TASClient - Error Message

TASClient - Error Message

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Jazcash
Posts: 5302
Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 17:39

TASClient - Error Message

Post by Jazcash » 25 Oct 2010, 15:59

So I installed Hoijui's latest updated pathing build to help test with Beherith and Carpenter, started it up, and it worked fine the first time. Then we re'd for some desync and I took the time to copy and paste my uikeys.txt across for my binds and when we next started up, I got a popup dialogue with the message "C". That's it. Obviously it's nothing to do with uikeys.txt though.

Spring couldn't even start so no infolog was generated.

I tried it in SL and it worked as normal, so I presume it's something to do with TASClient.

Anyway the problem spread to my main install and now I can't play any games on TASClient due to the error message "C".

And now Satirik has buggered gone off once again, the burden of SL or SpringDownloader or whatever they're calling it now hangs over me once again :(

Update: Ok well, I guess I solved it by just rolling back to 0.77...
So glad I keep older .exes in case of fuxorifications like this. Shame I can't reconnect to games any more though :(
Last edited by Jazcash on 23 Dec 2012, 22:20, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

HectorMeyer
Posts: 181
Joined: 13 Jan 2009, 11:20

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by HectorMeyer » 23 Dec 2012, 22:00

Bumping this, I have the same all of a sudden. It worked a few days ago. Didn't change anything with Spring.

It still does generate a script.txt which can be opened with spring.exe

edit:
it worked after i moved the spring folder from my desktop to the root of the c: drive :wink:
0 x

HectorMeyer
Posts: 181
Joined: 13 Jan 2009, 11:20

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by HectorMeyer » 08 Nov 2013, 14:19

this error is back. also the tasclient archive is missing python25.dll

edit: was able to fix this with "reset registry data" button
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14587
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by Forboding Angel » 09 Nov 2013, 06:01

Tasclient is a legacy lobby. By using it you invite all types of bugs. No one here works on tasclient.
0 x

klapmongool
Posts: 843
Joined: 13 Aug 2007, 13:19

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by klapmongool » 09 Nov 2013, 19:55

What? TASclient gets regular updates, went to 1.05 last week. It is also still the best lobby client available.
0 x

User avatar
Silentwings
Moderator
Posts: 3586
Joined: 25 Oct 2008, 00:23

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by Silentwings » 09 Nov 2013, 20:17

I think the point is that it has no project page or source code that anyone can find and no one seems to post changelogs or say that they are maintaining it...

edit: Ok, no project page but source does exist on knorkes link.
Last edited by Silentwings on 10 Nov 2013, 20:26, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
scifi
Posts: 848
Joined: 10 May 2009, 12:27

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by scifi » 09 Nov 2013, 21:50

we receive shadow updates. No need for project website or source code :mrgreen:

By far for the windows platform i have to say it still kicks ass.

EDIT: source does indeed exist.
Last edited by scifi on 11 Nov 2013, 11:19, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

klapmongool
Posts: 843
Joined: 13 Aug 2007, 13:19

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by klapmongool » 10 Nov 2013, 00:01

Silentwings wrote:I think the point is that it has no project page or source code that anyone can find and no one seems to post changelogs or say that they are maintaining it...
Saying it is legacy suggests it is no longer maintained/only usable for old configurations. That is just not the case. I know it is popular to diss TASclient but clearly no one managed to do a better job the past 5 years.
0 x


Griffith
Posts: 67
Joined: 14 Jul 2009, 19:27

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by Griffith » 10 Nov 2013, 13:13

For me too TASclient is the best client i can use by far 8)
0 x

User avatar
very_bad_soldier
Posts: 1371
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 01:10

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by very_bad_soldier » 10 Nov 2013, 14:27

Silentwings wrote:I think the point is that it has no project page or source code that anyone can find and no one seems to post changelogs or say that they are maintaining it...
Click "Help->Tasclient changelog"?
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14587
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by Forboding Angel » 11 Nov 2013, 02:41

Does tasclient support multi engine? Rapid? Map Dependencies?
0 x

User avatar
danil_kalina
Posts: 505
Joined: 08 Feb 2010, 22:21

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by danil_kalina » 11 Nov 2013, 05:53

Forboding Angel wrote:Does tasclient support multi engine? Rapid? Map Dependencies?
BA doesn't need all that shit)
0 x

klapmongool
Posts: 843
Joined: 13 Aug 2007, 13:19

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by klapmongool » 11 Nov 2013, 09:05

Forboding Angel wrote:Does tasclient support multi engine? Rapid? Map Dependencies?
No idea, but it autodownloads mods and maps and iv never had any problem playing on one of your maps that need that extra package.

On these boards alot of people who don´t use TASclient keep on saying that it is a)outdated b)not maintained c)shit d)hamburger. And every time this happens other people respond that they do use TASclient and that it is being maintained and that it is the best lobby out there. Maybe that is a hint that you might be wrong about it being shit. Maybe TASclient does alot of things right after all.
0 x

User avatar
scifi
Posts: 848
Joined: 10 May 2009, 12:27

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by scifi » 11 Nov 2013, 11:13

btw klap, satirik would be proud :D

Options at the top Download mods/Rapid downloader.

Besides that it downloads everything by just joining a host, i havent had a problem with it, every single map and game version, even zero-k.

Only thing you can say about it are 2 things there isnt a linux version and i migth be wrong but it doesnt support different engine versions as it checks for a new version everytime it logs into the server.

I bet theres a way to disable that verification, like SL is able to.
0 x

User avatar
Beherith
Moderator
Posts: 4934
Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 16:21

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by Beherith » 11 Nov 2013, 13:11

scifi wrote: I bet theres a way to disable that verification, like SL is able to.
ctrl shift f6
0 x

dansan
Server Owner & Developer
Posts: 1191
Joined: 29 May 2010, 23:40

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by dansan » 11 Nov 2013, 13:54

Beherith wrote:ctrl shift f6
Coded in Emacs? :mrgreen:
0 x

User avatar
koshi
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1058
Joined: 14 Aug 2007, 16:15

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by koshi » 11 Nov 2013, 15:01

Yeah, Tasclient might do what you want. Until Satirik throws his next hissy fit and distributes SpringLobby via Tasclient's auto update again.
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14587
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: TASClient - Error Message

Post by Forboding Angel » 13 Nov 2013, 22:22

Or worse...
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”

cron