Page 1 of 1

How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 12 May 2014, 15:00
by Jonny5isalivetm
not so familiar with command line lingo..

I know you can create a shortcut for doing so but then the lobby will not launch the shortcut ?

I also tried adding Isolation = 1 to my springsettings.cfg but it has to be done via command line ?

running Windows if that matters..

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 12 May 2014, 19:40
by klapmongool
Also interested in the answer.

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 12 May 2014, 20:14
by abma

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 12 May 2014, 20:44
by gajop
I think he's asking how to have lobbies (I assume springlobby?) run Spring in isolation mode. (Just running spring.exe without a lobby isn't really useful for multiplayer gaming)

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 12 May 2014, 21:09
by abma
create a batch file which launches spring.exe?!

but keep in mind, the lobby has to support some way of isolation mode as well... the question is imo way to unspecific also imo there exists currently no clean solution for a portable lobby / spring installation.

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 12 May 2014, 23:57
by AntiAllez
create a batch file into same folder of your .exe or set a path
@echo OFF
start spring.exe --isolation
or
@echo OFF
start [path]spring.exe --isolation
and link the path of the batchfile into your lobby preference. But it seems thats not really possible, springlobby ignored this option.

if you start a demo without springlobby its working
@echo OFF
start spring.exe --isolation [filename].sdf or path with filename

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 13 May 2014, 00:24
by SinbadEV
abma wrote: there exists currently no clean solution for a portable lobby / spring installation.
I think this is the problem. The op clearly indicated he knew how to assign command line parameters and was asking specifically about launching it this way from a lobby.

That said... it sound like abma had the right of it because you can set the SPRING_ISOLATED environment variable.

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 13 May 2014, 00:52
by Jonny5isalivetm
Hi guys

no need to get to worked up :D

I run tasclient, yes hate me :D it has no option to launch a batch file just alternative exe

sorry I was not more informative I did not realize it was so unclear...

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 13 May 2014, 00:57
by SinbadEV
Jonny5isalivetm wrote:I run tasclient, yes hate me :D it has no option to launch a batch file just alternative exe.
This is probably a terrible idea but... well... you could make your batch file into an exe... http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2000 ... o-exe-file

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 13 May 2014, 01:22
by Jonny5isalivetm
interesting idea but I think it prolly would not sync up as not "official" and ethier not work at all online or desync badly.

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 13 May 2014, 01:24
by Jonny5isalivetm
or even the more I think about it..might work as its simply telling tasclient to load spring.exe -isolation

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 13 May 2014, 07:43
by klapmongool
Jonny5isalivetm wrote:or even the more I think about it..might work as its simply telling tasclient to load spring.exe -isolation
Lemme know what worked for you :)

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 13 May 2014, 11:10
by Jonny5isalivetm
Hey Klap buddy :D

Yeah I will have a play at some point when I get home :)

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 13 May 2014, 14:16
by Silentwings
Best way is to make a feature request / patch for this to whichever lobby you are using. I can't imagine that creating some sort of wrapper disguised as spring.exe would work well.

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 14 May 2014, 06:35
by AntiAllez
i got it; thx to zerver! :-)
@echo OFF
start c:\Users\...\spring.exe script.txt --isolation
make sure that your lobby config is into same folder like the .exe and set the right pathes into it for 96.0 or delete them. Next upcoming MT already included isolation-mode.

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 14 May 2014, 10:38
by Jonny5isalivetm
cool will try at some point

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 14 May 2014, 10:51
by abma
AntiAllez wrote:@echo OFF
start c:\Users\...\spring.exe script.txt --isolation
this way demos can't be played, this should work better:

Code: Select all

@echo OFF
start c:\Users\...\spring.exe --isolation %*
(not sure if %* works, if not, %1 %2 %3 should do the same)

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 14 May 2014, 21:36
by Satirik
just put that file in the Lobby/python/scripts directory

Code: Select all

def onStartSpring(args):
	return "--isolation "+args

Re: How do I run Spring in -i (isolation) exactly ?

Posted: 18 May 2014, 15:25
by Jonny5isalivetm
Thanks for all the replies :) and especially Satirik good to see your still around.