TASClient (latest version available here) - Page 20

TASClient (latest version available here)

Discuss the source code and development of Spring Engine in general from a technical point of view. Patches go here too.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik »

LordMatt wrote:Oo it's been that way for a long time.
nope, the text was not selected with auto completion but i removed it anyway
0 x

ZellSF
Posts: 1187
Joined: 08 Jul 2006, 19:07

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by ZellSF »

uh, player amount filters are sort of broken. You have to either hide 16 player battles or hide empty battles. There's no way to disable the filter.
0 x

User avatar
lurker
Posts: 3842
Joined: 08 Jan 2007, 06:13

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by lurker »

Enlarging the battles pane causes all chats to scroll up a small amount. Which turns off autoscroll on every single channel I have open.
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik »

ZellSF wrote:uh, player amount filters are sort of broken. You have to either hide 16 player battles or hide empty battles. There's no way to disable the filter.
true and fixed by adding a checkbox for both players and max players
0 x

User avatar
KDR_11k
Game Developer
Posts: 8293
Joined: 25 Jun 2006, 08:44

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by KDR_11k »

It's possible for a modal dialogue (one that blocks all other windows) to end up behind the main application window. That should never happen.
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik »

when you click on the main window it appears !
0 x

tombom
Posts: 1933
Joined: 18 Dec 2005, 20:21

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by tombom »

Satirik wrote:when you click on the main window it appears !
It doesn't, I had this problem a lot when using the test lobby.
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik »

tombom wrote:
Satirik wrote:when you click on the main window it appears !
It doesn't, I had this problem a lot when using the test lobby.
tell me how to reproduce then because for exemple when i click options then battle window then i click on TASClient in the task bar the options are not shown anymore but a simple click shows it
0 x

User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by TradeMark »

put max units 10000, its the new limit regarding to the changelog :)
0 x

User avatar
KDR_11k
Game Developer
Posts: 8293
Joined: 25 Jun 2006, 08:44

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by KDR_11k »

Can you make it so when the server complains "no updates available" that it still connects to the backup server? Currently it just stops trying, no matter if "connect to backup" is checked.
0 x

Tobi
Spring Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: 01 Jun 2005, 11:36

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Tobi »

Bug: TASClient may disconnect while loading user & battle lists and then it gets confused (server sent ambiguous command etc.)

This makes it impossible to join a server with, say, 1000 people on it and 500 battles open. (really tested :P)
0 x

User avatar
Peet
Malcontent
Posts: 4382
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 22:04

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Peet »

Tobi wrote:Bug: TASClient may disconnect while loading user & battle lists and then it gets confused (server sent ambiguous command etc.)

This makes it impossible to join a server with, say, 1000 people on it and 500 battles open. (really tested :P)
You got tasserver running that many? :-)
0 x

User avatar
rattle
Damned Developer
Posts: 8278
Joined: 01 Jun 2006, 13:15

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by rattle »

Auto scroll is buggy often, usually works for private chats and for the active channel window.

Auto away triggers even when the lobby client is the active task.
0 x

User avatar
Nemo
Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 1376
Joined: 30 Jan 2005, 19:44

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Nemo »

Hey, I've got a problem with the release version of TASClient.

Namely, it takes literally FIVE MINUTES to load (I've timed it on multiple occasions), FREEZING the entire system for the duration!

I mean. What the hell? It's ridiculous that the lobby client should take roughly twice as long to load as spring itself on a 20x20 map with 10 movetypes. There is absolutely no excuse for this version of tasclient to be sucking up this much more memory and resource than the old version (which was a ridiculous resource hog to begin with).

My crappy system (which did NOT lock up for five minutes with the old tasclient):

768mb ram
1.8ghz celeron
geforce 2 go 16mb
0 x

imbaczek
Posts: 3629
Joined: 22 Aug 2006, 16:19

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by imbaczek »

That's called excessive swapping and should be fixed ASAP, since I believe it's also the reason of people timing out during finalizing.
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik »

Nemo wrote:Hey, I've got a problem with the release version of TASClient.

Namely, it takes literally FIVE MINUTES to load (I've timed it on multiple occasions), FREEZING the entire system for the duration!

I mean. What the hell? It's ridiculous that the lobby client should take roughly twice as long to load as spring itself on a 20x20 map with 10 movetypes. There is absolutely no excuse for this version of tasclient to be sucking up this much more memory and resource than the old version (which was a ridiculous resource hog to begin with).

My crappy system (which did NOT lock up for five minutes with the old tasclient):

768mb ram
1.8ghz celeron
geforce 2 go 16mb
loading tasclient (splashscreen) or connecting to the server (loading users etc) ?

if it's tasclient, try to make a completly fresh install
0 x

User avatar
lurker
Posts: 3842
Joined: 08 Jan 2007, 06:13

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by lurker »

TradeMark wrote:put max units 10000, its the new limit regarding to the changelog :)
Isn't that the global unit limit? Considering you need two teams to play...
0 x

tombom
Posts: 1933
Joined: 18 Dec 2005, 20:21

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by tombom »

rattle wrote:Auto scroll is buggy often, usually works for private chats and for the active channel window.

Auto away triggers even when the lobby client is the active task.
Yeah, autoscroll is incredibly off.

Before I turned on the -wine option TASClient was refusing to stay maximised and kept changing size a bit every time i alt-tabbed.

I had the same problem as Nemo before a clean install. I tried clearing the lobby folder and maps\ and mods\

The server message dialog was giving me a problem before when I was testing.
0 x

User avatar
Nemo
Spring 1944 Developer
Posts: 1376
Joined: 30 Jan 2005, 19:44

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Nemo »

Clean install fixed it somewhat - it no longer freezes at the splash screen, but the time between clicking the button and the actual loading of the channels and connecting is still multiple minutes long. grumble grumble.
0 x

Satirik
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: 16 Mar 2007, 18:27

Re: TASClient (latest version available here)

Post by Satirik »

did you enable the debug mode (ctrl shift f6) to see what is happening in the $local while it's frozen ? if it's just downloading the users and battles information or nothing
0 x

Locked

Return to “Engine”