Spring with Kill/Loss window

Spring with Kill/Loss window

Discuss the source code and development of Spring Engine in general from a technical point of view. Patches go here too.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Veylon
AI Developer
Posts: 174
Joined: 21 Sep 2005, 19:45

Spring with Kill/Loss window

Post by Veylon »

Yeah! I finally got the rts source to compile. No sound or LUA, but it has a kill/loss window, and the tooltip shows how far you are towards finishing up capturing, reclaiming, or resurrecting.

Download it here:http://www.fileuniverse.com/?p=showitem&ID=3743.

Let me know what you think.

Edit: Screenshot:
Image
Last edited by Veylon on 01 Sep 2006, 00:10, edited 1 time in total.
Sheekel
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Apr 2005, 19:23

Post by Sheekel »

YES!!! YEEEEEESSS!!!

I miss the Kill window soo much from OTA...does it have the same "bug" though?

In ota, after you get up to ~32000 kills (i cant remember exact number), it starts to go backwards down to 0. Once it gets to zero, it goes down to -32000...and then back up. Endless cycle from 0 to 32000 to -32000 to 0.

Anyway, my friend and I went through that cycle 7-8 times. Several hundred thousand kills :twisted:
User avatar
Das Bruce
Posts: 3544
Joined: 23 Nov 2005, 06:16

Post by Das Bruce »

Screenshots or death.
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14637
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Post by Forboding Angel »

I'll have the cake please.
User avatar
Pxtl
Posts: 6112
Joined: 23 Oct 2004, 01:43

Post by Pxtl »

Ick. I always hated the whole "kill/loss" thing. A Krogoth != a peewee. I want the kills/losses weighted by unit value.
User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20678
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF »

you mean damage dealt?
User avatar
KDR_11k
Game Developer
Posts: 8293
Joined: 25 Jun 2006, 08:44

Post by KDR_11k »

Naah, cost destroyed.
User avatar
Erom
Posts: 1115
Joined: 25 Apr 2006, 05:08

Post by Erom »

KDR_11k wrote:Naah, cost destroyed.
+1

Cost Destroyed / Cost Lost ratio ftw
User avatar
NOiZE
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 3984
Joined: 28 Apr 2005, 19:29

Post by NOiZE »

Das Bruce wrote:Screenshots or death.
I Agree!
Tobi
Spring Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: 01 Jun 2005, 11:36

Post by Tobi »

Could you create a patch of it?
User avatar
Veylon
AI Developer
Posts: 174
Joined: 21 Sep 2005, 19:45

Post by Veylon »

Screenshots or death.

OK, OK. I'll get them, just give me a little bit.

The Kill window shouldn't have a bug after 32000+ kills. If you get more than two billion I make no promises.

Right now, it's one point per kill. If you want damage, metal produced, or some other score feature, I'll work on giving more choices.

And by the way, if it gives you some error about binary numbers not matching up or something, you have to delete the archivecache.txt in the main folder. This is because there is some difference between this executable and regular spring. I'll make this version use a different file so that this problem won't crop up.

As far as making a patch for it or uploading it to the CVS, I have no idea how to do this. If you do, let me know. I'll also release the source code pretty soon here.

Also, I made another starting script so that you can pick an AI and have it start with a commander at every other start point (unless it's right on top of yours). I'll put that in the next version, too.

Edit: OK, the screenshot's up there.

BTW, I also had it get the names of any Players or AI's that are in the game, and make them the right color so it's clearer who's who.
Tobi
Spring Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: 01 Jun 2005, 11:36

Post by Tobi »

Veylon wrote:And by the way, if it gives you some error about binary numbers not matching up or something, you have to delete the archivecache.txt in the main folder. This is because there is some difference between this executable and regular spring. I'll make this version use a different file so that this problem won't crop up.
Hmm, reasonably recent SVN versions already save to ArchiveCacheV4.txt...
Veylon wrote:As far as making a patch for it or uploading it to the CVS, I have no idea how to do this. If you do, let me know. I'll also release the source code pretty soon here.
If you used TortoiseSVN to check out the source, use right click->Tortoise->Create patch.

If you used a source tarball, then it's best if you switch to using SVN, because it's far more efficient. If you really want to make a patch of source tarball, extract it a second time along the modified directory. Give the original dircetory the same name, but append "-orig" to it. Then grab the diff utility (should be in some UNIX tools for windows package) and type: diff -urN source-orig source > mypatch.patch in a dosbox (after cd'ing to the right dir). Replace source with the name of the directory where the source is (duh).
User avatar
NOiZE
Balanced Annihilation Developer
Posts: 3984
Joined: 28 Apr 2005, 19:29

Post by NOiZE »

Based on screenshot:

Looks nice, but is it toggleble?
[KnoX]ElementalGizmo
XTA Developer
Posts: 266
Joined: 24 Aug 2006, 01:33

Post by [KnoX]ElementalGizmo »

I got the laitest code from veylon, but i dont know what to do with lmao. I dont code, but myg does. Hes going to have a look for me at some point into incorporating it into XTA, maybe couple it with the installer were using curantly; which veylon says hes happy with :lol:

I know Veylon is so bussey (coz it takes soooooo long for him to reply to a pm) but if he could post a few development reports now and again, for us eager watchers that would be cool.

Ow and maybe the ratio some of you were talking about, 1kill = 1point = CRAP, well maybe this could be changed to MASS. Something the transports use `i think` so dont take that as gosspell ok. Then again the time could be getting to me. Just an idea though, would be a nice veriation with Mass/Kills = (av)Points.

Is that possable veylon or am i going mad :?:

EDIT:

+1 For toggle (just to be picky lol)
User avatar
1v0ry_k1ng
Posts: 4656
Joined: 10 Mar 2006, 10:24

Post by 1v0ry_k1ng »

hey I think its fine. a body count is cool. in XTA its not like its about swarming and everyone is generally at the same tech at the same time so its not going to be that skewed. i wants.
[KnoX]ElementalGizmo
XTA Developer
Posts: 266
Joined: 24 Aug 2006, 01:33

Post by [KnoX]ElementalGizmo »

Napkin says he can easaly make an patch for it for the next release for spring update. That would be cool certainly.

Veylon r u alive back there ¿
[KnoX]ElementalGizmo
XTA Developer
Posts: 266
Joined: 24 Aug 2006, 01:33

Post by [KnoX]ElementalGizmo »

+ the idea i was talking about. COnsider ur enemy BRAGGING about his UBER kills, when there all damn peepers......that would bug me!
trepan
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 1200
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 00:52

Post by trepan »

Current SVN has the code to support this feature via the lua gui. It can
be drawn anyway that you want, and can easily be made toggleable.

The captured from/by and sent/received stats are also available.
User avatar
MadRat
Posts: 532
Joined: 24 Oct 2006, 13:45

Post by MadRat »

Maybe you want icons to switch to views for...

1. KILLS
2. TOTAL UNITS*
3. SKILL LEVEL (personalized skill estimation based on kill:loss, production)
4. SCORE (based on your kills and captures, not on your losses)
5. METAL LOST**
6. ENERGY LOST**

* Known units to you, limited by LOS constraints of course
** Due to unit losses for any reason

Symbology might be

1. Skull & Crossbones
2. Scales
3. Graduate's Cap
4. Crown
5. Tilted Cross made from Shovel and Pick
6. Light Bulb
Last edited by MadRat on 16 Nov 2006, 01:59, edited 1 time in total.
Chojin
Posts: 141
Joined: 04 Oct 2006, 11:22

Post by Chojin »

@trepan: no need to svn diff his code then?
Post Reply

Return to “Engine”