Newbie's qestions

Newbie's qestions

Various things about Spring that do not fit in any of the other forums listed below, including forum rules.

Moderator: Moderators

hagen91

Newbie's qestions

Post by hagen91 »

Good Afternoon.

My name is Hagen, from Germany. Im new to Spring here. Hello ;) I found this, cause i'm a big fan of TA... Found this on google while searching a lil but for TA remakes on wikipedia.org (
A remake of Total Annihilation named Spring, with a completely 3D graphics engine and lacking any fixed camera angle, has also been independently produced.[5] Stardock recently introduced the game and the Core Contingency expansion through their game download service.
--> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Total_Annihilation).

But I have a few questions.

Shall i use one of lobbies? or can i play only starting the spring.exe? And what lobby? Im on windows vista 64 bit.

And which game is like TA most?

Thanks a lot. Nice project: Keeps TA alive xD
knorke

Re: Newbie's qestions

Post by knorke »

Hi
playing with spring.exe is "possible" but thats mainly just for testing etc.

lobbies:
i would say springdownloader because it autodownloads mods and maps.
if that should not work springlobby. i havent used tasclient in a while.
And which game is like TA most?
I didnt really play TA but from what I heard about it:
SA - Surpreme A. - units should through each other like in TA. missle units shoot ground.
XTA - missle units shoot ground. very strong commanders
BA - Balanced A. - missle units dont shoot ground but its still similiar
CA - Complete A. - most different to TA while still being somewhat familiar. different ressource system, diff. techtree, different units but you will recognize some.
BOTA (basically OTA) well the name says it but iam not sure if it still works.