REQ: Ambient Occlusion - Page 3

REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Discuss Lua based Spring scripts (LuaUI widgets, mission scripts, gaia scripts, mod-rules scripts, scripted keybindings, etc...)

Moderator: Moderators

losbellos
Posts: 69
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 00:26

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by losbellos » 20 Aug 2010, 07:38

Can somebody please fix this script, could take me a while to figure it out?
I am completly new to lua.
0 x

User avatar
jK
Spring Developer
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 07:30

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by jK » 20 Aug 2010, 07:41

losbellos wrote:Can somebody please fix this script, could take me a while to figure it out?
I am completly new to lua.
did you even read 1 line of this thread?
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14589
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion ( already done - download =) )

Post by Forboding Angel » 20 Aug 2010, 10:39

jK wrote:Okay, I removed it from my webserver ...
I SAID IT IS A CODE EXAMPLE AND NOT A WIDGET
Well, lets try again.
0 x

losbellos
Posts: 69
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 00:26

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by losbellos » 20 Aug 2010, 11:11

Damn it, hehe, it is really dumb. Sorry folks.
Can this somehow be implemented?
0 x

losbellos
Posts: 69
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 00:26

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by losbellos » 20 Aug 2010, 12:22

here is a good fast optimized implementation:
Just need to place into spring.
http://www.gamerendering.com/category/l ... -lighting/
0 x


User avatar
jK
Spring Developer
Posts: 2299
Joined: 28 Jun 2007, 07:30

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by jK » 20 Aug 2010, 12:55

If you can't do it yourself stop pasting links! and presenting it as easy work!
0 x

losbellos
Posts: 69
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 00:26

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by losbellos » 20 Aug 2010, 14:48

okey dokey, no problem,
Unfourtunately I cannot, - I think you guessed that - hopefully somebody can.

Otherwise it shouldnt be that hard to implement. Of course only spring dev. Could take a week or so just to familiarize with the code. And I am not a c koder. I code in maxscript, html, javascript and php. I did some short stuff in c but I wouldnt be able to do it, Maybe after `1-2 months.

So please if you have some time would it be possible to implement it? It would add some really nice detail to the models.
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14589
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by Forboding Angel » 20 Aug 2010, 17:39

It's too expensive for too little gain. If the models need details, then you should implore the creators to use normal mapping as Evolution RTS does (I think s44 does now as well iirc).

For Example, this is the metal extractor in Evolution RTS:

Image
screen00226.jpg
(343.58 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
0 x

losbellos
Posts: 69
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 00:26

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by losbellos » 21 Aug 2010, 09:51

Well, I thought it would be an option that can be on or off. Normal mapping only gives surface details but doesn't make the 3d space experience really better. I hope you understand what I mean.

I am not sure how expensive it would be. There is not so much detail in this sense.

That metal maker looks awesome. I have been thinking on creating new models for the TA based BA based on the original ones, but with more details. Will see, I don't have much time to this unfortunately.
0 x

losbellos
Posts: 69
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 00:26

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by losbellos » 27 Aug 2010, 08:50

hmm, nobody brave enough to do that?
:roll:
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14589
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by Forboding Angel » 27 Aug 2010, 14:12

From what I understand, dynamic AO is simply too expensive.

In layman's terms, that means: AO go pew pew, gfx card go x_x
0 x

losbellos
Posts: 69
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 00:26

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by losbellos » 29 Aug 2010, 19:10

oki Lazy asses. I buy programmer to do that if nobody does it. 8) Of course only if they let the code in as an option. Its is such an eye candy to look at it.
0 x

User avatar
Hobo Joe
Posts: 1001
Joined: 02 Jan 2008, 21:55

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by Hobo Joe » 29 Aug 2010, 20:54

losbellos wrote:hmm, nobody brave enough to do that?
:roll:
Wow. Just wow.



Go die.
0 x

User avatar
Falcrum
Posts: 149
Joined: 14 Nov 2007, 01:03

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by Falcrum » 29 Aug 2010, 21:10

:shock:
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14589
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by Forboding Angel » 29 Aug 2010, 21:39

AO isn't even that particularly impressive. It just adds shading, which looks nice, but at a normal zoom it will just become a footnote.
0 x

losbellos
Posts: 69
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 00:26

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by losbellos » 30 Aug 2010, 07:58

hmmm, maybe I got on the sensitive spot, hej people I got warned! :-) I used "lazy asses" expression. Must be very hurting that some people likes eye candy and maybe would do everything to have it, even pay for it.

"I buy one programmer to do that" hurted? Possible, but hej nobody wants to do that... I am very very sure people would love it.

Now go back to the subject. These days more and more games implementing this feature. I really think that when you speak about it you really underestimate the value of it. Dont you think so? Lets be honest. The models look like the original TA is installed. In 2010 (I still like them). If not remodelling then what? Use AO and other options like normal mapping. Normal mapping? You suggested a mod what nobody plays on the servers. Mostly BA plays. Getting the point?

So anyway there is a lot of room to improove and I am really sorry if a soft opinion or possibilty hurted your feelings.
Maybe I wrote this last sentence a little overwhelmed. Hehe. Stay grounded and objective.

Spring is a good game, but it will sooner or later die if there is no real improovements even on the graphical level.

BTW about the languge you could also do something about whats going on the servers. If you happen to play spring you know its pretty much like pushing people away because of those trolls. So maybe you should get some strength there and you wouldnt even notice my language...
:-)

Now take care, and I am mean to thank for you for the game, but if you insist on warning me for bringing up good points then I just find an other one to play. No hard feelings...

So how much? (Take it as a donation) And keep in mind that I am not that very rich almost 40 yers old guy. I also make my living by code and design.
0 x

User avatar
manolo_
Posts: 1370
Joined: 01 Jul 2008, 00:08

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by manolo_ » 30 Aug 2010, 08:21

i think remodelling is the easier way and look what fantastic work cremus and mr.d have done and if BA dont include them (yet) it is their problem
0 x

losbellos
Posts: 69
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 00:26

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by losbellos » 30 Aug 2010, 08:48

The code is already done it has to be only squeezed into the shading. I guess its easier.

Those fantastic looking models would also be an improovement. I have checked through these mods etc , and as we know for BA we cannot change the models without problems of rights.

The problem is that ba is the most played. Other mods are only here and there played. Maybe we could ask them to replace the models.
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14589
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: REQ: Ambient Occlusion

Post by Forboding Angel » 30 Aug 2010, 09:15

Los, there are tons of graphical improvements. You're just too goddamn blind to open your damn eyes and see them.

STOP PLAYING B FUCKING A AND SEE FOR YOURSELF!
0 x

Locked

Return to “Lua Scripts”