Spring 92.0! - Page 2

Spring 92.0!

Discuss Spring news, such as fresh releases and press coverage, here.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3548
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by abma » 15 Feb 2013, 15:13

try to set 3DTrees=0 this should make things visible again (known bug...)
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22297
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by smoth » 15 Feb 2013, 15:24

like I said in the post, the moment I ran settings via spring lobby and did my normal settings stuff rectified. No idea why
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3548
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by abma » 15 Feb 2013, 15:27

you disabled 3dtrees with springsettings then i guess...
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22297
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by smoth » 15 Feb 2013, 15:31

according to settings in springlobby I didn't. but I don't see it in my springsettings.cfg which looks like:
AdvSky = 1
CamMode = 0
DepthBufferBits = 24
FSAA = 1
FSAALevel = 2
GrassDetail = 3
GroundDetail = 148
InputTextGeo = 0.26 0.73 0.02 0.028
LastSelectedMap = Fields_Of_Isis
LastSelectedMod = testiclies 001
LastSelectedScript = Player vs. AI: NullAI 0.1
MinimapOnLeft = 0
ReflectiveWater = 4
ScreenshotCounter = 2
ShadowMapSize = 8192
Shadows = 1
ShowFPS = 1
ShowPlayerInfo = 0
SmoothLines = 0
SmoothPoints = 0
VSync = -1
VerboseLevel = 0
snd_general = 0
0 x

djmad
Posts: 13
Joined: 25 May 2009, 16:09

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by djmad » 16 Feb 2013, 20:53

great work guys,
thank you

greets djmad
0 x

User avatar
Erik
Posts: 283
Joined: 20 Aug 2009, 20:49

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by Erik » 17 Feb 2013, 18:45

Only issue so far is that i cannot set waypoints for factories anymore (cursor becomes stuck until i deselect).
0 x

User avatar
CarRepairer
Cursed Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: 07 Nov 2007, 21:48

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by CarRepairer » 17 Feb 2013, 21:20

Erik wrote:Only issue so far is that i cannot set waypoints for factories anymore (cursor becomes stuck until i deselect).
I had this same problem. Your factory now must have a canMove = true for this to work.
0 x

Zorbeltuss
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Feb 2013, 22:24

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by Zorbeltuss » 18 Feb 2013, 22:34

It seems kind of wrong putting this here but I can't find a thread for AAI and it was coming with spring, you may direct me to a better place to say this.
Seems like AAI 0.9 and spring 0.92 don't go together, AAI seems to ignore the learning files with the new version, all other AIs seems to work perfectly, but AAI, ignores all settings and just builds air.

/Zorbeltuss
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22297
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by smoth » 18 Feb 2013, 22:42

What is the test version for 92.1?
0 x

Sorcerer
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Mar 2009, 06:11

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by Sorcerer » 19 Feb 2013, 05:38

Now Spring is playable on linux with Intel CPU-integrated graphics. Unfortunatelly, there is a bug, at least when playing with bots: if you pause the game on ~5 minutes then it eats all the memory and breaks.
0 x

gajop
Moderator
Posts: 3023
Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 20:42

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by gajop » 19 Feb 2013, 15:55

Sorcerer wrote:Now Spring is playable on linux with Intel CPU-integrated graphics. Unfortunatelly, there is a bug, at least when playing with bots: if you pause the game on ~5 minutes then it eats all the memory and breaks.
mantis it
0 x

User avatar
albator
Posts: 866
Joined: 14 Jan 2009, 14:20

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by albator » 22 Feb 2013, 19:19

Please don't make release without MT, lot of player cannot play without it
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3548
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by abma » 23 Feb 2013, 02:59

albator wrote:Please don't make release without MT, lot of player cannot play without it
what? please explain, this makes no sense? MT isn't/wasn't removed, and ALL players should be able to play with ST.
0 x

User avatar
albator
Posts: 866
Joined: 14 Jan 2009, 14:20

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by albator » 23 Feb 2013, 18:38

i also would suggest to make a release soon without MTsim merged as its not ready for merge. (still needs discussion / cleanup)
Sorry If Misinterpreted that but for example, in ffa with about 3/4k units (time~30 min) I have 2 fps with ST, 20 with MT

all detail to low, 1680*1050 (i5 750)

So no MT mean no games for me....
0 x

zerver
Spring Developer
Posts: 1358
Joined: 16 Dec 2006, 20:59

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by zerver » 23 Feb 2013, 18:40

No need to worry alba, spring-multithreaded.exe has been renamed to spring.exe

There will also be another unofficial "Spring MT", which is ~100% faster than the official release.
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3548
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by abma » 26 Feb 2013, 22:38

@wolas:

please try the current x32 development version, i've downgraded to glibc 2.12... x64 is still the same glibc version.


@zerver:
"which is ~100% faster ": not true, on a single core system it is much slower i guess ;)

sadly we have no statistics about how many multi-core users we have...
0 x

dansan
Server Owner & Developer
Posts: 1191
Joined: 29 May 2010, 23:40

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by dansan » 27 Feb 2013, 00:57

abma wrote:sadly we have no statistics about how many multi-core users we have...
That can't be to many...
Some time ago springlobby showed the CPU-freq of users. So the lobby server knows this? IMO every CPU > 1,6 GHz is multi-core.
0 x

User avatar
Jools
XTA Developer
Posts: 2804
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 16:29

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by Jools » 27 Feb 2013, 09:23

Copied from wikipedia/AMD Palomino CPU wrote: Specifications

L1-Cache: 64 + 64 kB (Data + Instructions)
L2-Cache: 256 kB, fullspeed
MMX, 3DNow!, SSE
Socket A (EV6)
Front side bus: 133 MHz (266 MT/s)
VCore: 1.50 to 1.75 V
Power consumption: 68 W
First release: October 9, 2001
Clockrate:
Athlon 4: 850–1400 MHz
Athlon XP: 1333–1733 MHz (1500+ to 2100+)
Athlon MP: 1000–1733 MHz
0 x

klapmongool
Posts: 843
Joined: 13 Aug 2007, 13:19

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by klapmongool » 27 Feb 2013, 09:47

Dansan, assuming everything over a certain clock speed is multicore isnt a very accurate method. It would be awesome if you could see what is actually used ingame. Every game you see who connects on normal spring or on MT, can you extract that info from replays? That would give you the current info on MT users.

After 92 launches, would there be information extractable on whether the user has multiple cores?
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3584
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Spring 92.0!

Post by Silentwings » 27 Feb 2013, 10:14

Yes, you can't use clock speed to determine the number of cores in a processor, but Dansan is almost right in what he is saying; the lobby does know which executable each player is using during a currently running game.

My feeling is that >50% of people now have multi-core computers.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “News”