Looking to start a C# AI - Approaches?

Here is where ideas can be collected for the skirmish AI in development

Moderators: hoijui, Moderators

Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer

Post by Forboding Angel »

He posting this during the db swap and it got deleted. I think he was somewhat disheartened by it, but I still it on my screen via browser history so I thought I would go ahead and repost it:
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi

I'm looking to start an AI in C# - i know there have been some in the past, and FA promises me it's possible, but I don't know how. Any ideas? It looks to me like CSAI is the only one made in C# - but it's old and not compatible with current versions of Spring. Is this possible? I assume I'd have to write a wrapper - how would I go about doing this? I have very little experience with Lua, and a bit in Java and C/C++ - but C# is definitely my best language - and I'd love to try to write an AI - particularly for Evolution RTS :)

Any ideas would be appreciated - thanks!

zplizzi
SpliFF

Re: Looking to start a C# AI - Approaches?

Post by SpliFF »

My answer got deleted too.

In summary it was:

1.) C# blows
2.) Mac and Linux users will hate you
3.) http://springrts.com/wiki/AI:CSAIInterface

So yeah, it should be possible for you to rebuild the wrapper using the info on the wiki but it'll probably just be ignored by everyone and fall into disuse like last time.

If you know C++ you'll probably get more value out of learning to use it properly than you will from a C# wrapper. Noboby is going to stop you releasing your own DLL's but expect to fight an uphill battle for getting your interface or AI shipped with Spring.
hoijui
Former Engine Dev

Post by hoijui »

use Java.