Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
MR.D
Posts: 1527
Joined: 06 Aug 2005, 13:15

Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by MR.D »

I havn't played spring for a long time, but I got a new computer and am trying to get things working so that I can bring a few friends in to play.

Newest Spring version 95.0, and newest Springlobby.

I get launched, get ingame, and everything seems to be running.
5-8 seconds later, the game locks up and I have to endtask to get it to shutdown.

Intel I-5 3.2 ghz quadcore, running Windows-7 64bit.
All newest drivers and all that good stuff.

Can anyone help>?
gajop
Moderator
Posts: 3035
Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 20:42

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by gajop »

A moderator that joined in 2005. Shouldn't need to ask you to provide the infolog..
User avatar
MR.D
Posts: 1527
Joined: 06 Aug 2005, 13:15

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by MR.D »

I never got a crash log, because I ended the task after it failed to shutdown on its own.

Its been a long time since I've played spring, so I forget all these little rules ect.

Is there something else I can provide that would give some insight?
gajop
Moderator
Posts: 3035
Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 20:42

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by gajop »

General instructions on bug reporting can be found here: http://springrts.com/wiki/Bugs
If you got ingame, it's really unlikely there's no infolog.txt. Check again.
User avatar
MR.D
Posts: 1527
Joined: 06 Aug 2005, 13:15

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by MR.D »

still getting used to windows 7 file structures...
Attachments
infolog.txt
(24.52 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
User avatar
SpliFF
Posts: 1224
Joined: 28 Jul 2008, 06:51

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by SpliFF »

Speculating here but I'm thinking this might be relevant:

Code: Select all

[f=0000000] GL renderer:  AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
[f=0000000] GLSL version: 4.30
[f=0000000] GLEW version: 1.5.8
[f=0000000] Video RAM:    unknown
You have a video card that's only been out a couple of months, there might be some compatibility issues. Strange that it can't detect the VRAM. Is it a 6GB card by any chance? I noticed some older games fail when VRAM > 4GB, possibly because they only allocate 32-bits for the memory byte count and large amounts of VRAM overflow it.

Also, have you tried any other games, like zero-k? Just to determine if it's a game or engine issue.
klapmongool
Posts: 843
Joined: 13 Aug 2007, 13:19

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by klapmongool »

MR.D wrote:still getting used to windows 7 file structures...
If you use Spring Portable that won't bother you again :)
User avatar
MR.D
Posts: 1527
Joined: 06 Aug 2005, 13:15

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by MR.D »

Yeah, I built a new PC that can finally run games like a beast instead of a whipped puppy, guess I should have known since spring has always favored Nvidia cards in the past.

Its a GigaByte AMD R9-280x

Yeah, I can run Zero-K just fine it seems.

Was hoping to play BA though.
User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4969
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by Beherith »

Out of curiosity, does this happen with ba launched from spring.exe?
User avatar
MR.D
Posts: 1527
Joined: 06 Aug 2005, 13:15

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by MR.D »

Do you mean will it launch BA on 95.0 without the lobby Beherith? I need some command instructions to do that, I just tried it on spring lobby first.

I didn't run XTA or anything else right off, I just grabbed the newest version of BA and fired it up through lobby, and thats what locked up. Did singleplayer too, same thing, ran for about 5-10 seconds normally then froze and I had to end the task with TaskManager.

Zero-K I got running just fine afaik, tried one of the singleplayer missions only though, not multiplay.

I don't mind doing as much testing as I can for you, just hook me up with some instructions/command lines and off I go.
also which AI and whatever other settings I may need to use.

:mrgreen:
User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4969
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by Beherith »

Yeah, launch without lobby. Select mod, map and script (player vs nullai).
User avatar
MR.D
Posts: 1527
Joined: 06 Aug 2005, 13:15

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by MR.D »

how do I launch spring and BA without the lobby Beh, just chalk it up as me being a total noob with spring
User avatar
qray
Posts: 377
Joined: 02 Feb 2009, 18:49

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by qray »

Just start the spring.exe (and not the lobby) and you get to a "startscreen" where you can choose map/mod/script(AI).
User avatar
MR.D
Posts: 1527
Joined: 06 Aug 2005, 13:15

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by MR.D »

Ok, its working.

so far so good. will keep testing, Thanks guys for all your help.

Turns out that its some of the AI profiles causing issues.

RAI being one.
User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4969
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by Beherith »

Could you post an infolog of BA run from spring.exe and an infolog from BA started from lobby? Would help to compare them.
User avatar
zoggop
Posts: 289
Joined: 07 Sep 2010, 18:47

Re: Spring launches, then crashes and locks after 5 seconds

Post by zoggop »

in my experience RAI hangs the engine for about twenty seconds when the game starts, then works. it's odd, i don't remember it doing this before--back in version 91, i think. versions 94.1 and 95.0 have a hang-y RAI for me.
Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”