pressing stop wont stop

pressing stop wont stop

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

pressing stop wont stop

Post by TradeMark » 19 Oct 2009, 16:06

ok i built a guardian, put it on high traj, then made it shoot at my base in order to get the high traj shit up, so, then i stopped it (because i dont want to shoot my base) but it still shot my base >_< happened multiple times.

the STOP button doesnt work!

BA701
0 x

User avatar
bartvbl
Posts: 346
Joined: 21 Mar 2009, 15:55

Re: pressing stop wont stop

Post by bartvbl » 19 Oct 2009, 16:08

maybe the auto-targeter automatically selects its previous target again?
Put it on hold fire, and then press stop.
0 x

User avatar
momfreeek
Posts: 625
Joined: 29 Apr 2008, 16:50

Re: pressing stop wont stop

Post by momfreeek » 19 Oct 2009, 16:10

stop only stops movement. try hold fire
0 x

User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: pressing stop wont stop

Post by TradeMark » 19 Oct 2009, 16:26

stop works on attack... most of the time, seems like it doesnt work for guardian or high traj ...
0 x

SirMaverick
Posts: 834
Joined: 19 May 2009, 21:10

Re: pressing stop wont stop

Post by SirMaverick » 19 Oct 2009, 17:39

TradeMark wrote:stop works on attack... most of the time, seems like it doesnt work for guardian or high traj ...
A stopped unit will fire after stop command if an enemy unit is within weapon range. To change that you need to put it on hold fire.
0 x

User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: pressing stop wont stop

Post by TradeMark » 19 Oct 2009, 22:26

but i force-attacked the ground in my base... it wasnt enemy unit or anything

its the only way to make the high traj working when there is obstacles between my aim target and the guardian (pretty silly isnt it?)
0 x

User avatar
ChaosMonkey
Posts: 180
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 21:21

Re: pressing stop wont stop

Post by ChaosMonkey » 20 Oct 2009, 23:04

the 'hold-fire' command is for telling things to not shoot
the 'stop' command is to cancel orders (i think)
0 x

User avatar
TradeMark
Posts: 4867
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:58

Re: pressing stop wont stop

Post by TradeMark » 21 Oct 2009, 01:19

so when i press stop for my LLT when it is shooting, im doing it wrong?

i should be clicking multiple times this "hold fire - fire at will - return fire" shit instead? :D
0 x

User avatar
JohannesH
Posts: 1793
Joined: 07 Apr 2009, 12:43

Re: pressing stop wont stop

Post by JohannesH » 21 Oct 2009, 04:29

stop stops firing too. but if a unit is in range of an enemy and "fireatwill"mode, it will pick a new target instantly.

when you stop it, it should stop shooting ground. and i tested with high traj guardian, and it did stop. You sure it wasnt bullets shot long ago and just took ages flying in the air? Or give a replay or smthing cause i cant replicate this
0 x

User avatar
Dragon45
Posts: 2883
Joined: 16 Aug 2004, 04:36

Re: pressing stop wont stop

Post by Dragon45 » 21 Oct 2009, 04:40

I faced this too before, it seems unintuitive

until it fixed or w/e,

Solution, go into FPS mode, then exit - that should work amirite
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”