New Mod/Conversion: GEAR COMMANDER

Discuss game development here, from a distinct game project to an accessible third-party mutator, down to the interaction and design of individual units if you like.

Moderator: Moderators

centurion-1

Post by centurion-1 »

GEAR COMMANDER

Release date: TBA :)

Hello all!

This is my first post at the TA: Spring forums, so I understand if you view me with some suspicion. :wink:
I stumbled upon TA: Spring just a few days ago, and being a avid TotalA fan I really got excited about the possiblities this engine seemed to offer, for free no less. Well, like all of you probably I was really impressed by the capabilities of the engine and realised that this might be the platform I had been looking for for a project I have been wanting to do for some time now.

So who am to think I could pull of a full fledged TC for Spring then? Well, I am currently studying computer games development (graphics, first year) at the University of Sk├â┬Âvde in Sweden, though I'm originally from Finland. I am a really big fan of TA and the DP9 Heavy Gear franchise, both the computer games and the other stuff...

...Which brings us to the topic of this mod: A 'full' portrayal of the DP9 Heavy Gear mecha in the context of a RTS. This might seem like an awfully big undertaking but for the foreseeable future the goal of the mod would be the portrayal of the Confederated Northern City States vs. the Allied Souther Territories. I envision the project being very open ended and public in the spirit of TA: Spring, and openness and frequent public betas is something I very much believe in. To keep both the team and the public interested there needs to be stuff to show and stuff to play with. For those unfamiliar with the Heavy Gear mecha you might want to check out dream pod 9s homepage, http://www.dp9.com. Very good stuff, in my humble opinion.