Fog of war?

Fog of war?

Various things about Spring that do not fit in any of the other forums listed below, including forum rules.

Moderator: Moderators

AndiNo

Fog of war?

Post by AndiNo »

Hi! I'm new to Spring and really like it! However there is one thing I'm not sure about: Why is there no "fog of war"? If I remember correctly it was in (the original) Total Annihilation. Maybe it's my computers fault, but it's kinda strange to see enemies "popping up" before me because I can't see how far my units can see...
Note: I'm playing XTA, but I haven't seen any fog on the screenshots on the Spring website...
Anyways congratulations to this very good TA remake :)
KDR_11k
Game Developer

Re: Fog of war?

Post by KDR_11k »

Hit L, the LOS view is off by default.
AndiNo

Post by AndiNo »

Yes, I read that the LOS view can be activated, however this isn't exactly what I mean. The LOS radii only get updated every second or so and having all these colors there isn't helpful all the time :)
I'm thinking of the grey/black type of fog which is used in most RTS games. Is it possible to activate this?
Tobi
Spring Developer

Post by Tobi »

You can press ; to disable many of the colors in the L view (the radar radii etc.)
SwiftSpear
Classic Community Lead

Post by SwiftSpear »

You might not have noticed in the heat of the moment, but even in classic RTS games fog of war didn't update for seconds at a time. It's significantly more expensive calculating vis in full 3D, so it's really not fair to expect 5 updates a second.

It's not just the fog renderer that hits once every second, it's literally matching the speed of the vis calculation.
AndiNo

Post by AndiNo »

Thanks for your replies so far, I will play Spring anyway, with or without fog :)
But take CNC Tiberium Wars for example. It's full 3D, has fog of war and it updates very quickly. So I guess it IS possible to implement, maybe it can be done in the future...
Anyway thanks!
RogerN

Post by RogerN »