Spectator mode v1.7 (AKA "actionfinder")

Discuss Lua based Spring scripts (LuaUI widgets, mission scripts, gaia scripts, mod-rules scripts, scripted keybindings, etc...)

Moderator: Moderators

xyz

Post by xyz »

Hello, this is my first attempt of learning Lua.

The script was inspired from the MinimapEvents widget written by trepan. It adds a "/luaui specmode" command during gameplay to activate it. You can also use CTRL+ALT+S to enable/disable it and CTRL+ALT+C to switch between normal mode and attract mode.

The script will move the camera around "hot" places on the map. If there is no fighting then the widget will show different buildings, units that are created.

For the moment there is no algorithm to prioritize the importance of an event just that an battle event is more important than a building completion one.
Attachments
cmd_actionfinder.lua
(17.52 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
Last edited by xyz on 11 May 2013, 19:55, edited 16 times in total.
hoijui
Former Engine Dev

Re: Spectator mode

Post by hoijui »

i have tried it, it works very well! :-)
its perfect to spec spring games on the second computer, and use it like a TV (doing nothing) or for publicly streaming tournament games or so..
good idea for a first try, well done!
thanks! :-)
xyz

Re: Spectator mode

Post by xyz »

hoijui wrote:i have tried it, it works very well! :-)
its perfect to spec spring games on the second computer, and use it like a TV (doing nothing) or for publicly streaming tournament games or so..
good idea for a first try, well done!
thanks! :-)
Thanks for trying it out!

I've updated the first post with version 1.1 of the script.

change-log 1.0 - > 1.1:
- Fixed bug: the script was not paused if the user was moving the mouse, or scrolling using the keyboard.
- Did some cleanup.

P.S. Is it just me, or the smilies here look a bit, EVIL?
hoijui
Former Engine Dev

Re: Spectator mode v1.1

Post by hoijui »

yeah... if you want to look at it like this.. you can see them as evil :D