GUI modifications in SVN - Page 3

GUI modifications in SVN

Discuss Lua based Spring scripts (LuaUI widgets, mission scripts, gaia scripts, mod-rules scripts, scripted keybindings, etc...)

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
LordMatt
Posts: 3393
Joined: 15 May 2005, 04:26

Post by LordMatt »

FTW!
User avatar
Neuralize
Posts: 876
Joined: 17 Aug 2004, 23:15

Post by Neuralize »

I don't think the buttons on the build menu need to have a stroke applied to them, the white should be just fine, currently it looks kinda dirty, is stroke weight/existence a control in the lua?
User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Post by Caydr »

Can you adjust the "On" and "Off" text so it's not so colossal? Maybe try putting:

Code: Select all

"     On     "
and
"    Off    "
if you can't control the font size directly.
Last edited by Caydr on 26 Sep 2006, 22:02, edited 1 time in total.
trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan »

Neuralize
Stroke = texture ?
The whole point of using a LUA script is configurability.
You can assign any texture you want to any button. You
could even use a build picture for your Stop command if
you so desired.
trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan »

Caydr
I haven't set it up so that you can change default command names, yet.
A more important aspect to this would be that it would allow for some
internationalization (would need to do the tooltips too).

If I don't get to it, make yourself some On/Off textures, sized to your liking.

P.S. Tried hardcoding a couple of spaces around the On and Off labels,
it does look good enough to commit.
User avatar
Weaver
Posts: 644
Joined: 07 Jul 2005, 21:15

Post by Weaver »

Stroke = the thickness of edge of the text.

Stroke from 0 - 6
Image
trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan »

Ah, the drop-shadow. I can easily add an option in ctrlpanel.txt to disable it.
(the control panel button text does not use the new outline fonts technique)
pheldens
Posts: 191
Joined: 12 Aug 2006, 21:35

Post by pheldens »

people with font trouble try vera sans bold: (overwrite the file Luxi.ttf with this)

http://projects.quintagroup.com/product ... format=raw
trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan »

LUA based button name and tooltip translation:

Image
esteroth12
Posts: 501
Joined: 18 May 2006, 21:19

Post by esteroth12 »

and the /font command? can we switch fonts ingame now, too?

nice GUI, as well! but why is the factory showing your fps? :P
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20687
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF »

So with this we can make pullout menus and fancy stuff with lua scripts? w00t
trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan »

esteroth12
Yup, /font does what you think it does. I've also
tweaked the font code to allow characters up to
the numeric value 254 to be used. As to why a
factory would be displaying my FPS ... I'm going
with artistic license (aka: my crappy test setup).
Note that the FPS value is updated in real time
(as can other parameters be).

P.S. The /font command didn't really send any
output to the console, the /echo command did
(I added /echo because I thought it might be useful
for scripted warnings, etc...)


AF
As I mentionned to Smoth, it might be possible to
turn the alpha down on the control panel frame and
run a "fullscreen" control panel, but it wasn't coded
to achieve that goal efficiently. It does work, and if I
have the time I will add a couple of parameters to
help yall along with it.
User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Post by TradeMark »

trepan wrote:The outline font option (no background colors), is a bit of a hack.
It should only be used if it doesn't cause rendering slowdowns
(there's a report for a nvidia 5200 that it reduced FPS by 35%).
That being said, I'll note that my 6800GT hardly notices it. It's
heavily dependant on your cards ability to draw blended texture fills.
It is not enabled by default.
Hmm, could we have user defined option which allows to turn off all transparency in the GUI?

Also, could we have minimap maximize feature, it means that the minimap is always as big as it can in the limits of objects near it, like resource bar and build menu.
Im writing the code, if you can implement it ?
trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan »

TradeMark
Hmm, could we have user defined option which allows to turn off all transparency in the GUI?

Shift+> ?

Im writing the code, if you can implement it ?

Huh? Are you asking if I'll commit it if you write it?
User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Post by TradeMark »

trepan wrote:Huh? Are you asking if I'll commit it if you write it?
Yeah, i just write the function which returns the right size to the minimap.
I cant compile the game source code, so all i can do is write the code and hope someone can put it in the right place...

You ready to add that kind thing in if i write the code? :-)
trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan »

Another screenshot, this one with framed buildpics.

The code is already in SVN to do some neat tricks
with the LUA scripting, like placing buttons anywhere
on the screen (well, grided), having buttons represent
a unit's build queue, group buttons (using the buildpic
and a number to show the members of the group),
having separate build and command menus (with their
own page counts), etc...

P.S. I think that the LUA features in SVN can do all that
and more, I may find out that it can't once I try to script it :-)

P.P.S. The page number is setup with the circularthingy.tga
texture slapped on a custom button.

Image
User avatar
Neuralize
Posts: 876
Joined: 17 Aug 2004, 23:15

Post by Neuralize »

I take back the part about the stroke on the text... (Shadow..)
However...

Are the beveled buttons required? Or can we lua them out, additionally, what about the texture on the buttons, right now they look a little ugly and intrusive on the simple Spring minimalist feel.

Image
Image


Keep the gui cohesive, even if it isn't fully customizable, it needs to look clean in screenshots if anyone is going to think about trying this game.
esteroth12
Posts: 501
Joined: 18 May 2006, 21:19

Post by esteroth12 »

eh... before release, try to make it so that the commands and buildpics are on seperate pages (like the other GUI would have been)

like

Code: Select all

COMMANDS
+------+
|CCCCCC|
|CCCCCC|
|CCCCCC|
|CCCCCC|
+------+
|PPPPPP|
|PPPPPP|
|PPPPPP|
|PPPPPP|
+------+
<--  -->
where Cs are things like movement and reclaim, current missiontype, etc., and Ps are buildpice. they would operate on seperate pages, as well.

(unless its too hard to do before release, then have in 0.74b1 please ;))
User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Post by Caydr »

For snarf sake, make buildpics SQUARE. Really, please, please pretty please. And if they're always going to be a different size than they are to begin with, tell us what the size is so we can resize the pics ourselves rather than have the engine pixelify them. Pleeeease?
User avatar
NOiZE
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 3984
Joined: 28 Apr 2005, 19:29

Post by NOiZE »

they are 4:3
Post Reply

Return to “Lua Scripts”