GUI modifications in SVN - Page 2

GUI modifications in SVN

Discuss Lua based Spring scripts (LuaUI widgets, mission scripts, gaia scripts, mod-rules scripts, scripted keybindings, etc...)

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Post by Caydr » 15 Sep 2006, 19:50

Caydr wrote:Probably not:

Engine defines default, mod overrides engine, user overrides mod

is it? :(
0 x

Tobi
Spring Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: 01 Jun 2005, 11:36

Post by Tobi » 16 Sep 2006, 11:40

The VFS works like this:

Real files override VFS.

In the VFS, the mod overrides it's dependencies, dependencies override dependencies' dependencies etc. (not sure if the latter is breadth first or depth first tho, but I'm pretty sure you don't really care about that :P )
0 x

User avatar
KDR_11k
Game Developer
Posts: 8293
Joined: 25 Jun 2006, 08:44

Post by KDR_11k » 16 Sep 2006, 12:23

Unfortunately real files in the base directory still override the mod VFS, don't they?
0 x

Tobi
Spring Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: 01 Jun 2005, 11:36

Post by Tobi » 16 Sep 2006, 12:25

Yes.
Tobi wrote: Real files override VFS.
0 x

trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan » 18 Sep 2006, 00:30

Another tiny option:

Image
0 x

el_matarife
Posts: 933
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 02:04

Post by el_matarife » 18 Sep 2006, 05:34

Why isn't gravity on the info screen expressed the same way as it is in the lobby? The info screen has what I think the actual effects on ballistic trajectories are, but that's not quite as useful as a point of comparison as the normal 100-whatever gravity scale.
0 x

trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan » 18 Sep 2006, 06:31

The source in SVN has been modified so that the GameInfo
panel now displays gravity in its original units (ie: its now fixed)
0 x

NEWSBOT3
Posts: 13
Joined: 12 Sep 2006, 21:53

Post by NEWSBOT3 » 18 Sep 2006, 11:39

the traffic lights on buttons are a great touch.
0 x

espylaub
Posts: 205
Joined: 01 May 2006, 11:35

Post by espylaub » 18 Sep 2006, 12:01

Info screen is a good idea.
a: eh, anyone know the wind speed?
a: argh, forgot to look
a: me too
a: anyone in window mode who can check?
etc.
We've all seen it :wink:
0 x

el_matarife
Posts: 933
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 02:04

Post by el_matarife » 18 Sep 2006, 17:04

trepan wrote:The source in SVN has been modified so that the GameInfo
panel now displays gravity in its original units (ie: its now fixed)
Thanks, I hadn't noticed that was fixed.
0 x

chlue
Posts: 101
Joined: 28 Dec 2005, 20:48

Post by chlue » 21 Sep 2006, 18:49

I think the font on all buttons should have the same size or more practicall, limit it to three different sizes.
Currently the buttons impress like a collection of indepentant stuff.
Same for the state indicators.

This would waste some pixels, but I am sure the design will look much more uniform.
0 x

User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Post by TradeMark » 21 Sep 2006, 21:10

Nice, finally i dont need to press alt+tab to see the stats, like com ends, or wind.

Ah and finally the chat doesnt have any background colors!

That menu on the left is kinda messed up now. Should be same as in TA, so commands menu and building menu separately in different pages.

GJ guys.
0 x

trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan » 21 Sep 2006, 21:59

chlue:
The current font system doesn't make it easy to render small
fonts nicely. Those kinds of changes will have to wait for a
larger rework.

TradeMark:
The outline font option (no background colors), is a bit of a hack.
It should only be used if it doesn't cause rendering slowdowns
(there's a report for a nvidia 5200 that it reduced FPS by 35%).
That being said, I'll note that my 6800GT hardly notices it. It's
heavily dependant on your cards ability to draw blended texture fills.
It is not enabled by default.

The "BuildIconsFirst" option is good enough for command/build
separation for now. It may even be the preferred method for those
who setup their control panel with a lot of buttons.
0 x

chlue
Posts: 101
Joined: 28 Dec 2005, 20:48

Post by chlue » 21 Sep 2006, 23:38

trepan wrote:chlue:
The current font system doesn't make it easy to render small
fonts nicely. Those kinds of changes will have to wait for a
larger rework.
I think the word 'attack' looks nice enough. So maybee reduce the fontsize of the smaler words to that? I am quite sure it will still look better together; despite the fact, that the letters may be not that smooth then.
0 x

trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan » 21 Sep 2006, 23:43

chlue:
You've tested on how many configurations?
(screen size, minor GL filtering variations, etc...?)

It isn't worth doing until the fonts are improved.
0 x

User avatar
Gabba
Posts: 319
Joined: 08 Sep 2004, 22:59

Post by Gabba » 22 Sep 2006, 05:26

This "almost-new" gui looks really nice.
0 x

trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan » 26 Sep 2006, 13:16

Here's a screenshot of a feature that's almost ready to commit.
You'll be able to control how buttons are layed out, and how they
look by using a LUA script. That means that you can setup a
"command" menu, a "build menu", etc... The commands can
also be given a background texture, or just use a texture and
skip the default text.

I also took it a step farther and allowed for custom user buttons /
commands. That means that you can setup buttons for viewmodes,
toggling shadows and water mode, kicking players, etc... A custom
command can be setup to run several actions with a single click.

The commands to get the current selection and group info have
also been made available, so a menu showing currently defined
groups is possible. You can also setup a menu to show the units
within a group, collated by type.


Working test lua script:
http://trepan.homelinux.net/spring-diffs/ctrlpanel.lua


Image
0 x

danzel
Posts: 56
Joined: 30 Sep 2005, 01:49

Post by danzel » 26 Sep 2006, 14:06

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
Nice.
0 x

User avatar
BvDorp
Posts: 439
Joined: 14 Oct 2005, 12:09

Post by BvDorp » 26 Sep 2006, 17:11

woot! meh so wants this.. include this in the new version asap!!!!
0 x

chlue
Posts: 101
Joined: 28 Dec 2005, 20:48

Post by chlue » 26 Sep 2006, 18:25

I tried "spring_0.73b1_dev" and I am not sure if this aply to this version too.

When you maximize the minimap the button to restore the minimap to the old size is hidden under the energie/metal-bar. So you first have to move the bar out of the way, klick the button and move the bar back. I would suggest to use the button in the botton-right of the minimap to restore in this case. "Change size" is not used if the map is maximized anyway.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Lua Scripts”

cron