Nesting tables in LUA

Nesting tables in LUA

Discuss Lua based Spring scripts (LuaUI widgets, mission scripts, gaia scripts, mod-rules scripts, scripted keybindings, etc...)

Moderator: Moderators

Fil

Nesting tables in LUA

Post by Fil »

Hi guys,

i'm doing a project for my thesis and i'm pretty new to LUA Scripting. My problem is the following: i am trying to track unit-to-unit combat statistics, and i want to obtain a nested table structured this way:

my unit type -> enemy unit type -> distance -> and then the distance table is something like { [100] = 2, [200] = 5, etc} , where indexes 100 200 are different ranges at which my unit has killed enemy unit, and values 2, 5 counts the number of kills have been made at that distance.

The result is intended to give me a statistic on how many times a certain unit type killed that other unit type at different distances, so it is like:
- unit1 x unit2 x 100m = 3
- unit1 x unit2 x 200m = 4
- unit1 x unit4 x 100m = 2
etc

My problem is i can't figure out how to structure this table:
- is there a way to make the "distance" table different for every "my unit x enemy unit" combination? or creating a table "distance" returns always the same table so every kill made at 100m writes on the same "distance" table indipendently of my and enemy unit type?
- the process should be as automatic as possible, meaning i don't want to declare previously all unit types and enemy types as table names or indexes (i can extract "unitDefID" and "attackerDefID" from a .UnitDestroyed call in, so i would like to being able to use that values for defining table values)

Thank you in advance! :)

Fil
smoth

Re: Nesting tables in LUA

Post by smoth »

Code: Select all

table = {
childTable = {},
2ndChildTable = {
 variableA = "waffles",
 variableB = "doughnut",
}
},
does this help?
8611z

Post by 8611z »