Multi-Touch Interaction in Spring

Discuss the source code and development of Spring Engine in general from a technical point of view. Patches go here too.

Moderator: Moderators

bilhamil

Post by bilhamil »

Hi Everyone,
I posted a while back asking for some help on a technical issue working with multitouch events in spring. Anyway, I've made some progress. I posted a youtube video of some of what I have been working on so far, which is mostly camera control and button pushing (through LuaUI). I'm not a Spring pro player and some of the interaction is not completely fleshed out, so the video is kind of rough. I know that multi-touch is not really something that everyone has (or even a large number of people have) right now, but I feel like there are lot of cool things that could be done with it in this kind of system.
From what I can tell there has already been a lot of work done to create nice interactions in the engine and the mods. So thanks for all of your great work in that regard. So I guess I'm looking on feedback on what you guys think, also if anyone lives in Texas I would appreciate any volunteer user study participants (I'm a human computer interaction PhD student).
KaiserJ
Community Representative

Re: Multi-Touch Interaction in Spring

Post by KaiserJ »

man...

that looks so freaking cool. i live far away, and don't have a touchscreen monitor, so i can't help in any way.

but i will be the first of many to give kudos. controls look good; i would love to try playing like this
Pxtl

Post by Pxtl »

That's sexy as hell. Watched it with the sound off...

So, to get it - the left hand touches buttons and does all the buttons and the shift-command, and right hand clicks... I like the big shift key.

I could see toggling between the unit-build-lists and the orders panel being annoying - Zero-K gets away with that because the orders panel is usually circumvented by the hotkeys.