Greetings... ..and help (please)

Various things about Spring that do not fit in any of the other forums listed below, including forum rules.

Moderator: Moderators

thomasg81

Post by thomasg81 »

Hi there,

I was one of the many victims of Ben Labbe, the creator of RTS creator, ie I foolishly parted with cash for the now defunct software which is still being sold on Steam for which the developer mysteriously vanished from the face of the earth. This was one of the reasons why i was excited to see this new Spring engine.

Unfortunately i am finding the engines GUI (or lack thereof) frankly confusing, i was wondering if anyone can suggest a decent step by step tutorial for absolute noobs from starting the engine to making the most basic game possible.

PS. I found it necessary to use the engine using the portable application file because the installable file seems broken; it is not creating a shortcut file upon installation. I was wondering if anyone else was having this problem/ knows of a fix.

Thanks in advance for advice.

moved posts about RTS creator to off-topic forum -- abma
gajop

Re: Greetings... ..and help (please)

Post by gajop »

I'm not familiar with RTS Creator, but from what I can see, it already contains unit prefabs (models, textures, animations, etc.), which makes it easy to start creating a game. Most engines, including SpringRTS do not come with such assets, although there are freely available ones you can find if you search. It's up to the game dev to setup everything and include what they want. Getting started is more difficult, but also allows for more flexibility.

Unlike many other modern engines, SpringRTS does not come with an editor. The closest thing we have to that is SpringBoard, which offers map editing, unit placing and scenario editing functionality - still not enough to make a full game.