Metal Distrubution and footprint bug

Metal Distrubution and footprint bug

Discuss maps & map creation - from concept to execution to the ever elusive release.

Moderators: Moderators, Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
jackalope
Posts: 694
Joined: 18 Jun 2006, 22:43

Metal Distrubution and footprint bug

Post by jackalope »

The other day I lost a game and watched the replay. Turns out one of the enemies sniffed out our start locations but doing the "hover the mex build icon over likely starting metal locations to see if it is buildable" trick. I'm not so upset about that, although I wouldn't do it myself, but it made me think. If more maps are made with the metal distrubuted over larger areas and the mexxes have radiuses over 100 or so this trick would be more troublesome to pull off. Of course, this has probably been brought up before. I admit that distrubted metal makes me nervous when I play because I get concerned about whether or not I'm exploiting my metal to the fullest.
0 x

User avatar
Das Bruce
Posts: 3544
Joined: 23 Nov 2005, 06:16

Post by Das Bruce »

WTR.
0 x

User avatar
LOrDo
Posts: 1154
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 00:21

Post by LOrDo »

I agree, this should be fixed, and I think it can be done easily as well.
0 x

User avatar
unpossible
Posts: 871
Joined: 10 May 2005, 19:24

Post by unpossible »

small divide anybody???
0 x

User avatar
Rayden
Posts: 377
Joined: 01 May 2005, 13:15

Post by Rayden »

Additionally you can use the "walk over the mex and see the weird pathing"-trick :P
0 x

User avatar
Min3mat
Posts: 3455
Joined: 17 Nov 2004, 20:19

Post by Min3mat »

for cloakable mexes? f4 is a lot easier :P
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22300
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Post by smoth »

not a bug... it is a sploit.

However, if that is the reason you lost then you need more work.
0 x

User avatar
FizWizz
Posts: 1998
Joined: 17 Aug 2005, 11:42

Post by FizWizz »

smoth wrote:not a bug... it is a sploit.
...
Can you say "+1"?
0 x

User avatar
jackalope
Posts: 694
Joined: 18 Jun 2006, 22:43

Post by jackalope »

smoth wrote:not a bug... it is a sploit.

However, if that is the reason you lost then you need more work.
Why are you so hostile?

Anyways, please re-read my post, I didn't say that was why I lost. Usually when people mention two things and want to indicate a cause and effect relationship they will use words like "because" or "therefore".
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22300
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Post by smoth »

Not meant to be hostile... this is kind of a repeat complaint. It has been discussed at lenght.
0 x

User avatar
Min3mat
Posts: 3455
Joined: 17 Nov 2004, 20:19

Post by Min3mat »

lets face it thought this exploit can be REALLY useful sometimes
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22300
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Post by smoth »

I never understood how, I always use scout planes to see what the enemy really has.
0 x

User avatar
SinbadEV
Posts: 6475
Joined: 02 May 2005, 03:56

Post by SinbadEV »

it's mostly just a matter of knowing if an area you are going to move your con into is still safe
0 x

User avatar
Pxtl
Posts: 6112
Joined: 23 Oct 2004, 01:43

Post by Pxtl »

Rayden wrote:Additionally you can use the "walk over the mex and see the weird pathing"-trick :P
This actually annoys me. I mean, I know it's cloaked... but currently, the _only_ way to see a cloaked mexx in AA is to use exploits. The cloakradius is less than the footprint. Imho, that's a problem. Once a unit is standing right next to the cloaked mexx, it should be able to attack it. I always get annoyed when I send a conbot to build a mexx, find out it's been taken by a cloaked one (by the building error messages) and then find out I can't order my conbot to just reclaim the nuisance - so I have to find a combat unit and order it to go over and blow up the invisble target, and baby sit it so that it doesn't keep pounding the debris to kingdom come.

But really, that's a discussion for the AA thread.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Map Creation”