Get rid of the OTA commanders

Get rid of the OTA commanders

A dynamic game undergoing constant development and refinement, that attempts to balance playability with fresh and innovative features.

Moderator: Content Developer

User avatar
bobthedinosaur
Blood & Steel Developer
Posts: 2695
Joined: 25 Aug 2004, 13:31

Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by bobthedinosaur » 26 Nov 2010, 00:52

Get rid of the OTA commanders. Even if they are s3o's not using TA material, make a new model concept for them.

Fore instance some on could redo the core commander to retain the roundish armor look with the big dgun, but with a non TAish look. Especially the arm com, it is just ugly.

Like maybe this for core:
Image
Wow look at the big freaking disintegrater!

or maybe this for arm minus the lame face:
Image


NOTE: images were totally stolen from other place, but are just examples of styles to consider. A direct copy would just run into the same issue with the OTA commanders ip.
Attachments
Re_Animated_Omega_Supreme_by_hansime.jpg
(116.91 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
IFS___TITAN_PLANAR_by_Frost7.jpg
(347.73 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
0 x

User avatar
Gota
Posts: 7151
Joined: 11 Jan 2008, 16:55

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by Gota » 26 Nov 2010, 01:44

are there rockets in his feet?
Reminds me of megaman a bit cause of the cartoonish proportions of his feet.
0 x

User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by Licho » 26 Nov 2010, 01:45

Yeah we would like to. If you find good models, let us know!
Also there is no arm/core anymore.
Instead there are many different commander types.
0 x

luckywaldo7
Posts: 1397
Joined: 17 Sep 2008, 04:36

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by luckywaldo7 » 26 Nov 2010, 02:47

Yes, as always, our #1 problem is lack of artists :(

Actually there are a couple of excellent models being used as commanders at the moment, should look kind of familiar to you :wink:

Image
0 x

User avatar
Otherside
Posts: 2296
Joined: 21 Feb 2006, 14:09

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by Otherside » 26 Nov 2010, 03:37

2 of them are still OTA derivatives.
0 x

User avatar
bobthedinosaur
Blood & Steel Developer
Posts: 2695
Joined: 25 Aug 2004, 13:31

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by bobthedinosaur » 26 Nov 2010, 03:38

those middle 2 are my models. :P Hell I might get drunk enough in the coming weeks to make some replacements, problem is i suck at texturing and people don't like texturing other people's junk.
0 x

User avatar
SinbadEV
Posts: 6475
Joined: 02 May 2005, 03:56

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by SinbadEV » 26 Nov 2010, 04:47

Make one that's one of your existing coms but with it's head replaced by a re-purposed chassis of another unit and have it walk on all fours like an ape.
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4933
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by Beherith » 26 Nov 2010, 07:19

Image
:)
0 x

User avatar
bobthedinosaur
Blood & Steel Developer
Posts: 2695
Joined: 25 Aug 2004, 13:31

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by bobthedinosaur » 26 Nov 2010, 08:58

Do it behe!
0 x

User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by Wombat » 27 Nov 2010, 23:30

get rid of EoW commanders!

no, joking <3
0 x

Kron
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 Nov 2010, 14:08

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by Kron » 01 Dec 2010, 04:59

I really like the first pic in the OP. :D

However, we don't have Arm and Core separation anymore, we just have one side. Why the separation into Arm and Core commanders in the art?
0 x

luckywaldo7
Posts: 1397
Joined: 17 Sep 2008, 04:36

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by luckywaldo7 » 01 Dec 2010, 05:06

Not everyone is familiar with recent developments :S
0 x

User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by Wombat » 01 Dec 2010, 05:15

dunno how about others, but ive stopped downloading test versions, dealing with the mess and bugs and im playing 1.2 only atm which works perfectly.

so, have there been any recent advantages ?
0 x

User avatar
bobthedinosaur
Blood & Steel Developer
Posts: 2695
Joined: 25 Aug 2004, 13:31

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by bobthedinosaur » 01 Dec 2010, 05:50

there might be only 1 faction now, but arm and core models are still used.
0 x

User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by Wombat » 01 Dec 2010, 05:53

--_________--

hardly recent man :D
0 x

Kron
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 Nov 2010, 14:08

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by Kron » 01 Dec 2010, 13:23

Wombat wrote:dunno how about others, but ive stopped downloading test versions, dealing with the mess and bugs and im playing 1.2 only atm which works perfectly.

so, have there been any recent advantages ?
Quite a lot actually. I tried jumping back to v1.2 and I just found it painful.

The only times I've been disappointed with riding on the edge of the development wave have been:
  • ... When all lua spontaneously collapsed for a few people (me included).
  • ... When they disabled energy storage on a lark. It's a neat idea, but I'd prefer a less ham-handed way that doesn't break as many widgets. :x
  • ... When areamex spontaneously stopped working. Yeah that was annoying. Also pretty recent, not sure if anyone fixed it yet!
All in all, while that may sound really bad, it usually gets fixed in a day and there are loads of neat advantages. I love the newer UI elements, like the map with the toggle buttons on it, and the new Complete Camera Control system.

Ooh, and my favorite: the ability to set Supcom-style ferry routes and delete / move waypoints Supcom style! Yayyy!


Update: Apparently areamex was fixed 30 minutes ago! Fast fixes indeed! :D
0 x

User avatar
Pxtl
Posts: 6112
Joined: 23 Oct 2004, 01:43

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by Pxtl » 01 Dec 2010, 15:09

Speaking of test changes, can somebody explain to me how the heck overdrive works now? We've got pylons and transmission nodes and energy-building radii? WTF? I could understand the transmission nodes, but what are the pylons for? Just bigger transmission nodes?
0 x

User avatar
SinbadEV
Posts: 6475
Joined: 02 May 2005, 03:56

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by SinbadEV » 01 Dec 2010, 15:11

Pxtl wrote:...what are the pylons for?...
An excuse to use the phrase "Construct additional Pylons"?
0 x

User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by Wombat » 01 Dec 2010, 15:21

Kron wrote: Quite a lot actually. I tried jumping back to v1.2 and I just found it painful.
oh c'mon, i was playing 1v1 with jK 4 days ago, dont tell me it has changed so much... except new bugs

ca nightmare returns ;_;
0 x

luckywaldo7
Posts: 1397
Joined: 17 Sep 2008, 04:36

Re: Get rid of the OTA commanders

Post by luckywaldo7 » 01 Dec 2010, 18:55

Its not like huge sweeping gameplay changes. Mostly tweaks to the interface or effects, some bug fixes, and such. There was some experimentation with the economy but at the moment it has been reverted back to basically the same as v1.2.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Zero-K”

cron