Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Classic game design, maintained to please you...

Moderator: Content Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
Sgt Doom
Posts: 144
Joined: 19 Jun 2006, 10:52

Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Sgt Doom »

When I place a flak gun between 2 building with one space between each, the flak shell consistently hits the building instead, even when firing straight forward and up. Is this meant to happen?
On Spring 0.82.3, BA 7.15
User avatar
Hobo Joe
Posts: 1001
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 21:55

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Hobo Joe »

This happens with T2 AA kbots as well, pretty annoying.
Gouken
Posts: 35
Joined: 18 Aug 2010, 22:55

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Gouken »

yeah and units coming out of lab always shoot/damage lab if enemies are in range
Saktoth
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 2665
Joined: 28 Nov 2006, 13:22

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Saktoth »

Press alt-b to get the debug mode and see the hit volumes.

You will probably see that the weapons of the flak are inside the hit volumes.

The surprising part is that it fires at all. It probably has the aim from point in the middle of the turret, which is clear to fire, but even then im sort of surprised.
User avatar
Hobo Joe
Posts: 1001
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 21:55

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Hobo Joe »

Well flak is kind of a wild card, it will explode even if it doesn't come in contact with the plane it is firing at, so maybe it activates on proximity and that same proximity works on friendly buildings?
User avatar
Jazcash
Posts: 5302
Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 17:39

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Jazcash »

Gouken wrote:yeah and units coming out of lab always shoot/damage lab if enemies are in range
Ano right, god damn Janus blowin' up their home territory...
zerver
Spring Developer
Posts: 1358
Joined: 16 Dec 2006, 20:59

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by zerver »

This is war, and accidents happen.
Saktoth
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 2665
Joined: 28 Nov 2006, 13:22

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Saktoth »

Hobo Joe wrote:Well flak is kind of a wild card, it will explode even if it doesn't come in contact with the plane it is firing at, so maybe it activates on proximity and that same proximity works on friendly buildings?
No, that is not how burnblow works. The projectile is fired at an enemy units location, and explodes when it reaches that location, regardless of whether it hit or not. There is no 'proximity' sensor.
User avatar
Hobo Joe
Posts: 1001
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 21:55

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Hobo Joe »

Saktoth wrote:
Hobo Joe wrote:Well flak is kind of a wild card, it will explode even if it doesn't come in contact with the plane it is firing at, so maybe it activates on proximity and that same proximity works on friendly buildings?
No, that is not how burnblow works. The projectile is fired at an enemy units location, and explodes when it reaches that location, regardless of whether it hit or not. There is no 'proximity' sensor.

You learn something new every day.


Still explodes on friendly buildings though, either the hitspheres are wack or it will explode without real contact.
Saktoth
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 2665
Joined: 28 Nov 2006, 13:22

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Saktoth »

Yeah, take a look at the hitspheres (alt+b). I replicated this bug, and the flak shoots while its inside a buildings hitsphere.

Its not really a huge problem, because it does hardly any damage to buildings, and if you are building it that close to things then you arent going to hit anything anyway and it serves you right.
eyu100
Posts: 182
Joined: 05 Jul 2008, 04:10

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by eyu100 »

Saktoth wrote:Yeah, take a look at the hitspheres (alt+b). I replicated this bug, and the flak shoots while its inside a buildings hitsphere.

Its not really a huge problem, because it does hardly any damage to buildings, and if you are building it that close to things then you arent going to hit anything anyway and it serves you right.
There is the case of scout planes that are landed in your base... Here, you don't need to take them out fast, but you do need to kill them eventually.
User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Wombat »

units/buildings block shots, thats normal (why would u place flak in base anyway), aa does shitty damage to ground stuff so who cares anyway
User avatar
Sgt Doom
Posts: 144
Joined: 19 Jun 2006, 10:52

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Sgt Doom »

Wombat wrote:units/buildings block shots, thats normal (why would u place flak in base anyway), aa does shitty damage to ground stuff so who cares anyway
The thing is it shouldn't be firing if it doesn't have a clear line of fire.
User avatar
JohannesH
Posts: 1793
Joined: 07 Apr 2009, 12:43

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by JohannesH »

Flak doesnt really matter, now you know how not to place it, but unit coming out of labs shooting lab can lose you a game
==Troy==
Posts: 376
Joined: 29 Oct 2008, 15:55

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by ==Troy== »

Hobo Joe wrote:
Saktoth wrote:
Hobo Joe wrote:Well flak is kind of a wild card, it will explode even if it doesn't come in contact with the plane it is firing at, so maybe it activates on proximity and that same proximity works on friendly buildings?
No, that is not how burnblow works. The projectile is fired at an enemy units location, and explodes when it reaches that location, regardless of whether it hit or not. There is no 'proximity' sensor.

You learn something new every day.


Still explodes on friendly buildings though, either the hitspheres are wack or it will explode without real contact.

Not sure whether this is how the engine does it, but if that was a description about RL flak, then it is slightly flawed.

Flak rounds simply have varied fuse lengths, operators approximate distance to the enemy plane, and choose appropriate ammo. The spread of the gun and the randomness in fuse lengths combined with high ROF and shrapnel rounds allows them to actually hit once in a blue moon.

Fuse lengths are calculated with consideration to the speed of the projectile and height of the plane, and ammo usually had the 500m 750m etc markings on it.




Edit :

Even more offtopic, the current flak does enormous damage to T2 DT (fortifications) while even arm t2 arty does not even scratch it, and bulldogs take a week to kill them.
Saktoth
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 2665
Joined: 28 Nov 2006, 13:22

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Saktoth »

This is because flak uses special damages to all land units, but a high default damage, when the logical thing to do would be to have special damage to air units, and a low default damage. This is the same reason the juno wipes out wrecks.

But BA's damage categories are very screwed up. I suspect you'll find flak does full damage to hovercraft too, and a bunch of other zany stuff.
User avatar
Hobo Joe
Posts: 1001
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 21:55

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by Hobo Joe »

*Note to self to FPS flak at the first opportunity
User avatar
TheFatController
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 1177
Joined: 10 Dec 2006, 18:46

Re: Stationary flak hitting own buildings

Post by TheFatController »

It's always had high default damage as a hack to give it a bigger engine explosion I believe.

I fixed the hitting own buildings for next release btw.
Post Reply

Return to “Balanced Annihilation”