FOSDEM 2020 - Game Dev Room

Various things about Spring that do not fit in any of the other forums listed below, including forum rules.

Moderator: Moderators

StanleySweet

Post by StanleySweet »

Hello everyone,

First of all sorry if this isn't the best place to post that. My name's Stan I'm a dev for 0 A.D. a game that is using the Pyrogenesis engine. I'm trying to get in touch with other people working on other engines to give talks at the dev room at the FOSDEM 2020 https://fosdem.org/2020/schedule/track/ ... velopment/ and was wondering if some of you might be interested to come discuss or even give a presentation there.

If that's the case let me know :)
Forboding Angel
Evolution RTS Developer

Re: FOSDEM 2020 - Game Dev Room

Post by Forboding Angel »

Are you wanting to hear from Engine developers or from gamedevs. The 2 groups are somewhat distinct, although there have been tons of times where the engine devs have directly spent a lot of time helping the individual projects. I don't think there is a lot of flow in the other direction unfortunately. Regardless, I think Abma or maybe it was Hokomoko have given presentations on the engine, it's architecture, and it's capabilities in the past.

Us gamedevs bitch a lot, but for RTS games, I don't think you would find an engine even remotely close to the capabilities of spring with regards to projects who have only 1 or 2 developers. With spring, if you have the assets already set up, you could have a very playable game within a week (assuming that you're not doing anything too complicated, etc).

Anyway, I'm straying offtopic...

From this paragraph: