Game project. Code name : Evolvere - Page 5

Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Discuss game development here, from a distinct game project to an accessible third-party mutator, down to the interaction and design of individual units if you like.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Wombat » 09 Oct 2010, 19:02

yo, its also my fav one, BUT i cant see it textured, when i switch to texture mode in blender most of the model disappears :o alt + H doesnt work :<
0 x

Saktoth
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 2665
Joined: 28 Nov 2006, 13:22

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Saktoth » 13 Oct 2010, 13:59

Taking a look over your models, a lot of them cull polygons on the underside. If you're doing this to save on polycount, dont bother. You can afford a heap of polygons before it becomes a bottleneck: Texture size will start hurting you much sooner.

The real danger of this is on units like the LightFlakCannon, which has no polygons on the underside of its barrels. A flak cannon is presumably going to be shooting up into the sky- the barrels will be vertical much of the time, and you will be able to see the holes in the model.

I'd suggest just closing off the models, even if its just with black/grey polygons that take minimal texture space.
0 x

User avatar
Cremuss
Posts: 364
Joined: 28 Oct 2006, 21:38

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Cremuss » 13 Oct 2010, 20:17

Saktoth > I'm aware of the danger but it shouldn't be a problem for most of the models. I'll fix that later if needed (like on the light flak canon you mentioned).

I don't want to start a debate but removing faces you will not see ingame on your model is like a "must do" even if you gain only 30 tris on a 600 tris model. Ofc you have to take care of animated parts (what I didn't really do in some cases, like with the light flak canon) but I don't see any reason why I should keep underside polygons on a RTS game :)

Also I'm a bit intrigued about the texture memory problem you mentioned. Do CA has a problem like this ? Anyway, AO's are too different to use the same texture for air_fac1,2 and 3 :( but using the same tex2 and normals maps should be possible, I'll take a look at that.
I did not think about reducing tex2 size, I'll do that as well :)

Wombat > Woops something's wrong with textures path in the blender file. Blender will search for a "textures" directory where the .blend is stored so make a "textures" dir and move textures in it. It should solve the problem :)
0 x

User avatar
maackey
Posts: 490
Joined: 02 Jul 2008, 07:11

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by maackey » 13 Oct 2010, 22:59

about polygon counts: http://springrts.com/phpbb/viewtopic.ph ... nt#p386073

tl;dr: polygons are practically free. other things affect fps much more.
0 x

User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6103
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by FLOZi » 13 Oct 2010, 23:51

I don't see any reason why I should keep underside polygons on a RTS game
Springs shadows
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22295
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by smoth » 14 Oct 2010, 02:36

I use fps camera so I see the undersides. Also if you intend on doing missions one day with scripted camera movements for cinematics.
0 x

Google_Frog
Moderator
Posts: 2434
Joined: 12 Oct 2007, 09:24

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Google_Frog » 14 Oct 2010, 07:47

Impulse can send your units flying in which case you don't want invisible undersides.
0 x

Saktoth
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 2665
Joined: 28 Nov 2006, 13:22

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Saktoth » 15 Oct 2010, 10:30

Well as you can see, there are eventualities re underside polygons you may not have considered. It is indeed best practice to cull unseen polygons, i think all we're saying is that you will be surprised sometimes what polygons end up being visible.

But you're right, for 95% of the play time, nobody will ever notice.
Cremuss wrote:Also I'm a bit intrigued about the texture memory problem you mentioned. Do CA has a problem like this ? Anyway, AO's are too different to use the same texture for air_fac1,2 and 3 :( but using the same tex2 and normals maps should be possible, I'll take a look at that.
I am not an expert, but jK thinks that CA definitely has or had this problem (He did a giant cull where he went through and compressed/reduced textures, so i think its better now). It depends on your GPU though so people will have it to varying degrees.

I did notice that about the AO bake on the air plants, but if you ever do run into this texture memory problem, you may have to put up with an AO bake which is slightly sloppy in some areas. Either way, thats surely something you can do later if you ever run into the issue.
Last edited by Saktoth on 15 Oct 2010, 17:34, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
Decimator
Posts: 1118
Joined: 24 Jul 2005, 04:15

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Decimator » 15 Oct 2010, 16:22

Those buildings are excellent! I'm looking forward to seeing some units.
0 x

User avatar
liamdawe
Posts: 120
Joined: 19 Mar 2010, 15:09

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by liamdawe » 24 Oct 2010, 14:14

Me too Dec, i would love to see this be an actual playable mod, the GUI especially would be the best looking in springs.
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Satirik » 07 Dec 2010, 01:18

Cremuss wrote:Blender file, png and .xcf (gimp source) files released here under free art license 1.3 :
http://cremuss.free.fr/finaloutcome/sources/

SVN is here :
http://code.google.com/p/finaloutcome/

Contains every models you already seen, plus 2 commanders, land cons, naval cons and air cons.
It is not finished, some models/textured needs some tweaks/improvements (especially with animated parts revealing AO glitchs). Also, scripts and unitdef are not "working", it's just a basic general file to upload it in spring, so don't expect to put all of these in spring and have a working game or even working units :D.
seems like cremuss gave up on this project because he didn't find any dev/scripter to make it work too bad :(
0 x

User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Wombat » 07 Dec 2010, 01:23

wut ? blasphemy ! these models were not even finished, most of them were cons. so if he didnt even finish models i dont think lack of scripters is a problem (yet).

Cremuss, stop having life !
0 x

User avatar
Wartender
Conflict Terra Developer
Posts: 300
Joined: 17 Jan 2009, 22:37

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Wartender » 07 Dec 2010, 03:34

Satirik wrote: seems like cremuss gave up on this project because he didn't find any dev/scripter to make it work too bad :(
NOOOOOOOOOOOO

these models were amazing D:... for shame :(
0 x

User avatar
Cremuss
Posts: 364
Joined: 28 Oct 2006, 21:38

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Cremuss » 10 Dec 2010, 14:15

I've worked on something else since my last post and I don't have the will nor the wish to be back on this project. RTS is just not my thing.
Sry dudes :-)

Anyway files are available under freeart license so feel free to use them :

Textures png and .xcf gimp source :
http://cremuss.free.fr/finaloutcome/sources/
http://cremuss.free.fr/finaloutcome/sou ... ringUI.xcf > UI file released

Spring files and models :
http://code.google.com/p/finaloutcome/

take care cya
0 x

User avatar
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 6103
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 01:14

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by FLOZi » 10 Dec 2010, 16:46

ZK should take them all and find a silver lining. 8)
0 x

Google_Frog
Moderator
Posts: 2434
Joined: 12 Oct 2007, 09:24

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Google_Frog » 10 Dec 2010, 18:03

FLOZi wrote:ZK should take them all and find a silver lining. 8)
Too slow, it has already begun. http://code.google.com/p/zero-k/source/detail?r=871
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22295
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by smoth » 10 Dec 2010, 18:13

Google_Frog wrote: it
has
...
begun.
Image
0 x

User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Wombat » 11 Dec 2010, 01:05

Cremuss wrote:I've worked on something else since my last post and I don't have the will nor the wish to be back on this project. RTS is just not my thing.
i hate u :(
0 x

User avatar
Pxtl
Posts: 6112
Joined: 23 Oct 2004, 01:43

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Pxtl » 11 Dec 2010, 02:08

Considering how they actually correspond nicely to OTA economy structures, any of those BA-replacement projects should be gobbling this stuff up in a heartbeat.
0 x

User avatar
Wombat
Posts: 3379
Joined: 15 Dec 2008, 15:53

Re: Game project. Code name : Evolvere

Post by Wombat » 11 Dec 2010, 02:25

10-15 cremuss models would make 340 look like they were made in the stone age ;)

i cant open this file, anyone know if ships and tanks are included?
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Game Development”