Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by knorke »

Is it possible to disable that clicking mouse3 enables this camera mode where you have a cross in the middle of the screen?
via springsettings.cfg or uikeys.txt etc
If possible, I would like to to keep the drag-view-thing you get by holding mouse 3.

Maybe that could even be made the default behaviour?
When I watch people play, they always accidently activate it when zooming with the mousewheel and are often unable to figure out what happend. (even if they manage to undo it)

(fun fact: CrossSize = 50 in springsettings.cfg or typing /cross 50 to change the size.)
User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by hoijui »

i agree with knorke. i would also like to see this gone by default. code is at:
rts/Game/UI/MouseHandler.cpp:404

it is a noob trap. (in at least this sense, i was noob for a long time!)
User avatar
Jools
XTA Developer
Posts: 2814
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 16:29

Re: Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by Jools »

+1. It's a useless feature, there are better ways of scrolling. Smoothscroll widget is nice, but it always requires a luaui reload before it works, so I seldom use it.
SirMaverick
Posts: 834
Joined: 19 May 2009, 21:10

Re: Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by SirMaverick »

Jools wrote:+1. It's a useless feature, there are better ways of scrolling.
I use it very often. Especially when spectating.

I don't like smoothscroll because it uses acceleration for movement.
User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by hoijui »

i don't want to remove it, but it should not be default bound to the middle mouse button.
User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 5035
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by Beherith »

-1: I use it exclusively.
User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by knorke »

I don't like smoothscroll because it uses acceleration for movement.
smoothscroll widget is in the top 5 of annoying widgets. How can anyone accurately move the camera with this red-green rubberband?

So atm it is not configureable it seems? Maybe can be lua'ed away...
User avatar
Licho
Zero-K Developer
Posts: 3803
Joined: 19 May 2006, 19:13

Re: Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by Licho »

Smoothscroll is imo the best way to scroll. All ZK players have it on by default too :)
Accuracy is not an issue, just takes a short practice and then you get benefit of high speed+high accuracy+ no need to pick up your mouse ever
User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14657
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by Forboding Angel »

Beherith wrote:-1: I use it exclusively.
^^ this
User avatar
ginekolog
Posts: 837
Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 13:49

Re: Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by ginekolog »

Type this command ingame : /set MouseDragScrollThreshold -1

I have to do this evey new version of spring, crosshair makes me puke and rage.

I agree its a noob trap and it should NOT be default.
User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by knorke »

/set MouseDragScrollThreshold -1
this works :-)

Image

/edit
2010... wtf
http://springrts.com/phpbb/viewtopic.ph ... ld#p437355
User avatar
knorke
Posts: 7971
Joined: 22 Feb 2006, 01:02

Re: Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by knorke »

How would I automatically set this for my game, without changing the setting for other games?
User avatar
hoijui
Former Engine Dev
Posts: 4344
Joined: 22 Sep 2007, 09:51

Re: Disabling "click mouse3 = dragview camera"?

Post by hoijui »

i guess the best bet is currently, to save current value to a temp var, set your value, and reset it to the value in the temp var at game-end. though that fails in case of crash, of course.
Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”