HA! me: 1, Virusus: 200000000000000

HA! me: 1, Virusus: 200000000000000

Post just about everything that isn't directly related to Spring here!

Moderators: Moderators, Moderators

User avatar
Zoombie
Posts: 6149
Joined: 15 Mar 2005, 07:08

HA! me: 1, Virusus: 200000000000000

Post by Zoombie »

The title says it all. I managed to gag, beat and finnaly tourcher to death a trojen on my computer. Now I can rejoyce and live free again.

Also Candleman this is all YOUR FAULT! If you hand't lost the manual then I would never have said "Well lets look on the INTERNET and click on the first link I see!". "Uhhh...<Name withheld> I think thats a porno site". "Your point being...oh drat...virusues!". Then the virusus swarmed out of my moniter, and I immideatly went for the nail gun.

But thats another story.
0 x

User avatar
DeathHawk
Posts: 278
Joined: 19 Oct 2005, 02:02

Post by DeathHawk »

well i am not going anywhere tell us this other story :P
0 x

User avatar
Min3mat
Posts: 3455
Joined: 17 Nov 2004, 20:19

Post by Min3mat »

1: Firefox
2: Firewall
3: Antivirus Proggy
4: No worries!
akuna matata *sings* *dances*
0 x

User avatar
Tim Blokdijk
Posts: 1239
Joined: 29 May 2005, 11:18

Post by Tim Blokdijk »

1: Linux
2: No worries!
akuna matata *sings* *dances*
0 x

User avatar
Min3mat
Posts: 3455
Joined: 17 Nov 2004, 20:19

Post by Min3mat »

you don't need linux though. windows is fine, easy to use, free (i know linux is), no hassle etc etc etc.
i know most gamers are lazy like me so i just listed a few simple changes which are not very time consuming (god forbid you lose your pr0n from reformatting!)
0 x

User avatar
Kuroneko
Posts: 483
Joined: 03 Jan 2005, 05:32

Post by Kuroneko »

Tim Blokdijk wrote:1: Linux
2: No worries!
akuna matata *sings* *dances*
No a lot of other things too
0 x

User avatar
Erom
Posts: 1115
Joined: 25 Apr 2006, 05:08

Post by Erom »

I remember when my work machine got blaster worm. I had been up at my camp (no electricity) for a month or so, so I had no idea this was a problem everyone knew about. I managed to trace what script executed just before my computer rebooted itself, deliberately corrupt it, and thus take the virus offline until I could track down the files and remove them manually. I was rather proud at the time.
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20671
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF »

Min3mat wrote:you don't need linux though. windows is fine, easy to use, free (i know linux is), no hassle etc etc etc.
i know most gamers are lazy like me so i just listed a few simple changes which are not very time consuming (god forbid you lose your pr0n from reformatting!)
Windows is most certainly not free, it's around the £80 mark for home edition.

You're also forgetting some things

1: antispyware
2: running your everyday programs in a limited account rather than an admin account
3: A big no no: Having loads of processes running in the background, it is possible to have msn FireFox and media player/winamp open and only have 35 or less processes running in task manager yet some people have 60+
4: Only having 1 Antivirus and 1 firewall running at a time
5: realizing that having a router or connecting through another computer doesn't mean you don't need a firewall
6: Using the default branded browser that came with your ISP. Users of AOL 9 or the CompuServe or yahoo browser, it's not an AOL browser or a CompuServe browser it's INTERNET EXPLORER WITH A FANCY ITNERFACE ON THE TOP.

For those of you who insist on using Internet explorer because 'oh FireFox wont save my bookmarks from IE and I cba switching between the two' or 'it wont open my isps website' I point you at 2 FireFox extensions.

One is made by Google and keeps your Internet explorer bookmarks and your FireFox bookmarks synced (this is not Google toolbar though, that's another extension).

Then there are a handful I'd say around 5 or 6 extensions that allow you to open a tab in FireFox with an embedded Internet explorer in a virtual machine, enabling you to eliminate the security risks and open those IE only pages in FireFox.
0 x

User avatar
Min3mat
Posts: 3455
Joined: 17 Nov 2004, 20:19

Post by Min3mat »

very interesting last part! I have to use IE once a month or so to run some active x thing (<,<) or w/e. running it in firefox would be awesome
3: A big no no: Having loads of processes running in the background, it is possible to have msn FireFox and media player/winamp open and only have 35 or less processes running in task manager yet some people have 60+
depends, my PC is the server on the router so i have a crapload of stuff running 24/7 :(
0 x

User avatar
Comp1337
Posts: 2434
Joined: 12 Oct 2005, 17:32

Post by Comp1337 »

Firefox imports all settings from IE upon setup, does it not? No need to sync then, you wont be using IE anymore :-)
0 x

User avatar
KDR_11k
Game Developer
Posts: 8293
Joined: 25 Jun 2006, 08:44

Post by KDR_11k »

AF wrote:
Min3mat wrote:you don't need linux though. windows is fine, easy to use, free (i know linux is), no hassle etc etc etc.
i know most gamers are lazy like me so i just listed a few simple changes which are not very time consuming (god forbid you lose your pr0n from reformatting!)
Windows is most certainly not free, it's around the £80 mark for home edition.
80GBP is a deal, it usually goes for the equivalent of 100GBP 'round here. Or do you mean the OEM version?
0 x

User avatar
SinbadEV
Posts: 6475
Joined: 02 May 2005, 03:56

Post by SinbadEV »

Acctually AOL's browser is based on Mozlilla/Netscape's code base... and aside from the fact I don't need a babysitter to show me how to use the internet and hold keep me from using the internet if I'm not paying them... it's not half bad. (or so I've been told)
0 x

User avatar
Candleman
Posts: 433
Joined: 08 Sep 2005, 07:30

Post by Candleman »

Hey, It wasn't my idea to go and download things off of shady sites. I could have just gotten the manual for you, but noooOOOOoo. :-)
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20671
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF »

SinbadEV wrote:Acctually AOL's browser is based on Mozlilla/Netscape's code base... and aside from the fact I don't need a babysitter to show me how to use the internet and hold keep me from using the internet if I'm not paying them... it's not half bad. (or so I've been told)

AOL and microsoft signed a deal saying that AOl would ditch integrating their own browwser into the AOl software and start using Internet Explorer in exchange that microsoft add AOl signup software and links to New Windows machines.

AOL owns netscape etc but when their latest AOL 9.0 as released they where still using Internet explorer under the cotnract.

However I believe about 6 months later the contract ended and AOl decided not to renew it.

So AOL 10.0 may get a netscape or Mozilla based browser integrated into it, but I havent seen any AOL 10 beta tests going on, afterall i did beta test AOL 8+9.

It is possible to connect tot he itnernet suign isp's that give you software todo the same job with broadband such as AOL.

Dont bother running AOl 9 or AOL Dialler, instead do it the Microsoft way and let windows handle the connection without having the AOl software slowing down the computer, eliminating all the disadvantages of such an ISP in one foul swoop.

Try googling for it, but it's creating a new internet connection through the WAN Miniport Adapter, with the service name 'aol' and providing *your master screenname*@aol.co.uk as your username with your password.

You can do the same for any router with an adsl modem regardless of wether your on AOL Gold/Silver/Platinum, but your technically only going to get AOl support for it if your on AOL Gold, but I'm on Silver and got support anyway.
0 x

User avatar
Zoombie
Posts: 6149
Joined: 15 Mar 2005, 07:08

Post by Zoombie »

Another story?

Hmmmm....

There was this one time where I was sitting in my room, looking at the celling and thinking about everything that happened that day, and I was like "Mom, cen you get me a Pepsi" and so and so forth.

Oh wait...that was a horrible emo song.
0 x

User avatar
Min3mat
Posts: 3455
Joined: 17 Nov 2004, 20:19

Post by Min3mat »

yeah that song really sucked :(
mum...a pepsi please, all i want is a pepsi...and she wouldn't give it to me ;.;
0 x

User avatar
BlackLiger
Posts: 1371
Joined: 05 Oct 2004, 21:58

Post by BlackLiger »

3: A big no no: Having loads of processes running in the background, it is possible to have msn FireFox and media player/winamp open and only have 35 or less processes running in task manager yet some people have 60+
40 processes, acounting for the 3 AV programs (which keep their auto update scanners running at all times, so about 8 processes total for them) the network, all the different IM programs, deamon tools, some plugged in hardware, firefox, winamp, mIRC, and the standard system processes.... is that bad, do you think?
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20671
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Post by AF »

3 AV is a big no no.

You can onyl safely have 1 AV installed on an OS at any one time.

It doesnt matter if only one of them is runngin ebcause they still interfere with eachother.

That and the 3 AV slwo everyhtign down.

Imagine for every call to a file stream 3 AV's have hooked into the process and intercept the call and scan and check in turn, making the process at least 3 times longer.

3 AV < 2 AV < 0 AV < 1AV

Also not every system process is standard.

eg. LEXPPS.EXE which is a lexmark program todo with printing, but you can easily use XP printing stuff instead. Or QTTASK.EXE for preloading quicktime,. or jusched for java updates, none are truly needed, especially the latter two
0 x

Gnomre
Imperial Winter Developer
Posts: 1754
Joined: 06 Feb 2005, 13:42

Post by Gnomre »

IE works fine if you're not a retard, and tabbed browsing is overrated (but not a point to hold against browsers that do have it).

I have IMs, multiple P2P apps, spring mod dev stuff, web development stuff, AV, and some other junk running right now and I'm only at 27 processes. It's not hard to keep your computer running smoothly and efficiently if you just take an hour to read about what everything does.

AF is right about the 1 AV thing, though. Just get a good one (e.g. not norton) and be done with it.

Oh, and min3 said fine, not free.

Another thing, last I heard, that IE-in-firefox plugin makes firefox VERY insecure, and not just because retards can't configure IE to be secure. It opens other holes, I can't remember the specifics because it's not a huge concern to me, but it should probably be easy enough to google.

And finally, http://mywebpages.comcast.net/SupportCD ... Myths.html

Now that I've dumped the gasoline on the fire it's time to go back to ignoring this forum and any flames from firefox fanboys
0 x

User avatar
Lindir The Green
Posts: 815
Joined: 04 May 2005, 15:09

Post by Lindir The Green »

Well...

I still like Firefox. And I will keep using it. So there :P

When I used IE, I got at least 5 adware / spyware programs a day.

When I use Firefox, I get maybe 1 a month.

And also, Firefox seems much, much faster than IE. Though I havent tried this Opera web browser...
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Off Topic Discussion”