Std::bad_alloc error

Std::bad_alloc error

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderators: Moderators, Moderators

Post Reply
Serge884
Posts: 13
Joined: 21 Dec 2011, 22:51

Std::bad_alloc error

Post by Serge884 »

I use
Windows XP 32bit,Version 2002,Service Pack 3
MSI N560 GTX-Ti Twin Frozr II
Intel Core i5-2500K 3.330GHz
and 2.91GB of RAM (It should be showing somewhere around 3.5GB though right?)

I start a game,on any map I've tried and about 45 minutes to an hour in it crashes with the "Spring Fatal error:Std::bad_alloc error"
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by knorke »

and 2.91GB of RAM (It should be showing somewhere around 3.5GB though right?)
that is a limit with win xp 32bit

With just that error message not much can be done, read this: http://springrts.com/wiki/Bugs how to post a complete crash log thing.
0 x

Serge884
Posts: 13
Joined: 21 Dec 2011, 22:51

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by Serge884 »

My other computer has 32bit XP and has 3.25 GBs *shrug*
Attachments
infolog.txt
(26.39 KiB) Downloaded 118 times
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by knorke »

The infolog is cut off at the end (not your fault its bug) but sadly the important part is missing...
[f=0000000] Using game: Total Annihilation: Twilight 2.0 BETA-58
[f=0000000] Using game archive: TA_Twilight.sdd
I guess that is your mod or did you edit it? Can not find a download for it..

You could try watching the replay. If it crashes at the same time, upload it too. If it always crashes during normal play maybe try without RAI (to see if AI is to blame, use NullAI which does nothing) or a different mod. (eg ba)
0 x

Serge884
Posts: 13
Joined: 21 Dec 2011, 22:51

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by Serge884 »

a mod I'm helping beta test.I WAS before the new PC and this error anyways lol,could I delete the infolog (or is it even necessary to delete it) and just start up another game to see if it doesn't cut it off?
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by knorke »

Deleting the infolog makes no difference. See http://springrts.com/mantis/view.php?id=2796 if you want.

To be able to investigate the crash engine devs need either
-complete infolog.txt (at the end is some stacktrace thing and you can use that to find out where in the engine it crashed)
-download of map+mod+replay, and replay that also crashes
-an easy way to reproduce it ("like build unit XY and have it shot" or something)

You can also try a test version of Spring: http://springrts.com/wiki/Download_Testing
Some crash bugs are fixed..
0 x

elias79
Posts: 57
Joined: 11 May 2008, 23:29

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by elias79 »

knorke wrote:
and 2.91GB of RAM (It should be showing somewhere around 3.5GB though right?)
that is a limit with win xp 32bit

With just that error message not much can be done, read this: http://springrts.com/wiki/Bugs how to post a complete crash log thing.
I run Windows 7 64 bit.
0 x

Serge884
Posts: 13
Joined: 21 Dec 2011, 22:51

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by Serge884 »

http://www.mediafire.com/?jw0fpw5qhq8c530 - Mod
http://www.mediafire.com/?n0bygtmh7zjx63t - Replay
http://www.mediafire.com/?a6a5o4r4ft6ucqa - Map
Don't know if the infolog will help at all but it's there,and I can't seem to find a way to trigger it.
I run Windows 7 64 bit.
This is relevant information to me why? =/
Attachments
infolog.txt
(26.23 KiB) Downloaded 116 times
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3571
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by abma »

hm, you are using RAI. maybe thats the cause? when i watched the replay, it used ~1GB RAM at the end...
0 x

Serge884
Posts: 13
Joined: 21 Dec 2011, 22:51

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by Serge884 »

I'll try a game with no AI and one with different AI but I also just learned that my other computer,which should work fine,gets the same error after awhile into a game. I've yet to try this but I was told (with reassurance from the person that it WOULD fix it)that putting the graphic settings on lowest would work.After spending a little over $1000 on a computer that should be able to just about run all current games on max settings his fix did not sound very appealing to me :]
0 x

User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by knorke »

I was told (with reassurance from the person that it WOULD fix it)that putting the graphic settings on lowest would work.
well it is worth trying. But spring 85.0 has at least 3 bugs that can cause "random" crashes unrelated to settings:
http://springrts.com/mantis/view.php?id=2903
http://springrts.com/mantis/view.php?id=2911
http://springrts.com/mantis/view.php?id=2852
Those are fixed but only for next release. In the meantime maybe try a test version? http://springrts.com/wiki/Download_Testing
0 x

Serge884
Posts: 13
Joined: 21 Dec 2011, 22:51

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by Serge884 »

No luck with the test version,still crashed,and still need to test a non AI game.
0 x

User avatar
Mav
Posts: 258
Joined: 12 Nov 2009, 20:06

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by Mav »

Oh great! I will be able to provide some replays and additional info!

First, visit this link where I reported the bug on the Zero-K forum
For some reason nukes crash my game when they impact. It doesn't happen 100% of the time, but I would say it happens more often than not. It occurs *on impact*.

http://zero-k.info/Battles/Detail/53911

In that game (which, btw, was a mega-porc battle that will most likely crush your PC) I crashed twice. Both times were EXACTLY on nuke impact. It's not the first time it has happened, but the first time it's happened twice in one game. After the first crash, I reconnected, only to be crashed again by another nuke impact.

When the game crashes I get an error message from windows that reads:
Std: bad alloc

I'm posting here because a few other players have mentioned this problem as well.

System specs:

Windows 7 x64, fully patched.
All drivers updated as of about 2 weeks ago.
i5 2500k
GTX580
8 GB of memory

I'm running Spring at Ultra settings. If need be I can do some /cheat games and try some nukespams.
I have the same problem. This happens on MASSIVE nukes impact OR on MASSIVE fusion/geos chain explosion. 1-2-3 nukes/geos/fusion can explode fine.
Crash probability ~= count of explosions / x
This happens only in big and really laggy games.

My system specs like Antelope with little differences:
Windows 7 x64, all last patches.
All drivers is fresh and stable(no more crashes in other games)
i7 2600k
GTX580
8 GB of memory
Here is an example game:

http://zero-k.info/Battles/Detail/53911

I'll try to post infolog next time it happens.
0 x

Serge884
Posts: 13
Joined: 21 Dec 2011, 22:51

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by Serge884 »

Took awhile because I was busy but here's a game without AI that crashes ( so a no go with the RAI theory =/ )
Attachments
infolog.txt
(184.24 KiB) Downloaded 109 times
20120217_211922_Torn Islands Remake_85.sdf
Replay
(934.08 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
0 x

Serge884
Posts: 13
Joined: 21 Dec 2011, 22:51

Re: Std::bad_alloc error

Post by Serge884 »

Any helpful information?
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”