My head hurts! Damn logic game

Post just about everything that isn't directly related to Spring here!

Moderator: Moderators

bobthedinosaur
Blood & Steel Developer

Post by bobthedinosaur »

http://jayisgames.com/games/manufactoria/

I have some of the levels beat if ppl are stumped to show as examples, but since I am not a coder by trade I bet some ppl will be much better than me.
aegis

Re: My head hurts! Damn logic game

Post by aegis »

ooh this is cool. it's like programming, already using a loop regularly. I've done the first five. my solution to three blues was only partial, and only worked if the red was all before the blue.

confused at the one where I need to put a green at the beginning and yellow at the end... I can't see a way other than branching out every possibility manually, which is laaame programming. :/

edit: ohh duh, I can use the end of the tape as storage <3
bobthedinosaur
Blood & Steel Developer

Post by bobthedinosaur »

I know, that one really pissed me off at first, and then I was just like 'oh, I can record over them in loops'
aegis

Post by aegis »

now it's having me do binary and number comparisons... now my brain is sploding.

not sure how to do "some number of blue, then the same number of red" to work with an infinite number, but I got a finite number hacked up...

my robot to do "move the first to the last" is complicated... writes yellow markers twice.

wait what, binary multiplication now?
KDR_11k
Game Developer

Post by KDR_11k »

Well, I beat the "ending" level but still have a few to go. The adder is proving especially problematic for me.

EDIT: Okay, got the adder down... (EDIT2: it was the A+1 adder, now I'm facing an A+B adder!)

x red, x blue is easy, remember you can run over the tape as often as you want. I do tasks like that by removing one of each color for each pass.

EDIT3: Woohoo, beat all levels. The A+B adder was a pain in the ass because you run out of room.
Wombat

Post by Wombat »