(in-) engine menu - Page 5

(in-) engine menu

Discuss game development here, from a distinct game project to an accessible third-party mutator, down to the interaction and design of individual units if you like.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by smoth »

abma wrote:imo there is nothing to discuss atm, some work has to be done first before talking more.
Cool glad to know the thread isn't going to result in a bunch of gabbing
User avatar
Funkencool
Posts: 542
Joined: 02 Dec 2011, 22:31

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by Funkencool »

Since it's lua it would work as either really. In my mind I'm thinking of it as something like springcontent.sdz.

What I've gathered from most people is the replacement should:
  • be a replacement ( it can at least do what the current one does )
  • have bells and whistles ( at least for now so we can thoroughly test things )
  • launch any game, new or otherwise, using standard spring format ( AI's, Teams, Map, Rules )
  • most importantly, be lua, so it can be picked apart and customized easily
So that's what I'll be working on, implementing these features to see how well they work. If I want comments on design and such I'll start a separate thread for it (functions need to be there first imo ). I will report back, however, if I hit any roadblocks.
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by smoth »

will it use chili or not?
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by abma »

chili, there is no alternative to that!
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by smoth »

some people advocate using raw gl.

Abma, do we have a call to retrieve the following:
  • Gamenames for valid game and mutator modules.
    • can we get any other properties from mod info(maybe even check for missing dependencies?
  • Mapnames for valid map modules
    • can we get any other properties from map info, not limited to but including stuff like metal, wind, player start point count?
    • minimap picture if present?
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by abma »

stop the panic mode please...
Super Mario
Posts: 823
Joined: 21 Oct 2008, 02:54

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by Super Mario »

Why you would use raw gl for menu base gui? That is pure overkill.
User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22309
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by smoth »

No, no not paniced. was just asking if we have anything for those. for my own reasons.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by abma »

locked, we are very offtopic.

will be locked until some real progress is made (=some working menu / pull requests or commits to https://github.com/spring/menu-map.sdd and https://github.com/spring/menu-game.sdd)

i/we shouldn't waste our time with discussing theoretical stuff. if you want to do so, use the offtopic forum please: viewforum.php?f=10
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by abma »

i've added MenuGameArchive & MenuMapArchive config setting which allows to automaticly start a menu:
https://github.com/spring/spring/commit ... a1ad63d6bd

also i've added a minimal map: https://github.com/spring/menu-map.sdd/ ... b389e42a86 (thanks silentwings!)

now i only need a working menu, https://github.com/LebDooder/StartMenu sadly didn't work for me :-|
gajop
Moderator
Posts: 3051
Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 20:42

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by gajop »

I think this is confusing and should be removed: https://springrts.com/wiki/Springsettin ... enuArchive
It isn't a real archive (like maps, games and mutators are), instead it just seems to overwrite some files (such as the background image).

I also think MenuGameArchive/MenuMapArchive approach is a bit overly simplistic.
Can't we just have a default startscript that will get executed instead? The last Ludum Dare is a perfect example use case: we don't need/want a menu, but rather have the users immediately join the game. Default startscripts would also cover the issue of starting a menu.

PS: What didn't work for you?
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by abma »

gajop wrote: I think this is confusing and should be removed: https://springrts.com/wiki/Springsettin ... enuArchive
It isn't a real archive (like maps, games and mutators are), instead it just seems to overwrite some files (such as the background image).

I also think MenuGameArchive/MenuMapArchive approach is a bit overly simplistic.
agreed, even code is cleaner: https://github.com/spring/spring/commit ... 7487d08895
gajop wrote: PS: What didn't work for you?
https://github.com/gajop/IngameLobby/issues/1
gajop
Moderator
Posts: 3051
Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 20:42

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by gajop »

But you said "https://github.com/LebDooder/StartMenu" didn't work for you. That and https://github.com/gajop/IngameLobby/ are different projects, with https://github.com/LebDooder/StartMenu not connecting to the Spring lobby server, so it should work.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by abma »

gajop wrote:But you said "https://github.com/LebDooder/StartMenu" didn't work for you.
this didn't work for me, too. some weird lua error not beeing able to load modinfo.lua from some "special" DeltaSiegeDry map.
gajop
Moderator
Posts: 3051
Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 20:42

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by gajop »

This is probably due to the fact that it tries to load mapinfo.lua/modinfo.lua from the archives directly (this is likely to fail for a number of reasons, including games downloaded in rapid).
Maybe post a full infolog?
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by abma »

User avatar
Funkencool
Posts: 542
Joined: 02 Dec 2011, 22:31

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by Funkencool »

Hey sorry guys, been away for a while. I'll get my environment back up and running so I can test with new spring and also fix said issue.

As far as starting it goes, it is just a standard game archive like any other (needs map, players, etc.. ) . If it isn't launching it's likely an issue and the infolog is all I need (like any other game). However, I think gajop nailed it by assuming it's my hacked together way of getting more info out of archives. This should be easy to fix since I can just revert back to when I used a non-hacked-together method.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3798
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by abma »

Funkencool wrote:As far as starting it goes, it is just a standard game archive like any other (needs map, players, etc.. ) . If it isn't launching it's likely an issue and the infolog is all I need (like any other game). However, I think gajop nailed it by assuming it's my hacked together way of getting more info out of archives. This should be easy to fix since I can just revert back to when I used a non-hacked-together method.
see https://github.com/LebDooder/StartMenu/issues/1

-> http://paste.springfiles.com/view/50af89d8
User avatar
Funkencool
Posts: 542
Joined: 02 Dec 2011, 22:31

Re: (in-) engine menu

Post by Funkencool »

Sorry, I just meant the infolog you put up there was helpful; not that I still needed it. From looking at it earlier it seems to confirm what gajop said. I get into the archive for info from the mapinfo.lua but it appears an archive it thought was a map did not contain it. Not sure if this is because it's from rapid or not but my whole method needs changing. I'll need to deal with no info other than name for now. ( can only get more info about currently loaded map in lua, from what I know ) Maybe there's a solution that fixes both problems I just haven't found or thought of yet :?
Post Reply

Return to “Game Development”