Just stumbled across this

Various things about Spring that do not fit in any of the other forums listed below, including forum rules.

Moderator: Moderators

timboj2008

Post by timboj2008 »

Just been browsing youtube and I stumbled accross a video on the spring project. This looks nothing short of awesome!

I know nothing about modding and in the scheme of things I am a relative computer noob. However, total annihilation is probably my all time favourite game, it consumed my childhood. Can someone possibly explain a bit to me about this whole spring project?

Am I a bit late in arriving on the scene or is the community still strong? Do I need the original game to play this? (I do have it but no idea where). Finally is this an online only game or has an AI been implemented into this?

Thanks in advance
Decimator

Re: Just stumbled across this

Post by Decimator »

It is quite strong. The game is mostly multiplayer, but there are some single-player missions for certain mods. Additionally, you can add bots to your game and play against those.
pintle

Post by pintle »

You need to own a copy of TA in order to legally play the games which include TA content.

As far as single player goes, Spring is focused primarily on multiplayer. There is support for single player gaming, notably CA/BA chicken defense (play alone/co-op/competitively to try and survive increasingly difficult waves of chicken like dinosaur beasties) NOTA's Spacebugs (broadly similar).

More "standard" AI's do exist, but if you are familiar with TA, unless you give them an economic advantage (through handicap), outnumber yourself, and/or pointedly do not rush (any combination of those 3 tbh) you will have a very easy time.
Regret

Post by Regret »

pintle wrote:You need to own a copy of TA in order to legally play the games which include TA content.
No you don't.
aegis

Post by aegis »

Regret wrote:
pintle wrote:You need to own a copy of TA in order to legally play the games which include TA content.