
Joined: 10 Mar 2006, 10:24

Re: New AA load screen

Post by 1v0ry_k1ng » 05 Aug 2009, 00:28

this shit is terrible
use a screeny of the mod

make the mod
0 x

Master-Athmos
Posts: 862
Joined: 27 Jun 2009, 01:32

Re: New AA load screen

Post by Master-Athmos » 06 Aug 2009, 10:36

Or ask if you can use some artwork from TA3D. There might even be a Core version but I'm not sure about it...

Image
0 x

User avatar
manolo_
Posts: 1370
Joined: 01 Jul 2008, 00:08

Re: New AA load screen

Post by manolo_ » 06 Aug 2009, 13:15

Master-Athmos wrote:Or ask if you can use some artwork from TA3D. There might even be a Core version but I'm not sure about it...

Image
awesome pic
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: New AA load screen

Post by knorke » 06 Aug 2009, 15:39

0 x

User avatar
1v0ry_k1ng
Posts: 4656
Joined: 10 Mar 2006, 10:24

Re: New AA load screen

Post by 1v0ry_k1ng » 06 Aug 2009, 16:45

Master-Athmos wrote:Or ask if you can use some artwork from TA3D. There might even be a Core version but I'm not sure about it...

Image
hawt
0 x

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: New AA load screen

Post by Caydr » 06 Aug 2009, 17:32

knorke wrote:LOL :shock:
I don't get it :S
0 x

Locked

Return to “Caydr's Projects”