AAI under development again :)

Here is where ideas can be collected for the skirmish AI in development

Moderators: hoijui, Moderators

submarine
AI Developer

AAI under development again :)

Post by submarine »

Hello together,

it has been quite a while since my last post/sign of life and I assume most of the people from 10 years ago are no longer active as well. Over 10 years ago, I wrote the AAI bot ("A" for the lack of creativity as my first name is Alexander and "three letter AI" names were quite popular back then ;) )

The main reason I stopped further development was a lack of time - during the last ten years, I did my PhD, became a professional SW developer, got married and started a family :)

As I advanced in my professional career I have little opportunity to use my coding skills anymore. Thus, I started to code in my private life again. After the first glance at the current AAI codebase I wanted to delete everything and restart from scratch. However, I decided to face the challenge and started to refactor AAI. I already fixed a few bugs (especially a crash in game) and can now play stable games with BA10.24.

So far, I worked on my own fork https://github.com/AlexanderSeizinger/AAI

My first goal is to finish the refactoring of some core components. After that I would raise a PR on the "official" AAI repo. Are there any active developers left? I noticed some forum posts from abma, would you be willing to merge my changes some time in the future?
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer

Re: AAI under development again :)

Post by FLOZi »

Hi submarine, welcome back! S44 still going if you're interested in using it again. 8)
submarine
AI Developer

Post by submarine »

Cool, that's great to hear that Spring44 is still being worked on. As a human player I really liked the unique game mechanics (though I was really bad...)