TASClient (latest version available here) - Page 22

TASClient (latest version available here)

Discuss the source code and development of Spring Engine in general from a technical point of view. Patches go here too.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
User avatar
Nemo
Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 1376
Joined: 30 Jan 2005, 19:44

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Nemo » 22 Jan 2008, 04:57

Satirik: perhaps you should take a look at the SpringLobby source for ideas on how to shorten loadtimes on startup.

No joke - TASClient took about 5 minutes to load for me (even after a totally new spring install to a new dir). SpringLobby takes roughly 15 seconds. It rocks.
0 x

Jonanin
Posts: 107
Joined: 13 Jan 2008, 21:34

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Jonanin » 22 Jan 2008, 05:49

5 Minutes?!

Wow. On my computer it takes about... 15 seconds. And I have a bunch of maps and mods and junk in my Spring install.
0 x

User avatar
aegis
Posts: 2456
Joined: 11 Jul 2007, 17:47

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by aegis » 22 Jan 2008, 06:24

the first time you ran it?
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik » 22 Jan 2008, 13:20

Nemo wrote:Satirik: perhaps you should take a look at the SpringLobby source for ideas on how to shorten loadtimes on startup.

No joke - TASClient took about 5 minutes to load for me (even after a totally new spring install to a new dir). SpringLobby takes roughly 15 seconds. It rocks.
5min is not normal except if it's the first time when it makes the minimap and map caching ... and the loading time is because it loads all the map so you can browse them using the "map list form" ... feature that spring lobby does not have

if it's not the first time, what step is it doing ? initialising unitsinc ? loading maps ? nothing ? freezing ?
Last edited by Satirik on 22 Jan 2008, 13:32, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik » 22 Jan 2008, 13:22

LordMatt wrote:Thanks Satirik here are some bug reports on the moderation features:
*Get usernames by IP only reports the first username
*Everything else worked great :-)
mmmh it sounds weird ... did you get the good server msg in $local ?
0 x

User avatar
LordMatt
Posts: 3393
Joined: 15 May 2005, 04:26

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by LordMatt » 22 Jan 2008, 14:52

Yeah that part worked fine. Maybe the box is too small to show the subsequent entries?
0 x

User avatar
Nemo
Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 1376
Joined: 30 Jan 2005, 19:44

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Nemo » 22 Jan 2008, 15:24

Satirik wrote:
Nemo wrote:Satirik: perhaps you should take a look at the SpringLobby source for ideas on how to shorten loadtimes on startup.

No joke - TASClient took about 5 minutes to load for me (even after a totally new spring install to a new dir). SpringLobby takes roughly 15 seconds. It rocks.
5min is not normal except if it's the first time when it makes the minimap and map caching ... and the loading time is because it loads all the map so you can browse them using the "map list form" ... feature that spring lobby does not have

if it's not the first time, what step is it doing ? initialising unitsinc ? loading maps ? nothing ? freezing ?

It freezes after reaching the normal window where you'd go to connect. The actual loading part takes a fairly reasonable amount of time. The issue comes after the loading screen goes away and it's just sitting there waiting for me to hit connect - but I can't, because suddenly my computer is bogged way way down. Thus, springlobby ftw.
0 x

tombom
Posts: 1933
Joined: 18 Dec 2005, 20:21

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by tombom » 22 Jan 2008, 15:45

Ctrl-Alt-Del>View>Select Columns>Virtual Memory Size

See how much TASClient is using. Before I did a totally clean reinstall it was 800mb.
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik » 22 Jan 2008, 16:28

and i still have no idea why maybe because of the logs or something i don't know
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik » 22 Jan 2008, 16:29

Nemo wrote:
Satirik wrote:
Nemo wrote:Satirik: perhaps you should take a look at the SpringLobby source for ideas on how to shorten loadtimes on startup.

No joke - TASClient took about 5 minutes to load for me (even after a totally new spring install to a new dir). SpringLobby takes roughly 15 seconds. It rocks.
5min is not normal except if it's the first time when it makes the minimap and map caching ... and the loading time is because it loads all the map so you can browse them using the "map list form" ... feature that spring lobby does not have

if it's not the first time, what step is it doing ? initialising unitsinc ? loading maps ? nothing ? freezing ?

It freezes after reaching the normal window where you'd go to connect. The actual loading part takes a fairly reasonable amount of time. The issue comes after the loading screen goes away and it's just sitting there waiting for me to hit connect - but I can't, because suddenly my computer is bogged way way down. Thus, springlobby ftw.
did you check the option "check for new version" in Options -> Program ?
0 x

User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by TradeMark » 23 Jan 2008, 14:32

make that disabled units list possible to scroll down when you arent host.
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik » 23 Jan 2008, 16:15

TradeMark wrote:make that disabled units list possible to scroll down when you arent host.
done
0 x

User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by TradeMark » 23 Jan 2008, 17:19

thanks.
0 x

User avatar
LordMatt
Posts: 3393
Joined: 15 May 2005, 04:26

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by LordMatt » 23 Jan 2008, 23:21

I get this error when I try to click okay for the get user names by IP message box. The first few times it doesn't do anything. Also, that function is really slow to display the names.
0 x

User avatar
Peet
Malcontent
Posts: 4381
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 22:04

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Peet » 23 Jan 2008, 23:23

LordMatt wrote:Also, that function is really slow to display the names.
That's tasserver.
0 x

User avatar
aegis
Posts: 2456
Joined: 11 Jul 2007, 17:47

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by aegis » 24 Jan 2008, 00:20

maybe if it based things like user management on a SQL database...
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik » 24 Jan 2008, 13:25

LordMatt wrote:I get this error when I try to click okay for the get user names by IP message box. The first few times it doesn't do anything. Also, that function is really slow to display the names.
may be fixed now

edit : i remember you that the latest tasclient are not compatible with the previous ones (i mean b189 and before) you can't play with it
0 x

el_matarife
Posts: 933
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 02:04

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by el_matarife » 25 Jan 2008, 07:46

tombom wrote:Ctrl-Alt-Del>View>Select Columns>Virtual Memory Size
This is also known as commit size in Vista for anyone else running it.
0 x

User avatar
LordMatt
Posts: 3393
Joined: 15 May 2005, 04:26

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by LordMatt » 26 Jan 2008, 03:34

Now you just have to click okay 10 times to get the box to close (but no error), and the function is much slower than the results are reported in $local.
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik » 26 Jan 2008, 13:31

i'll remove that msgbox
0 x

Locked

Return to “Engine”