Changing resolution

Changing resolution

Discuss your problems with the latest release of the engine here. Problems with games, maps or other utilities belong in their respective forums.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Stafkeh
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Feb 2015, 17:35

Changing resolution

Post by Stafkeh » 04 Feb 2015, 18:37

Hello

Im trying to set my resolution to 800*600 in game. But when I have changed it in config file or spring.exe it changes back to 1600*900 in game. After some testing I found out the game changes the resolution back to my desktop resolution. When I use 800*600 I can run the game with resolution 800*600.

Any ideas how I can play 800*600 in game, and use 1600*900 on desktop?

Greetings!
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3544
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Changing resolution

Post by abma » 04 Feb 2015, 22:00

with spring 98, you can't: thats a known bug, wait for spring 99.0 where it is fixed.
0 x

Stafkeh
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Feb 2015, 17:35

Re: Changing resolution

Post by Stafkeh » 04 Feb 2015, 23:25

Oh oke. Thanks for answering! Spend over 2 hours to find it working :p
I hope it gets fixed soon. Hate windowed mode :(
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3544
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Changing resolution

Post by abma » 05 Feb 2015, 00:13

oh, maybe i missunderstood what you meant. are you running a dualscreen setup?
0 x

Stafkeh
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Feb 2015, 17:35

Re: Changing resolution

Post by Stafkeh » 05 Feb 2015, 12:03

No, just trying to use a 800x600 resolution on a single screen :wink:
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3544
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Changing resolution

Post by abma » 05 Feb 2015, 13:44

ok, then directly edit springsettings.cfg, then it should work.
0 x

Stafkeh
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Feb 2015, 17:35

Re: Changing resolution

Post by Stafkeh » 05 Feb 2015, 15:31

Yeah, tried it. I edit the config, go ingame and resolution is still 1600*900. Config file gets overwritten when Im in a game. I also get a message in textbox with OpenGUI Resolution set to 1600*900 60Hz or something like that.
0 x

abma
Spring Developer
Posts: 3544
Joined: 01 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Changing resolution

Post by abma » 05 Feb 2015, 15:40

can you please attach infolog.txt?

manual editing config should work.
0 x

Stafkeh
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Feb 2015, 17:35

Re: Changing resolution

Post by Stafkeh » 05 Feb 2015, 16:20

Infolog attached.

I found out, in version 91.0 it works with resolution 800x600
In 98.0 it jumps back to 1800*900 and I get this message: [InitOpenGL] video mode set to 1600x900:24bit @60Hz
Attachments
infolog.txt
(27.71 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
0 x

User avatar
qray
Posts: 377
Joined: 02 Feb 2009, 18:49

Re: Changing resolution

Post by qray » 05 Feb 2015, 17:23

Code: Select all

Using configuration source: "C:\Users\Staf\Documents\My Games\Spring\springsettings.cfg"
Using additional configuration source: "C:\Users\Staf\AppData\Local\springsettings.cfg"
I would guess this to be your problem: 2 configuration files that probably collide
0 x

Stafkeh
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Feb 2015, 17:35

Re: Changing resolution

Post by Stafkeh » 05 Feb 2015, 17:42

Oke, I deleted the additional one in Local, and putted Xresolution = 800 and Yresolution = 600 in the one at Documents. Still nothing has changed :cry:
Had this message again [InitOpenGL] video mode set to 1600x900:24bit @60Hz

Also attached the new logfile

Its weird my settings do apply in the 0.91 version, but not in the 0.98...
Attachments
infolog.txt
(36.13 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
0 x

AFrice
Posts: 1
Joined: 11 Jul 2019, 16:57

Re: Changing resolution

Post by AFrice » 11 Jul 2019, 17:04

Hi Guys. I don't know if you have solved this issue. Just leaving some comments here for helping. the configuration key seems to be case sensitive.
So the correct one should be

Code: Select all

XResolution = 1980
YResolution = 1080
Also you can find all support keys here: https://springrts.com/wiki/Springsettings.cfg
1 x

Post Reply

Return to “Help & Bugs”