Cloaked mexes revealed.

Cloaked mexes revealed.

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Strategia
Posts: 575
Joined: 06 Apr 2006, 18:32

Cloaked mexes revealed.

Post by Strategia »

Cloaked mexes' radii show up on the F4 metal map.
0 x

Tobi
Spring Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: 01 Jun 2005, 11:36

Post by Tobi »

known, thanks anyway (same applies to normal mexes btw)
0 x

User avatar
Strategia
Posts: 575
Joined: 06 Apr 2006, 18:32

Post by Strategia »

I know normal mexes' radii appear. But in this particular case, it was a cloaked mex near my defence line. I fired on the metal spot a few times, but it wasn't placed directly on the metal; the F4 map enabled me to find it, though, and force-fire a Gaat gun on it.
0 x

hawkki
Posts: 222
Joined: 01 Jan 2006, 19:47

Post by hawkki »

Yes, these things keep popping up from nowhere when you modify some part of the spring code that interacts with another one.. boom.

Now you know how microsoft coders feel like when working with windows ;)
0 x

Tobi
Spring Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: 01 Jun 2005, 11:36

Post by Tobi »

This has never been fixed in between though.

It's a problem in the underlying design, making it hard to fix, unless the code is made either 1) much slower 2) much more memory hungry or 3) the metalmap view is disabled totally.
0 x

manored
Posts: 3179
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 00:37

Post by manored »

But the last one would make it a lot harder to find metal spots and anoy a lot in maps like castles.
0 x

User avatar
Strategia
Posts: 575
Joined: 06 Apr 2006, 18:32

Post by Strategia »

I have just discovered something similar.

The F2 accessibility view reveals enemy buildings too. At least in water.
0 x

Tobi
Spring Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: 01 Jun 2005, 11:36

Post by Tobi »

Are you sure you tested that with .cheat off? Because it's normal it reveals enemy buildings if cheating is on..
0 x

manored
Posts: 3179
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 00:37

Post by manored »

We really need to fix those...
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”