Train Factory

Train Factory

Discuss game development here, from a distinct game project to an accessible third-party mutator, down to the interaction and design of individual units if you like.

Moderator: Moderators

Parzival
Jauria RTS Developer

Train Factory

Post by Parzival »

Hello!

This is my first time posting on the SpringRTS dev forums, I usually post on ZK ones.

Like the title of my post implies, I'm trying to figure out how to build a train factory. I have most of the movement concept down (Not going to use rails, Just gonna put a lot of movement restrictions on that way it requires terraforming)

The thread I've posted all of my stuff in is here:

http://zero-k.info/Forum/Thread/20224

Also been using this guys ideas:

viewtopic.php?t=17137&start=20

The main thing i'm wondering about is how to attach the trains to one another. Is there a feature on unit behaviour that makes units do that?
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer

Re: Train Factory

Post by FLOZi »

It will probably be worth using dev engine so you can utilise new attachment / transport features:

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=33843
Parzival
Jauria RTS Developer

Post by Parzival »

So maybe use attachunit?
FLOZi

Post by FLOZi »

Certainly will be the best way of attaching them.

Also, sketchup is terrible for modelling for Spring IMO.
8611z

Post by 8611z »

Imo use the MoveCtrl functions to set positions of the waggons, like you would in a snake game. https://www.google.de/?gws_rd=ssl#q=gam ... rial+snake

Spring's attach/transport functions do not seem useful for trains.

Assuming you have the locomotive and each waggon as a seperate unit and attach them like this:
locomotive :arrow: waggon1 :arrow: waggon2 :arrow: waggon3