Meeting minutes 2010-09-19

Discuss the source code and development of Spring Engine in general from a technical point of view. Patches go here too.

Moderator: Moderators

zerver
Spring Developer

Post by zerver »

Present: abma, kloot, tobi, zerver

<[RoX]Tobi> suppose we can finish quite fast this time :)

==Release plan==
<[RoX]Tobi> needs jK probably, to know about the unitsync bug
<zerver> yeah

== UML colab. tool (test Inkscape, Dia, ArgoUML till next week) ==
<[RoX]Tobi> personally I didn't get around to anything Spring related last week, also didn't test UML tools
<[RoX]Tobi> did you try any?
<zerver> no
<Kloot> I just looked at dia again and found that it does not have a .uml export option
<zerver> i have some experience with uml, but none of these tools
<Kloot> dunno if that's a crucial point :)
<zerver> question is if we would actually use it...
<Kloot> maybe if multiple people are going to work on the same refactor
<[RoX]Tobi> it's useful sometimes to explain some overview
<zerver> if it needs uml to begin with, maybe the design is too complex :)
<[RoX]Tobi> I don't think it will work as long term documentation thing
<[RoX]Tobi> because that would just get out of date pretty soon
<zerver> indeed, i suggest try it if you have issues working together
<[RoX]Tobi> nah, uml is just a handy standard so at least everyone draws sort of the same shapes when he needs to explain a class diagram (or other UML-able things)
<[RoX]Tobi> yup
<zerver> what i meant is, if you need to draw at all, maybe the design is too complex :P
<zerver> in a larger team, i understand it is 100% necessary though
<Kloot> still visually parsing some boxes and arrows is faster than scanning through code to get an idea of the structure
<zerver> yes
<[RoX]Tobi> yeah
<[RoX]Tobi> anyway, I guess only when more of us are present we can finalise this, so we can leave it till next week too
<zerver> but to make any kind of uml as docs is fail like tobi said