Pathfinding, question to devs - Page 3

Pathfinding, question to devs

Discuss the source code and development of Spring Engine in general from a technical point of view. Patches go here too.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20669
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Pathfinding, question to devs

Post by AF » 16 Jan 2011, 02:44

I remember there being complaints early on in Springs history about this, namely that there was a yardmap item specifically for this situation that let units walk through but prevented construction so that units could get themselves out of the factory.

Spring however only has blocked and unblocked.
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22298
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Pathfinding, question to devs

Post by smoth » 16 Jan 2011, 03:36

there was no such item. only a call "bugger off" to get the units to leave.
0 x

User avatar
smoth
Posts: 22298
Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46

Re: Pathfinding, question to devs

Post by smoth » 16 Jan 2011, 03:38

af:
AF wrote:e.g:
AF wrote:e.g.2
smoth wrote:widget/gadget?
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14601
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Pathfinding, question to devs

Post by Forboding Angel » 16 Jan 2011, 09:37

Well, you unblock it when the factory is in it's opened state, block it when the factory is in it's closed state. It's not that hard.
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20669
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Pathfinding, question to devs

Post by AF » 16 Jan 2011, 16:06

When the factory is in its opened state one can build structures inside it.

That is the bug. Gagdet/widget fixes just swap this bug for a whole new bug:

The building placer says I can place structures inside factories, even though this is not possible

So to test out your claim, i fired up OTA, classic cavedog build. no mods, just battletactics, the 3.1 patch and core contingency.

Result:

I could not replicate this bug in OTA, infact OTA wouldnt even let me place construction orders underneath other mobile units like spring does. Rather than making the builder move out of the way it just doesnt let you place the order.

Remember units being pushed out of the way for build orders is not an OTA behaviour, its a reaction by SJ to help improve spring pathfinding that was done within the first few months after the spring engine went public.

To test this put a construction order for an llt next to a mobile unit, then quickly move that unit over the footprint of the to be built building. When the commander arrives at the scene, you get a message waiting for the site to clear, and then it eventually fails.
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20669
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Pathfinding, question to devs

Post by AF » 16 Jan 2011, 16:13

Here is some photographic evidence:
Attachments
ta3.jpg
ta3.jpg (43.73 KiB) Viewed 733 times
ta2.jpg
(134.57 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
ta1.jpg
(79.6 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20669
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Pathfinding, question to devs

Post by AF » 16 Jan 2011, 16:14

last one, this should well and truly kill off the myth that TA had the bug if anything:
Attachments
ta4.jpg
ta4.jpg (89.81 KiB) Viewed 732 times
0 x

User avatar
lurker
Posts: 3842
Joined: 08 Jan 2007, 06:13

Re: Pathfinding, question to devs

Post by lurker » 16 Jan 2011, 17:27

Okay, enough talking about that not-pathfinding bug in this thread.
0 x

User avatar
Peet
Malcontent
Posts: 4381
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 22:04

Re: Pathfinding, question to devs

Post by Peet » 16 Jan 2011, 20:28

Stop being so hypocritical and ignorant, lurker, these are obviously pathfinding issues.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Engine”