View topic - Making heightmaps with World Machine


All times are UTC + 1 hour


Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 28 Feb 2009, 10:33 
Map Creator
User avatar

Joined: 14 May 2006, 11:22
Location: san antonio, tx
i like to start my maps off with an ancient art called "drawing"

Image


after manipulating in paint shop pro i have my template on which to paint heightmap layers

Image


i've used 5 inputs for Tundra, the map from which this faq is centered around. here's my worldmachine view, which you can follow along with:

Image


looks complicated, but its not. starting with 1, i input my base heightmap file. here it is:

Image


take notice that my river and mountains are not part of this heightmap. anyway, all i do is apply a mild gaussian blur (2), before combining. now i'll jump to input 2.

here's input 2:

Image

mountains. i immediately run four sequential gaussian blurs of high power, then use a very strong erosion filter. this erosion is so strong it would completely rape any meticulous heightmap detail.

notice that this heightmap is asymmetric - it only has half of the hills of the map. well, the next triangle you see there on the roadmap is a little trick of mine i use to create symmetry. i duplicate the heightmap with a splitter, apply an X + Y flip to one of the copies, then recombine using the ADD method. i do this a few times.

now we are back and ready to combine with 1, the base heightmap. the combiner used here is called MAX, and it takes the highest value for every pixel from either heightmap it is combining. on a usefulness scale of 1 to 100, thats pretty motherfuckin useful.


the next step is another combine, so we will jump to input 3. here it is:

Image

as i was testing the heightmap in-game, i noticed i could build LLT-sized structures on the tops of my mountains. i didn't want this, so i went back and created this heightmap, which is simply running down the spines of my mountains.

after a gaussian blur, mild erosion, and the flip X + Y trick, these little mountain caps are ready to prevent porc. i use the ADD combiner to add to the chain. on this ADD, i don't use full power, i scaled to ~30% so they were sharp enough to disallow building, but not too steep for kbots to climb.

NOW i finally run the big erosion on my map. this erosion was the first component i ever made in the chain. the settings are pretty mild to preserve my detail work, but it really smooths out all the different added components and makes them mesh.

now we are ready for the river, input 4.


here's input 4:

Image

rivers and lakes tend to fill up with worldmachine's various erosion parameters, so i like to separate them as well. here i've drawn the river inverted, as if it was a ridge. i blur it, give it mild erosion, then SUBTRACT it from my main heightmap.

the next step is a splitter, which is just to obtain a mask. masks are useful as fuck. i use "select height" on my split in order to select underwater and beach-level heights. now its an alpha layer which i use as an input to the mask layer of a powerful gaussian blur. this simulates underwater erosion.


input 5 is different from my other inputs, as it is used simply to be converted in to a mask. here it is:

Image

i run a gaussian blur on it, use the X + Y flip trick, then use select height, this time starting at height 255 with full fuzziness. now its a mask which i use for another powerful gaussian blur to smooth out ramps.

we are almost to the end!! the heightmap is basically done. this last flip trick i've done just for shits and giggles is different in one slight way from the rest - the recombination uses AVERAGE. this makes the heightmap perfectly symmetrical.


go make maps~!!!!!!!!!!!
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Feb 2009, 10:41 
Modeler
User avatar

Joined: 13 May 2008, 15:51
Location: Universe
Nice hunter, good tutorial :)
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Feb 2009, 12:22 

Joined: 09 Sep 2007, 20:05
Thanks man, I've been checking out world machine recently and this is helpful. Worldmachine+WICED+springmapedit makes for teh awesome.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 01 Mar 2009, 23:55 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 15:21
This is some really cool stuff man! Thanks for sharing.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2009, 07:29 
Content Developer
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46
how do you export it without getting terracing? does the mapconv support one of the 16bit formats?
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2009, 08:04 
Map Creator
User avatar

Joined: 14 May 2006, 11:22
Location: san antonio, tx
smoth wrote:
how do you export it without getting terracing? does the mapconv support one of the 16bit formats?


i export to terragen .ter file, then using terragen export to 16 bit .raw intel byte order which mapconv accepts, and don't use -l 8)
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 11 Mar 2009, 08:13 
User avatar

Joined: 11 Mar 2009, 08:00
Nice tutorial, Ive been playing with World Machine and it seems like a good program. But you need to fork out money for an upgraded version to be able to export your heightmap to anything besides 513x513, right?
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 11 Mar 2009, 12:16 
Map Creator
User avatar

Joined: 14 May 2006, 11:22
Location: san antonio, tx
Doleo wrote:
Nice tutorial, Ive been playing with World Machine and it seems like a good program. But you need to fork out money for an upgraded version to be able to export your heightmap to anything besides 513x513, right?


yeah and they really jacked up the price on it now that its worldmachine 2 :( but smoth has it and im sure will be happy to post screenys of all the new stuff it does
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 11 Mar 2009, 12:19 
Malcontent
User avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 2006, 22:04
Location: The only way to win is not to play.
Doleo wrote:
But you need to fork out money for an upgraded version to be able to export your heightmap to anything besides 513x513, right?

Yes, but from smoth's ranting about it, it appears to be worth the $180 for the full pro version.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 11 Mar 2009, 14:56 
Content Developer
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46
I think worldmachine 2 is one of the coolest heightfield editors I have ever seen. download the manual and read chapters 5-7... that shit is amazing.

Image

Image

Image

You are going to need some serious ram >=4 gigs for the textures but yeah.... you don't needs the ram for the height fields... also bear in mind I am doing a WHOLE LOT with the texures.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 11 Mar 2009, 16:15 
Map Creator
User avatar

Joined: 23 Jan 2008, 18:29
very nice...
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 11 Mar 2009, 16:16 
Supreme Annihilation Maintainer
User avatar

Joined: 11 Jan 2008, 16:55
Peet wrote:
Doleo wrote:
But you need to fork out money for an upgraded version to be able to export your heightmap to anything besides 513x513, right?

Yes, but from smoth's ranting about it, it appears to be worth the $180 for the full pro version.


right...
Maybe if someone is planning on doing some other work with it besides spring maps..
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2009, 13:17 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 15:21
World machine 2 is absolutely massive!
The layout editing mode is the most natural way of making maps I have ever seen. Also, the texturing option is quite powerful since it can bake the shading on to the texture. And you can use the flow and sediment maps to texture too.

Now im gonna start saving my monies for the pro version, cause the 513 limit in the demo makes me cry huge crocodile tears :cry:

This was made 100% in world machine in about an hour. (my first try at layouts)
Image

Kneel before the absolute world shaping power!
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2009, 14:27 
Content Developer
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46
I am going to be tossing up my worldmachine files for a few of the maps that I have already made as soon as I release them so you guys can use them to learn from.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2009, 14:33 
Map Creator
User avatar

Joined: 10 Mar 2006, 10:24
Location: waiting in line for The Expendables 2
world machine 1.25 is all over warezbb if do what you want cus a pirate is free, but no sign of 2 anywhere. 180 dollars..
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2009, 16:20 
Balanced Annihilation Maintainer
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2006, 18:46
As someone who was happy to pay for lt3d I do think the pricing on that does seem excessive for anyone who isn't going to use it commercially or just wants to play around with it for an afternoon.

I wonder if it would be worth contacting them and seeing if they'll do a non commercial licence for it for less, probably not!
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2009, 18:02 
Content Developer
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46
they have a scaled cost model. The pro version is 180, most of you would be fine with the standard which is 89.

http://www.world-machine.com/chart.html
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2009, 18:09 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 26 Oct 2007, 15:21
Smoth, do you have standard or pro edition? Is the tiling feature worth it? At what size/complexity does it become necessary for generating, if one has 4gb of ram?
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2009, 18:13 
Content Developer
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2005, 00:46
4 gb will cover a 4096-6000~ texture/height field most of the time provided your pipeline is clean. Tiling is more for people doing something like a paging landscape or say a farcry map.

I have the pro for the 64 bit and dual threading, that part makes a big difference for me. Time is money and gundam needs me to be efficient.
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2009, 19:38 
Map Creator
User avatar

Joined: 14 May 2006, 11:22
Location: san antonio, tx
Beherith wrote:
Image


I like this layout, release it pls 8) but make the base platforms flatter
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Site layout created by Roflcopter et al.