Medieval RTS?

Medieval RTS?

Various things about Spring that do not fit in any of the other forums listed below, including forum rules.

Moderator: Moderators

KaneIronwolf

Medieval RTS?

Post by KaneIronwolf »

Ok, im new here, and this may be a stupid question, but im wondering if i can use spring to make a medieval RTS that is loosely based on the Stronghold series (more specificaly, Stronghold 2). Also, if it can, would anyone be willing to help me make said game, and if it cant, can someone point me to an engine that can make it.
Muzic

Re: Medieval RTS?

Post by Muzic »

Im not sure how far any of the mod devs have gotten to any melee combat; the engine isn't made for it.

I think someone, with alot of LUA scripts, made a video depeciting a bunch of the WW2 allies fighting eachother with giant lightsabers; even then it was quite rough.
KaneIronwolf

Post by KaneIronwolf »

...i only understood half the words in that sentence...
...im really new to the whole game maing world, all ive done is plan out the game and units and all that, and that took months.
Chojin

Post by Chojin »

I really like the idea of a medieval mod for Spring. How about you explain which aspects of Stronghold you mean? Especially if you plan units with hand-to-hand combat (melee) or not.
KaneIronwolf

Post by KaneIronwolf »

well, mine is a little more centered toward combat than economy. you have Gold, Population, Wood, Stone, and Metal as resources, peasants dont hang around outside, units are instantly created at the barracks or whatever structure they are supposed to made at, your kingdom centers araund a central strucutre that can be upgraded, you can set rations and taxes, build expansions, you dont have a playable lord, but you do have a Hero you train and revive at your central strucutre to lead your forces into combat. and yes lots of hand to hand plus range and even a little magic.
FLOZi
MC: Legacy & Spring 1944 Developer

Post by FLOZi »