Games Wont Start

Games Wont Start

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
OutcastPurple
Posts: 3
Joined: 12 Apr 2014, 21:37

Games Wont Start

Post by OutcastPurple » 12 Apr 2014, 22:04

Ever since I updated my Spring Engine to 96.0 not a single game will start for me. No matter what combination of game, map, & AI I use the same thing happens. Weather I choose my starting location, use set locations or random the game only starts with a starting position marker, but never a commander or anything else.

Yes I have tried uninstalling & reinstalling (about 12 times at least).
Yes I have deleted & redownloaded Games, Maps, & AI.
Yes I have tried launching the base game as well as using web lobbies.
And yes I even downloaded this on Steam just to see if it would work only to have the same problem.

I'm out of ideas on how to get this to work considering I never get an error message.
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3581
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Games Wont Start

Post by Silentwings » 12 Apr 2014, 22:34

Please tell us:
What game you are trying to play.
How you are trying to play it (what lobby? run exe directly?)

Please also search your harddrive for infolog.txt, pastebin it and link us to it. This will almost certainly contain error messages.

It is likely that you are trying to play a game that is not yet updated for Spring 96.0.
0 x

OutcastPurple
Posts: 3
Joined: 12 Apr 2014, 21:37

Re: Games Wont Start

Post by OutcastPurple » 13 Apr 2014, 04:47

Since Steam was the last thing I tried all my game files are the current ones automatically downloaded by the web launcher that came with Evolution RTS for Steam.

Evolution RTS v7.42
Balanced Annihilation v7.72
Zero-K v1.2.4.3
XTA 9.728
NOTA 1.80

Currently using what ever version of the "Spring Web Lobby" that comes with Steam, and the default SpringLobby that came with the stand alone 96.0 download. Also used the Spring.exe
I don't know what pastebin means so I'm just gonna copy & paste the only infolog.txt that came up in my search.

Code: Select all

[ParseCmdLine] command-line args: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Spring\spring.exe"
Using configuration source: "C:\Users\Drake Slator\Documents\My Games\Spring\springsettings.cfg"
Available log sections: KeyBindings, AutohostInterface, Net, CSMFGroundTextures, RoamMeshDrawer, BumpWater, DynWater, SkyBox, DecalsDrawerGL4, FarTextureHandler, Model, Piece, ModelDrawer, OBJParser, WorldObjectModelRenderer, Shader, Texture, Font, GroundMoveType, Path, UnitScript, CregSerializer, ArchiveScanner, VFS, Sound, LuaSocket
Enabled log sections: Sound(LOG_LEVEL_INFO)
Enable or disable log sections using the LogSections configuration key
  or the SPRING_LOG_SECTIONS environment variable (both comma separated).
  Use "none" to disable the default log sections.
LogOutput initialized.
Spring 96.0
Build date/time: Jan  3 2014 14:01:37
Build environment: boost-105300, GNU libstdc++ version 20130531
Compiler: gcc-4.8.1
OS: Microsoft Windows
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition, 64-bit Service Pack 1 (build 7601)
AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor; 8191MB RAM, 16380MB pagefile
OS: emulated 32bit mode
[CMyMath::Init] CPU SSE mask: 888, flags:
	SSE 1.0:  1,  SSE 2.0:  1
	SSE 3.0:  1, SSSE 3.0:  0
	SSE 4.1:  0,  SSE 4.2:  0
	SSE 4.0A: 1,  SSE 5.0A: 0
	using streflop SSE FP-math mode, CPU supports SSE instructions
Supported Video modes: 1600x900, 1440x900, 1366x768, 1360x768, 1280x1024, 1280x960, 1280x800, 1280x768, 1280x720, 1024x768, 800x600, 720x576, 720x480, 640x480
[SetSDLVideoMode] video mode set to 1600x900/32bit
[WatchDogInstall] Installed (HangTimeout: 10sec)
[ThreadPool::SetThreadCount][1] #wanted=4 #current=1
[ThreadPool::SetThreadCount][2] #threads=3
Using read-write data directory: C:\Users\Drake Slator\Documents\My Games\Spring\
Using read-only data directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\Spring\
Scanning: C:\Program Files (x86)\Spring\maps
Scanning: C:\Program Files (x86)\Spring\base
Scanning: C:\Program Files (x86)\Spring\games
Scanning: C:\Users\Drake Slator\Documents\My Games\Spring\maps
Scanning: C:\Users\Drake Slator\Documents\My Games\Spring\games
Scanning: C:\Users\Drake Slator\Documents\My Games\Spring\packages
[ThreadPool::SetThreadCount][1] #wanted=3 #current=4
[ThreadPool::SetThreadCount][2] #threads=2
[Threading] Main thread CPU affinity not set
[f=0000000] SDL version:  1.2.10
[f=0000000] GL version:   4.1.10750 Compatibility Profile Context
[f=0000000] GL vendor:    ATI Technologies Inc.
[f=0000000] GL renderer:  ATI Radeon HD 5670
[f=0000000] GLSL version: 4.10
[f=0000000] GLEW version: 1.5.8
[f=0000000] Video RAM:    total 747MB, available 972MB
[f=0000000] GL info:
	haveARB: 1, haveGLSL: 1, ATI hacks: 1
	FBO support: 1, NPOT-texture support: 1, 24bit Z-buffer support: 0
	maximum texture size: 16384, compress MIP-map textures: 0
	maximum SmoothPointSize: 63, maximum vec4 varying/attributes: 32/29
	maximum drawbuffers: 8, maximum recommended indices/vertices: 16777215/2147483647
	number of UniformBufferBindings: 75 (64kB)
[f=0000000] VSync disabled
[f=0000000] Joysticks found: 0
[f=0000000] Warning: Joystick 0 not found
[f=0000000] [Initialize] CPU Clock: win32::TimeGetTime
[f=0000000] [Initialize] CPU Cores: 4
[f=0000000] [Sound] OpenAL info:
[f=0000000] [Sound]   Available Devices:
[f=0000000] [Sound]               DirectSound Software
[f=0000000] [Sound]   Device:     DirectSound Software
[f=0000000] [Sound]   Vendor:         OpenAL Community
[f=0000000] [Sound]   Version:        1.1 ALSOFT 1.11.753
[f=0000000] [Sound]   Renderer:       OpenAL Soft
[f=0000000] [Sound]   AL Extensions:  AL_EXTX_buffer_sub_data AL_EXT_EXPONENT_DISTANCE AL_EXT_FLOAT32 AL_EXT_IMA4 AL_EXT_LINEAR_DISTANCE AL_EXT_MCFORMATS AL_EXT_OFFSET AL_EXTX_sample_buffer_object AL_EXT_source_distance_model AL_LOKI_quadriphonic
[f=0000000] [Sound]   ALC Extensions: ALC_ENUMERATE_ALL_EXT ALC_ENUMERATION_EXT ALC_EXT_CAPTURE ALC_EXT_disconnect ALC_EXT_EFX ALC_EXTX_thread_local_context
[f=0000000] [Sound]   EFX Enabled: yes
[f=0000000] [Sound]   Max Sounds: 128
[f=0000000] [SpringApp::ShutDown][1]
[f=0000000] [ThreadPool::SetThreadCount][1] #wanted=0 #current=3
[f=0000000] [ThreadPool::SetThreadCount][2] #threads=0
[f=0000000] [SpringApp::ShutDown][2]
[f=0000000] [SpringApp::ShutDown][3]
[f=0000000] [SpringApp::ShutDown][4]
[f=0000000] [SpringApp::ShutDown][5]
[f=0000000] [Sound] [~CSound][1] soundThread=02F5BCA0
[f=0000000] [Sound] [~CSound][2]
[f=0000000] [Sound] [~CSound][3]
[f=0000000] [SpringApp::ShutDown][6]
[f=0000000] [SpringApp::ShutDown][7]
[f=0000000] [SpringApp::ShutDown][8]
[f=0000000] [SpringApp::ShutDown][9]
[SpringApp::ShutDown][10]
[SpringApp::ShutDown][11]
[WatchDog::Uninstall][1] hangDetectorThread=02EF0698
[WatchDog::Uninstall][2]
[WatchDog::Uninstall][3]
[SpringApp::ShutDown][12]
[SpringApp::Run] exitCode=0
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3581
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: Games Wont Start

Post by Silentwings » 13 Apr 2014, 09:59

Yes - it looks to me as though you are using long out of date versions of games, so old that they won't work with 96.0.

For example, the latest BA version is 7.95 (not 7.72) available here: http://springrts.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=31913 will work with 96.0.

If you just find an empty battle hosting the game you want (with Springlobby logged into the online server) and join then it, it should automatically download the latest version of the game for you.

Or you can download them manually from springfiles.com - put files from there into you /spring/games directory.

Note that some games have not yet been updated to work with 96.0.

Pastebin means http://lmgtfy.com/?q=pastebin&l=1
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Games Wont Start

Post by knorke » 13 Apr 2014, 13:17

Well, you have some real patience at least ;)

The infolog-logfile you posted seems to be from what you called "Also used the Spring.exe" - as in just starting spring.exe and then closing it.
The logfile is overwritten each time, so this one shows nothing unusal as far I see. Just starting spring.exe, then closing it, no errors.

Try again to play a game and post the logfile after that, so that it will actually contain some error messages.

XTA 9.728 - the newest version is XTA 9.738
I think you got old version from someone hosting it..seems to happen sometimes, which people sometimes do because of unrelated bug. Only official [semprini]Autohost is guarenteed to host correct version.

Why you got old versions of the other games - no idea.
Really needs such logfile again from failed game, not just from starting spring.exe menu.
Or join a multiplayer game that has many people playing, that should be guaranteed to be in correct game version.
0 x

User avatar
Jools
XTA Developer
Posts: 2804
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 16:29

Re: Games Wont Start

Post by Jools » 13 Apr 2014, 13:40

knorke wrote:Well, you have some real patience at least ;)


XTA 9.728 - the newest version is XTA 9.738
I think you got old version from someone hosting it..
No, he got XTA 9.728 because it's the default in steam's weblobby. To host latest XTA with that lobby, click "Show Advanced Options" and then replace "xta:latest" with "xta:stable". Like here:

Image

Image

Related (for devs): https://github.com/spring/RapidTools/issues/5
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14575
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Games Wont Start

Post by Forboding Angel » 14 Apr 2014, 04:04

It's not "Steam's weblobby", It's just plain weblobby.
0 x

User avatar
CarRepairer
Cursed Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: 07 Nov 2007, 21:48

Re: Games Wont Start

Post by CarRepairer » 14 Apr 2014, 08:06

The default rapid tags in weblobby are generally based off of what zklobby has. On occasion I changed a few after talking to game devs. Pretty sure I asked an xta dev at one point but I could be wrong.
0 x

User avatar
Jools
XTA Developer
Posts: 2804
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 16:29

Re: Games Wont Start

Post by Jools » 14 Apr 2014, 14:39

Yes I'm sorry FA and CR, I know it's just Weblobby, didn't want to expropriate it to steam. I was just being lazy, I should have written something like through steam and weblobby.

xta:latest was correct a while ago but it stopped updating at 9.728.
0 x

User avatar
CarRepairer
Cursed Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3359
Joined: 07 Nov 2007, 21:48

Re: Games Wont Start

Post by CarRepairer » 14 Apr 2014, 19:50

Updated to xta:stable.
0 x

OutcastPurple
Posts: 3
Joined: 12 Apr 2014, 21:37

Re: Games Wont Start

Post by OutcastPurple » 14 Apr 2014, 21:59

Right on guys thanks for the help! I've been wanting to play this game again so bad since I heard C&C's f2p RTS fell through.

But will changing the tags to stable work with the other games? The only one I really wanted to play was BA, but I downloaded the others just to see if I was having the same bugs.
0 x

User avatar
Jools
XTA Developer
Posts: 2804
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 16:29

Re: Games Wont Start

Post by Jools » 14 Apr 2014, 22:51

Yes, you can host BA by checking that the game is ba:stable, that will create BA 7.95, I just tested it.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”

cron