Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Classic game design, maintained to please you...

Moderator: Content Developer

Post Reply
Ares
Posts: 314
Joined: 19 Mar 2011, 13:43

Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by Ares » 10 Sep 2016, 19:50

I saw set target no longer fires at ground
this is bad because it removes functionality from the command and does not add anything
It is an un-needed attempt to prevent errors made by players who click on the ground
In many situations I need to set target on ground for example microing a golly versus cloaked commanders
Or microing a liche to drop its payload during a fly-by
Please make the old behaviour standard and put the new behaviour on the Y+alt or macro key
Last edited by Ares on 11 Sep 2016, 21:28, edited 2 times in total.
0 x

User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1371
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by very_bad_soldier » 10 Sep 2016, 21:14

Please leave as it is. With the old behavior you had no chance to know if you succsesfully locked on unit or just locked on ground. Maybe even make Alt-Y exclusively target ground so it is clear for the user what he will get.
0 x

Ares
Posts: 314
Joined: 19 Mar 2011, 13:43

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by Ares » 10 Sep 2016, 22:33

Why do I have to defend ninja changes to commands that I have used all my life
Why can't you just create your own bind or use a different key rather than changing it for everyone?
0 x

ShockWave
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Mar 2015, 20:42

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by ShockWave » 11 Sep 2016, 16:49

Ares wrote: Why do I have to defend ninja changes to commands that I have used all my life
Why can't you just create your own bind or use a different key rather than changing it for everyone?
because targeting ground is a problem for everyone, better alt+Y to specify the correct behavior
0 x

Ares
Posts: 314
Joined: 19 Mar 2011, 13:43

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by Ares » 11 Sep 2016, 17:07

Alt Y does not work for many users, especially on Linux, I have already seen players lose games due to this change
I used this command often to fire at ground and its functionality has been decreased

Why can't you just create your own bind or use a different key rather than ruining a long standing feature for everyone?
0 x

ShockWave
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Mar 2015, 20:42

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by ShockWave » 11 Sep 2016, 17:47

Ares wrote:Alt Y does not work for many users, especially on Linux,
maybe fix the alt problem so we'll have all alt commands available again? :D
0 x

aleksey
Posts: 13
Joined: 29 Apr 2011, 07:44

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by aleksey » 11 Sep 2016, 19:23

I agree with Ares. Please make it work like it used to work. Or, at least fix circle-y.

Alt+y does not work for me. Maybe because I'm on Linux.

The way I got around targeting the ground was to shift+y, and draw circles. This does not work now.

Also, targeting the ground is sometimes useful (like when trying to shoot at out-of-sight buildings).
0 x

luckywaldo7
Posts: 1397
Joined: 17 Sep 2008, 04:36

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by luckywaldo7 » 11 Sep 2016, 19:33

If you're using KDE/KWin, alt is the default modifier hotkey for grabbing windows to move or resize. You can replace it with meta in systemsettings to get your alt key back.

For other DE/WM you'll need to read the manual.
0 x

Ares
Posts: 314
Joined: 19 Mar 2011, 13:43

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by Ares » 11 Sep 2016, 19:36

Last game with Teddy he had to target ground with liche on cloaked com
Was unable to, liche didnt even fire
he had no idea it was changed - because why would such a useful command be changed for no reason?
Lost game

You balance on the assumption of having radar vision and also never needing to fire at ground
Reality is you rarely have radar vision and often need to fire at ground
Original purpose of command ruined
0 x

User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1371
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by very_bad_soldier » 11 Sep 2016, 20:42

I recently won a game cause I was able to reliably set target to a unit. So please keep.
Also, fix your Alt key :)

BTW: If your Alt key is broken you can just use attack command. Liche will fire.
0 x

Ares
Posts: 314
Joined: 19 Mar 2011, 13:43

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by Ares » 11 Sep 2016, 21:25

Using attack command cancels movement which is the entire point of y attacking ground...
It has always been this way, how about you get your new functionality on the alt key or on a different key entirely, instead of ruining it for everyone else?
0 x

User avatar
MasterBel2
Posts: 347
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 12:03

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by MasterBel2 » 12 Sep 2016, 11:11

Maybe we can satisfy both groups of people. Is 'h' ever used now? Because we have an alternative sharing method, that could be set to target ground specifically. I say this because I like the change, but also because I see the potential need for those who like it.

Or maybe a widget for it??? Would that work?
0 x

User avatar
jamerlan
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 683
Joined: 20 Oct 2009, 13:04

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by jamerlan » 12 Sep 2016, 16:23

just disable alt + mouse drag on your linux
google it like this:
http://askubuntu.com/questions/521423/h ... w-dragging
http://www.ryanlerch.org/blog/alt-click ... gnome-3-8/

P.S. I am a linux user too. And I disabled this shit long time ago
0 x

Ares
Posts: 314
Joined: 19 Mar 2011, 13:43

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by Ares » 14 Sep 2016, 21:47

What about the fact that the entire bind now does something totally different now?
The new inferior function should be on the alt key, not the original which has been that way forever
Its awkward pressing y and alt together, I already use many hotkeys and binds and I need target ground to be on one button like it used to be
If its so easy to make binds, why not let the people complaining make their own ones?
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3584
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by Silentwings » 14 Sep 2016, 22:01

Alt+Y does seem an odd combo to me, I struggle to press it with one hand on this QWERTY laptop.
0 x

Ares
Posts: 314
Joined: 19 Mar 2011, 13:43

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by Ares » 14 Sep 2016, 22:35

Microing units was the only thing I could do between building advanced fusions, and now the button I used the most is gone
0 x

Kapytii
Posts: 64
Joined: 14 Mar 2013, 08:40

Re: Set Target Y Fire at Ground

Post by Kapytii » 15 Sep 2016, 19:06

Alt + y does not work. This is not good.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Balanced Annihilation”