ATI/AMD users FAQ

ATI/AMD users FAQ

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

imbaczek
Posts: 3629
Joined: 22 Aug 2006, 16:19

ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by imbaczek »

I've got the most recent drivers and the game crashes in atioglxx.dll...?

As of spring 0.80.5, use only basic or dynamic water. bump water with disabled shorewaves should also work. Reflective or refractive water will make the game crash after 15-20 minutes due to a memory leak. This issue (well, some of it) is fixed in spring after 0.81, drivers 10.2 or later should also help.

I've got a notebook and official AMD drivers refuse to install, what to do?

Use ATI Mobility Modder (thanks Caydr) or unofficial drivers - DNA or Omega. Use google or get some from guru3d.

The game is crashing after 15-25 mins and the stacktrace is empty, what's going on?

You're probably experiencing a memory leak in ATI drivers. Your options:
- update catalysts to 10.2 or later,
- downgrade catalysts to 9.7 or earlier,
- edit cmdcolors.txt and change alwaysDrawQueue to 0,
- wait for spring 0.81.2 or 0.82 (whichever comes next).
User avatar
SpliFF
Posts: 1224
Joined: 28 Jul 2008, 06:51

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by SpliFF »

Be aware though that last time I tried the omega drivers (Radeon X1950pro, Win2k) they exhibited the disappearing UI bug.
slogic
AI Developer
Posts: 626
Joined: 17 Mar 2008, 19:03

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by slogic »

To enable shadows don't forget to enable "Reflective units" option also. Checking single "Shadows" option does not work.
User avatar
Caydr
Omnidouche
Posts: 7179
Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 19:40

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by Caydr »

Unofficial drivers are out of date more often than not, instead use ATI Mobility Modder to automatically hack desktop drivers you download to install on laptops. Follow the instructions and it works perfectly.
Super Mario
Posts: 815
Joined: 21 Oct 2008, 02:54

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by Super Mario »

Texture problem?
User avatar
Yuri
Posts: 137
Joined: 21 Jul 2008, 14:46

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by Yuri »

ATI CatalystÔäó 10.7 Beta OpenGL ES 2.0
This new beta OGL driver solves the texture problem since Cat 10.4, at least for me :)
dansan
Server Owner & Developer
Posts: 1203
Joined: 29 May 2010, 23:40

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by dansan »

Yuri: does this hold true for the final 10.7 drivers? On which platform are you?

On Linux I have the same texture problem with 10.7 in springrts-BA as I had with 10.5 and 10.6 :(
User avatar
MajorMayhem
Posts: 98
Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 23:39

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by MajorMayhem »

In spring lobby the when I click on battleroom tab the battelroom page shows up in a little tiny window in the upper right corner of the browser and there is no way to make it larger or maximize it. What he heck is going on? Ever since they updated spring I have had nothing but problems and headaches with it.
User avatar
BrainDamage
Lobby Developer
Posts: 1164
Joined: 25 Sep 2006, 13:56

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by BrainDamage »

view -> reset
H2O
Posts: 32
Joined: 27 May 2010, 23:05

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by H2O »

@ Dansan: Yes the official 10.7 has the bad texture problem, the beta one not (i haven't tried it by myself). Often the beta will be released as official with the next version, so probably the official 10.8 will resolve the problem. At the moment i have reverted to 10.4 ( i don't like betas).
dansan
Server Owner & Developer
Posts: 1203
Joined: 29 May 2010, 23:40

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by dansan »

OK... sad :(
I reported this back to their bug tracker (http://ati.cchtml.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1849).
User avatar
Yuri
Posts: 137
Joined: 21 Jul 2008, 14:46

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by Yuri »

dansan wrote:...
Wait for a release which will have some mention of OGL in its release notes.
Theres no Linux build of these beta drivers AFAIK.
Klopper
Posts: 146
Joined: 10 Jan 2007, 14:31

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by Klopper »

Something i realized today: In Spring settings, do NOT have dynamic clouds and high-res clouds activated AT THE SAME TIME! It will give you the dreaded atioglxx.dll driver crash (at least for me, i have a Radeon 4870 and am using the Catalyst 10.7 Beta OpenGL ES 2.0 drivers which Yuri linked to). If you have only one of the two settings activated it works fine.
After first nuking spring (uninstalled in windows software options and deleted all remaining stuff related to it, only backups were maps, widgets and mods), nuking old Catalyst (the one which gave me the crashes, used the Catalyst uninstaller), restarting, installing new Catalyst, restarting and installing Spring Spring seems to work again for me finally. :-)
Klopper
Posts: 146
Joined: 10 Jan 2007, 14:31

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by Klopper »

Another strange thing just figured out: If using bump-mapped water, using shorewaves ONLY works on maps with water, but will cause the driver crash for maps WITHOUT water.
dansan
Server Owner & Developer
Posts: 1203
Joined: 29 May 2010, 23:40

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by dansan »

10.8 on Linux/amd64 fixes the textures-bug from 10.5 for me :)
Last edited by dansan on 29 Aug 2010, 18:04, edited 1 time in total.
H2O
Posts: 32
Joined: 27 May 2010, 23:05

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by H2O »

Even on Windows (i'm using Win 7 64) 10.8 has fixed the problem.
Hurray for Ati :mrgreen:
User avatar
liamdawe
Posts: 120
Joined: 19 Mar 2010, 15:09

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by liamdawe »

Just a note if the game won't load up for you...

DISABLE AA

It what's causing it.
abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3622
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by abma »

did someone try http://www.amd.com/us/LinuxCrewSurvey ?

(this link was in the release-notes of the newest drivers...)
User avatar
liamdawe
Posts: 120
Joined: 19 Mar 2010, 15:09

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by liamdawe »

Just did.
User avatar
Big Muzzy
Posts: 7
Joined: 22 Oct 2010, 16:19

Re: ATI/AMD users FAQ

Post by Big Muzzy »

Image
ATI Radeon HD 5770
Windows XP

Help, how fixed this?
Last edited by Big Muzzy on 22 Oct 2010, 18:58, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”

cron