A formal Reply to "The Decline of BA" - And a "Suggestion"

Classic game design, maintained to please you...

Moderator: Content Developer

RedBird

Post by RedBird »

Hi everyone! I originally posted this as a reply to the "Renny's thread about the decline of BA players" thread, but I beleive it deserves its own thread after all.

This thread is about what I see that is wrong with the BA community, and the one most important thing that i feel would go a long way to righting the problems that currently exist.

Anyways, here's the post from the other thread, reproduced more or less verbatim:

I only started playing BA about 6 months ago, so I think I missed the "glory days" that everyone keeps talking about. Still, I have a few observations on my own personal experiences with Spring and BA in particular.

1. This game is not nub-friendly. It reminds me of "Netstorm: Islands at War" - maintained and played by a very small community, who have exceptionally little tolerance for people who "don't get it". It's a product of group think, in my opinion. The result is that new players (even if they love the game itself) are often turned-off and stop playing because of the attitude of the regular players. By attitude I mean things like:

a) "Don't play right away, spec a few games first"

Now, this makes perfect sense to those of us who have played 8vs8 on DSD, as one nub in the wrong spot can ruin a game. But it's NOT a very welcoming or encouraging thing to hear when you are playing a game for the first time. Most people, upon hearing this and getting kicked/com-bombed in their first game will just say "@#^& it" and find another game to play. That is a fact, and it's NOT a good thing for the community if you are trying to rejuvenate it!

b) "The little dots" and text beacons