Another question about windows

Another question about windows

Post just about everything that isn't directly related to Spring here!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Tribulex
A.N.T.S. Developer
Posts: 1894
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 21:26

Another question about windows

Post by Tribulex » 14 Dec 2009, 03:19

Im not too great at using windows, but I have started using it extensively now that windows 7 is out. Anyone know how to channel the output of one program through my speakers and the output of another through the headphones? I use the realtek drivers, if that helps anyone. I am not sure if this functionality is possible, but I would like to have my music playing for my friends while i have my headphones on for epic fps gameplay.
0 x

User avatar
ralphie
Posts: 426
Joined: 08 Jan 2007, 08:39

Re: Another question about windows

Post by ralphie » 14 Dec 2009, 08:40

i use a usb headset (which installs itself as a second soundcard), so you can pick and choose what goes through what sound card

ie, ventrillo/teamspeak/voip through the headset, everything else through speakers
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20667
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Another question about windows

Post by AF » 14 Dec 2009, 15:49

and you expect to do this with a realtek chipset? Im surprised sound is coming out at all......
0 x

User avatar
Tribulex
A.N.T.S. Developer
Posts: 1894
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 21:26

Re: Another question about windows

Post by Tribulex » 15 Dec 2009, 01:51

hmmm this is easy to do with linux....
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14550
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Another question about windows

Post by Forboding Angel » 15 Dec 2009, 04:09

With a single soundcard? I call hardcore bullshit.
d_b wrote:I am not sure if this functionality is possible...
d_b wrote:hmmm this is easy to do with linux....
Faux pas much?
0 x

Gertkane
Posts: 156
Joined: 18 Mar 2006, 16:10

Re: Another question about windows

Post by Gertkane » 15 Dec 2009, 19:26

Win7 lets you change volume levels for different apps by just using the mixer. Click on the sound icon and then mixer. Since it also lets you pick the device it should be possible to set some apps to one device and mute them on the other. Can't try it out for you because a smoocher friend "loaned" my awesome headphones..
0 x

User avatar
aegis
Posts: 2456
Joined: 11 Jul 2007, 17:47

Re: Another question about windows

Post by aegis » 15 Dec 2009, 19:50

Forboding Angel wrote:With a single soundcard?
/me waves around a sound server
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14550
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Another question about windows

Post by Forboding Angel » 16 Dec 2009, 07:56

/Me points out that there are only 2 output jacks, both connected through the same source.
0 x

User avatar
aegis
Posts: 2456
Joined: 11 Jul 2007, 17:47

Re: Another question about windows

Post by aegis » 16 Dec 2009, 10:14

newer audio chipsets will output full surround, which also means you can output separate sets of two channels to each port.
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14550
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Another question about windows

Post by Forboding Angel » 16 Dec 2009, 10:36

It's a realtek. It isn't surround sound, it's some crappy card built into a motherboard.
0 x

User avatar
lurker
Posts: 3842
Joined: 08 Jan 2007, 06:13

Re: Another question about windows

Post by lurker » 16 Dec 2009, 10:44

I have realtek with surround. It has 8 plugs and I can put anything anywhere, input or output. And could you be a little less confrontational?
0 x

User avatar
AF
AI Developer
Posts: 20667
Joined: 14 Sep 2004, 11:32

Re: Another question about windows

Post by AF » 16 Dec 2009, 16:32

I like how you guys have moved onto attacking eachother when the obvious thread path was actually an explanation from aegis/lurker followed by an overly excited forb saying thankyou thank you!!!!

Instead we got the usual aegis/lurker vs forb/etc riff raff *facepalms* Stop being so hostile!!!!
0 x

User avatar
Tribulex
A.N.T.S. Developer
Posts: 1894
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 21:26

Re: Another question about windows

Post by Tribulex » 17 Dec 2009, 01:54

Hmm. From now on when I ask a question i would like only Lurker and Aegis to answer, since they are the only intelligent and helpful being in the forum. (Argh and others are nice too but im talking about this thread)
0 x

User avatar
ralphie
Posts: 426
Joined: 08 Jan 2007, 08:39

Re: Another question about windows

Post by ralphie » 17 Dec 2009, 04:47

fuck you, my answer was perfectly valid
0 x

User avatar
Tribulex
A.N.T.S. Developer
Posts: 1894
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 21:26

Re: Another question about windows

Post by Tribulex » 17 Dec 2009, 04:52

Correct, sorry ralphie. Ur on the list. :D
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14550
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Another question about windows

Post by Forboding Angel » 17 Dec 2009, 07:34

d_b wrote:Hmm. From now on when I ask a question i would like only Lurker and Aegis to answer, since they are the only intelligent and helpful being in the forum. (Argh and others are nice too but im talking about this thread)
So, do you have realtek surround sound? Or was my original answer valid? These are details that are best when not left out.
0 x

User avatar
REVENGE
Posts: 2377
Joined: 24 Aug 2006, 06:13

Re: Another question about windows

Post by REVENGE » 17 Dec 2009, 09:42

I would actually be interested to know if this is possible as well, and hopefully doable in a way that is generic to the sound chipset/codec (as long as you have surround output).
0 x

User avatar
Tribulex
A.N.T.S. Developer
Posts: 1894
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 21:26

Re: Another question about windows

Post by Tribulex » 18 Dec 2009, 04:40

foboding you posted nothing useful, no. You even told me that something i do all the time is impossible.

Sorry try again next time :)
0 x

User avatar
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer
Posts: 14550
Joined: 17 Nov 2005, 02:43

Re: Another question about windows

Post by Forboding Angel » 18 Dec 2009, 05:02

So you do have a surround card. That would be something worth mentioning in your first post.
0 x

User avatar
SwiftSpear
Classic Community Lead
Posts: 7287
Joined: 12 Aug 2005, 09:29

Re: Another question about windows

Post by SwiftSpear » 19 Dec 2009, 11:24

I'm thinking it should be possible, but it's probably a functionality very deeply hidden from the user in windows so people don't turn off the sound from one jack and call tech support. You probably have to get some third party software to provide the functionality.
AF wrote:and you expect to do this with a realtek chipset? Im surprised sound is coming out at all......
I lulled at this. That's pretty much my immediate mentality too. Going Realtec is rolling the dice with your audio.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “Off Topic Discussion”

cron